FAO Chartered Accountants

Legend thanks

Can someone explain WTF here?

How much did the buckos get in readies, how much in shares and what’s the point of it?

I received my subscription renewal notice yesterday. Following the merger with the CPAs there is no requirement to submit a CPD (Continuing Professional Development) return. Apparently paying your subscription is sufficient evidence that you have maintained your professional knowledge.

I warned ye that this merger would lead to a dumbing down of the profession.

Furthermore, you can now use the letters ACA or CPA or for more senior individuals like @ciarancareyshurlingarmy , @Bandage and myself FCA or FCPA!!

I didn’t flog myself studying with Hego, Pierce Kent, Robert Kirk and Reggie to call myself a Car Park Attendant.

I am really upset about this.

Wow, I wasn’t aware of that CPD…eh development. I differ from you in that I’m quite relieved as I’ve never undertaken any CPD since sitting my final exams in 2004 & I was uncomfortable lying on the annual form for the past 20 (twenty) years.

Does that change end the whole scam of lads swanning off to conferences and justifying it as CPD?

If the boss finds out.

I don’t think CPD obligations changed. Just don’t need to declare them on a separate form.

Can @rocko not sign off on it for you? You’ve been holding lads to account on here since the mid zeros at least…

The Institute’s CPD Regulations now provide that renewal of membership acknowledges a member’s CPD obligations. This applies to renewal of membership by whatever means, including, for example, where a member permits a third party (such as his/her employer) to pay membership subscriptions on behalf of the member.’

We voted no and will take very little satisfaction in being proved right in due course.
It truly is a dreadful state of affairs.

I have to consider the various actions taken by members of my FCA* grouping of 7 when we meet up on Sunday evening. One has officially retired on the institute and is busy farming. Two more simply stopped paying.

• Not the Free Clothing Association (NB chocmouse)

Yeah so the renewal of membership now includes ticking the box to say you’re complying instead of ticking that box on a separate form. But the requirements themselves haven’t changed.

And even if your employer pays your fees this doesn’t exempt you from having completed that declaration (and therefore subject to it being audited).

Could everyone please set aside my comment about not fulfilling any CPD obligations for the past 20 years? I mistyped/misspoke & of course I’ve participated in a series of informative and thought provoking seminars, classes, presentations to cover CPD requirements over the years.

Can I reference TFK for CPD also?

Definitely.

Sounds like they are buying them with their own money

How would I get my hands on this list of shareholders? The article said the PLC has published it. I’ve done a quick search and can’t find anything.

A CRO filing by the Kerry group.

Use CORE

Do you want to see if you can tap up a few relatives for a few bob?

41 neighbours on the list and not one a relation :weary:

Did you find the list?

I’d know a fair chunk on it myself I’d say

“deal of the century” me bollix if twas that good they wouldn’t be offering it