Excuse my ignorance thread

I remember our parish priest preaching about the benefits of devotion to saint Christopher. The power of the sermon hung on an incident where the republican leaning padre went to visit his fellow county man in prison. During the visit our spiritual guide marvelled at the various scrapes, predicaments missions and firefights Dessie had negotiated unscathed. In response Dessie leaned forward, retrieved an item from his back pocket and slapped it down in front of his visitor: The prayer to St. Christopher.

Pursuant to post 90 or thereabouts I note with sadness that our Republican friend so opposed to the former MOJ has slipped away to join him. He was a character who’s life “work” seemed to be gathering snippets of information and collating these in his head. He’d nearly tell you what price you got for cattle 20 years ago. Ní beidh a leithéad an arís.

Just watching the Scannal episode on the John O’Grady kidnapping. One cock up after another it seemed by the Guardians of the Peace. E.g. One of the kidnappers was apprehended but not handcuffed and then fled when he got to the station in Tipp town. This seemed to be a recurring theme over the course of the investigation.

That was fucking hilarious.

About as serious of a crime as you get and ‘feck it lads we won’t bother with the handcuffs’.

Like Chief Wiggum in the Simpsons asking Snake to promise not to commit any more crimes.

Any suggestion they were left off accidentally on purpose?

No. That’s way beyond Scannal’s pay grade.

It’d be a scannalous accusation

Why do some MPs stand up and then sit down after a speech in the House of Commons?

Cos an MP has just pinched their arse?

It’s some theatre inside there. A load of people firing insults at each other and they all the best of friends

It indicates they want to ask a question. All part of the theatre really.

I have no idea what Bang is.

It’s Cyril Farrell’s sports tv station. He started it after he got let go by rte. Kind of like when trump threatened to start his own tv station when he fell out with fox news.

You’d like it.

I’d get you bang for Xmas if you wanted pal. I think you’d knock the value out of it

Ill chip in too

Bang was streaming games live from the Most Reverend Dr McKenna Cup and Danske Bank MacRory Cup last winter.

Fuck me twud be right up @Cheasty street

A grand little freelance number sending match reports unit the monaghan reporter and the likes

Who can educate me on Brendan Behan - I am aware of his hard living ways but why was he put up on such a pedestal?