European Cup Rugby

18 plus dowling. Not sure dowling played much for Leinsterā€¦ 3 NiQ.

Meanwhile Leinster were given free rein to sign who they liked to try and get them competitive in 09.

Amazing how the rules changed to suit Leinster.

Was never at Leinster

Joined Shannon straight out of school Iā€™d say

Thatā€™s what I thought.

12 out of starting 15 Irish qualified. 11 of them Munster born and bred.

Leinster seemed to be handed anything they wanted in 08 to get them competitive.

Funny how it changed when it was Munster who were weak and Leinster at the top.

18 plus Dowling? 4 of the squad were from overseas. Youā€™re all over the shop.

Both Leinster and Munster were able to sign better overseas players in the late 2000s. Munster managed to win in 2006 yet were allowed to sign Doug Howlett. What point are you trying and failing to make? You want more handouts?

Tim Leinster got to do what they liked in 08 and 09 to try and make them competitive.

Overseas props signed over and over again until ye started winning.

Funny the way the rules suddenly changed and the irfu tightened everything up when Leinster got the bulk of the central contracts.

Hurley learned most of his rugby outside of Munster.

Donā€™t get me wrong, the Munster 2008 team was the apex for them. A very impressive core team.

I donā€™t think @BruidheanChaorthainn was old enough to remember the mid to late 2000s though. Generally Munster and Leinster had more leverage to sign overseas players. That tightened up from 2010 onwards except for when Munster had external investors who preferred to spend money on O/S stars vs. the academy and facilities. I think if Munster can get their commercials on point again that they can sign some more elite players from their foreign quota.

Tim Leinster got to sign who they pleased. Bernard jackman said as much. They were allowed sign players to get them over the line 2009.

The very opposite to whatā€™s happening now in Munster meanwhile Leinster are still bringing in overseas players like Barrett and Synman.

Everyone had more scope if they had the cash. Leinster were reeled in though in 2008 when they were told that Felipe had to go as (in fairness), Leinster had not been pulling their weight in producing 10s.

Munster signed Doug Howlett immediately after winning the 2006 Heineken Cup.

You shite on about Jordie Barrett, Leinster havenā€™t won in Europe in 6 years.

Everyone could sign who they wanted for the most part if they had the cash.

The problem now is that Munster donā€™t have the cash to make the most of the O/S signing. Where are Tipp lads gone?

Munster have had a decade of signing better overseas players than Leinster, in addition to taking excellent Leinster talent.

Iā€™d freely admit that Leinster getting access to Ross, Reddan and Cronin got Leinster over the line in 2011-2013. Where is the appreciation for all of the talent sent your way in a far more direct fashion in the last few years?

Doug howlett signed after the World Cup in 07. His first game was away to clermont.

Tim itā€™s mental despite basically every single person agreeing with my point and the Irfu changing the rules you are still banging this drum.

Leinster have had absolutely everything handed them while the irfu cut the bollocks off the other provinces.

Munster won the Heineken Cup in 2006 with Anthony Horgan and Ian Dowling as wingers.

So you needed Doug Howlett?

That is far more brazen than Jordie Barrett, who is taking a pay cut to come to Leinster.

You claimed he signed after the 06 Heineken cup.

He didnā€™t.

He signed after the 07 World Cup.

Munster got absolutely hammered by the scarlets in 07 on a Friday night.

Regan king destroyed them. Howlett was then signed.

The irony of a Limerick man bemoaning a team buying their way to success surely canā€™t be lost on most people here

Leinster have 3 of irelands 4 best centres if not 4 of the best 5.

Anthony Horgan or Ian Dowling werenā€™t getting a look in with Ireland when howlett signed so itā€™s not comparable.

Explain this?

Iā€™d say thatā€™s fairly logical now tbf :rofl::rofl:

The one area of team needed strengthening

He was signed up the season after they won the Heineken Cup.

Fact.

Why did Munster need a luxury player like him so soon afterwards?

You bitch about Jordie Barrett. Heā€™ll have joined Leinster nearly 7 years since their last European win.

You said he was signed directly after they won it in 06. It was nearly 18 months later.

You need to accept this.

Well quite, but it was good enough to win the competition.

Lads are going ape that Leinster have finally signed some elite overseas players. It hasnā€™t really been a thing for 10 years whilst Munster and Ulster got plenty. Itā€™s about time Leinster signed some players worthy of the season ticket prices. Half the time they field academy players at home.