FAO Accountants

I know a coupleof the lads on here are chartered accountants.

Couple of questions:

1. Have ye paid the Institute to be a member?
  2. If not, did they write to you recently with a special offer - reducing fees by a grand or so?
  3. Did ye get all the forms signed by wherever ye did your training contract to verify your experience and all that shite?

Iā€™ve never paid a cent but got an offer in the post last week where they knocked over a grand off what I owe them so think Iā€™m going to pay up now.

1. I didnā€™t pay - my place of employement did.
  2. They only paid in the last month and before that I was getting monthly invoices. I never got the special offer.
  3. Eh - yes. I think you should have done that at the time you left the place where you did your training contract. Before I left I made sure that they signed that so I would have no reason to ever contact the fookos againā€¦

Are they not going nuts with you that you havenā€™t joined four years after qualifying?

They sure are. Iā€™ve to resit exams in September if I want to join unless I do so in the next couple of weeks. Thatā€™s why the grand off is such an incentive.

Work should pay but Iā€™ll have to cut a deal somewhere - canā€™t really look for that much fees all in one go. Frankly it would raise far too many uncomfortable questions.

Looks like Iā€™ll have to make a shameful return to my old employers so.

Why did you not do all this as you went along?

All I paid was my subscription for two months of last year which I still have to reclaim off my new place of employment.

Beware though - The Institute are the biggest money grabbing shower of fookos that ever existedā€¦

Defo pay it now. Never mind about the grand the biggest incentive should be not having to sit those blasted exams againā€¦

Because Iā€™m lazy and fond of procrastination. Basically never got round to it and it seemed like a load of hassle, which it is.

Strange question maybe but any of ye accountants at a quiz last night in Break for the Border??

No - why do you ask Pikeman?

Not me either.

Just I was at one there last night and the place was full of em.

How did you know they were accountants?

Twas organised by some accountants for charity and the MC asked-ā€œHave we any accountants in the house?ā€

Practically everyone let a yelp outta them-all wearing glasses too.

I donā€™t wear glasses and I would never let a yelp out of me on such an occassionā€¦

Wayhey, 1 + 1 = 2

[quote=ā€œtherock67ā€]I know a coupleof the lads on here are chartered accountants.

Couple of questions:

1. Have ye paid the Institute to be a member?
  2. If not, did they write to you recently with a special offer - reducing fees by a grand or so?
  3. Did ye get all the forms signed by wherever ye did your training contract to verify your experience and all that shite?

Iā€™ve never paid a cent but got an offer in the post last week where they knocked over a grand off what I owe them so think Iā€™m going to pay up now.[/quote]

It probably should have read a ā€˜fewā€™ questions rather than a ā€˜coupleā€™ but anyway:

1. No, havenā€™t paid.
  2. No, maybe theyā€™re specifically writing to fooks whose fees are outstanding the longest and you were 1-2 years ahead of me.
  3. No, seemed like a right pain in the hole to fll out and get signed so didnā€™t bother.

At some stage Iā€™ll similarly have to cut a deal with my work to try get them to pay some of the fees. Thing is I was hired on the understanding of being a full qualified and paid up member of the ICAI.

Yeah Iā€™ve done nothing about paying fees or getting my training contract signed by the firm or any of that crap.

What wonderful shining examples of the profession we are.

Just got a phonecall from the Institute about the special offer and how Iā€™d have to pay up in the next few weeks or have to sit the exams again before joining. Looks like Iā€™ll have to take the plunge and take the financial hit. Just been on to my mate whoā€™s a manager in one of the big 4 firms and he said he might be able to send me a completed training template that I could copy and then send it back and heā€™d arrange to get it signed. What a load of balls.

Just going through the process to join now, only became eligible in the last month or two. Bandage/Rocko - do you mind me asking how much they are looking for off you guys? My fee is 923euro which is f00king ridiculous if you ask me.

I have a joining fee of 1,272
Then membership subscriptions of 100 for 2004 and 2005
301 Euro for 2006
626 Euro for 2007

Tinnion - if you join now your current employer will pay for ya.

Yer wan told me my letter was in the post but quoted a figure of c.ā‚¬2,100. I need to come up with a plan of action to try get my employers to pay most, if not all, of it.

[quote=ā€œtherock67ā€]I have a joining fee of 1,272
Then membership subscriptions of 100 for 2004 and 2005
301 Euro for 2006
626 Euro for 2007

Tinnion - if you join now your current employer will pay for ya.[/quote]

Yeah I think they are willing to pay some but not all of it. The f**king thing is a rip-off anyway. It would be nice if we all joined at the same time and there would be several admissions from TFK appearing in a single accountancy ireland issue, might be an idea for the site to take out and ad congratulating itā€™s members?