Faldo's DIY General thread

You just need the glass nails now and you’re laughing.

I just replaced the headlight bulb in the motor there…didn’t need a man to do it. Tremendous sense of accomplishment
Next is the rear bulb holder…wiring and solder required. The lad in the autoparts shop gave me some fancy solder connections that just need to be heated with a flame. He says they’re idiot proof…and then threw me a couple of spares.

Can you post a photo please.
I’m intrigued.

Maybe he’s just taking the hand out of a simple farmer

I’m none the wiser…

To join two wires…put the yoke onto one, strip both, twist them together, move the yoke up so the lead is over the twist. Then heat with a flame or soldering iron

So there’s a hole in the three lead/solder discs?

Theres only one solder disc…you feed the two wires through it

I’d be into the electrics but not car electrics obviously. So I’ve never seen these. My research has told me a few things of interest.

The red markings indicate the wire gauge to be used.
They also melt when heated and help to form a watertight seal.
The solder has a low melt temperature so you can use a cigarette lighter if you don’t have a heat gun or iron.

What am I looking at ball park for an attic conversion on a relatively new build timber frame semi d. approx 45 to 50 square metres. Would want to put a simple enough living space - bedroom/office and an open area where the stairs would be. One or two rads, two velux windows, no toilet.

Bases on no experience whatsoever? I’m going to say 20k

When can you start?

In today’s inflated market id say 50k minimum

A grand per square metre is as close to the money as you’ll get.

You’ll get a grand set-up for €50k. As ever, price it around, lads are flat out.

That’s in or around what I was thinking. I suppose the approach to the stairs may be the tricky part. Would like to do it without losing a room upstairs but that may add to cost

Your roof will probably be your biggest problem.Most jobs require steel beams now for a purlin to carry the roof.Then it has to be proped of a solid wall.A real pain in the balls. @Gman is the lad to talk to here.My brother in Dublin has just done the same in his house but i dont know what price he got.His house is block built though.

You might have to lose the box room.

You’d be better off with an extension or garden room if you have the space… attic conversions are a dose

I’d agree and if all building regulations are adhered to then you basically loose what you gain.