Euro 2016 - Group Stage thread

wow Fagan

we both came up with the term “gimp” to describe bogbal coaches

huzzah

Sometimes there is. When the great Liam Devaney was a young man he was named as a sub for Tipp in a challenge match.

One of the opposition corner backs was hurling the shite out of his Tipp opponent.

After about 15 mins a big ignorant Tipp selector called over Liam and said to him;

“hey, young Devaney, go in there corner forward and if ya haven’t scored a couple of points before halftime, ya can fuck home wid yerself”

Devaney scored a goal before halftime and he always said if he hadn’t got that goal, his Tipp career would have been short. :grin:

Calling GAA bogball wasn’t clever or funny when it was done 20 years ago and it still isn’t

A positive adult role model in your formative years could have told you that you needed to be more original and less derivative

A lot of Young lads today don’t want to know about it. Most of them would rather walk away than graft… and this is across all sports… I’m not suggesting they should get a bollocking either mind but times have certainly changed… when we played sports on the street as kids it was like life or death and you were out in all kinds of weather… the fuckers today would rather play fifa on playstation than kick a ball themselves. You’d see the difference in a simple game of 7 a side I play in most weeks where the age ranges from 22 - 40 and it’s the lads 30+ doing all the running and kicking and biting and digging - winning a simple kick-about still means as much in their 30s as it did when 10 - which is all kinds of wrong and off the charts but also brilliant…while the young lads are all flicks and afraid to get hurt and not bothered or limp off when you stand on their toe (accidentally)… Now, that’s a simple leisurely kick-about you may say but the attitude carries over … the little fuckers that play basement football in Limerick with me are the same… 19-22 and should being playing further up the leagues but they don’t want to train or graft so they play low league football to not run around and let stupid cunts like me do it for them… All mild examples… but the attitude is certainly different in younger lads. I suppose they are a lot more exposed to the world than we were and might just see sport as a poxy game, whereas it was all we largely had growing up so it meant a lot more than just the game itself.

I coached u7s a few times a while back, and they were the laziest bastards i’ve ever come across… I retired from coaching after that experience.

it irks the GGA zealots mate-that’s all that matters

the likes of Tan ,Fran and Padjo hate it

0% of this “anecdote” is true

So how bout them Euros, eh?

I fully expect Austia to beat Hungary this afternoon. They should be way shorter than 8/11

Having watched Hungary against Norway in the play offs they are very limited

Your colleagues in the 7 aside sound like the human equivalent of dogs who play fetch, ie not very high up the human evolutionary scale.

As an aside, there were plenty of young lads who didn’t bother their holes kicking football when you were younger. You just don’t remember them. These were the lads who were inside looking at their stamp collection or playing chess. They are more than likely CEOs of prominent companies now.

Football Gerry Armstrong doing punditry on TV3

:grin:

Stamps in Moyross? Mup out of it.

We actually played the club over 40s last week who were entering the annual over 40s comp in Limerick for the first time and wanted a warm up game-- lads in their 50s running 21 year olds off the park and still as tenacious as ever. That competitiveness is a joy to see and it never leaves guys once they learn it.

Anyway, what kind of stamps did you collect, pal?

Can you tell that to Kilkenny people perhaps?

Social welfare stamps.

Butter vouchers, kid.

Gabor fucking Kiraly :clap:

Btw can’t wait for Geoff to come in and tell us all about the Austro Hungarian empire shortly

Once again it’s the eastern Europeans who are willing to do the graft. I have a similar game to your own going once or twice a week, like your own game it’s the older fellas who do the graft, but we have a couple of Latvian youngish fellas who never stop for a second, dangerous cunts but sound out.

Anyway those Hungarians are nice to watch.

George Byrne RIP or one of those other Hot Press journo cunts coined the phrase (maybe in the 80s) along with stick fighting.

It smacks of self-loathing and deep insecurity in same way as the greatest fans in the world nonsense or the Brits love hurling on Sky

I was waiting for someone (most likely Geoff) to come in and start calling it the Hapsburg Derby.

Would it be fair to say that 95% of the footballers that have played thus far in the Euros have visible tattoos?

I’d say it’s fair to say that Trevor Welsh knows fuck all about the Austro/Hungarian empire anyway, neither Franz Ferdinand will have been on his radar.