FAO Tipperary posters

Good man. I’ll give that podder a listen

Interesting stuff.

The British cunts sowing mistrust of people who live in uplands and perceptions that they were wild and lawless; something that remained in the Irish psyche to this day.

I’m pretty sure I’ve listened to this before, was she sent/emigrated to Australia for a finish? Yer man’s podcast is fantastic, the series on early Ireland (400 - 1100 AD or so) is well worth a listen.

Couldn’t tell you. I hadn’t heard about it until I listened to that episode. It’s the first part of ten.

I was curious so I went searching and while I can see he did this subject back in 2018, the actual podcast from then seems to be gone. It was a single or maybe two parter before, I have no idea how he will manage to stretch 10 episodes out of it, but fair play to him, I’ll give an episode or two a blast. Anything Slieve Felim related would pique my interest which was why it grabbed my attention in the first place.

There’d still be a grain of truth in that :wink:

Berkery, who she was married to, would still be a common enough name around Rearcross

It would indeed. Grand mountainy people.

Plenty of them in Doon also.

There’s fantastic history in the Slieve Feilims, going back to Sarsfield’s Ride.

Lads can any of ye settle a bet and tell me what pub this is?

Punches in Patrickswell.

Think it’s down Carrick on Suir direction

Some Cashel based patrons anyway :thinking:

Any club games being streamed over the weekend?

Some kind of hell hole anyway.

Next episode is out.

@caulifloweredneanderthal did you ever hear of this case before?

It vaguely rings a bell but I can’t say it jumps out at me. I did a history thesis as a young lad on murders in North Tipp in the 1840s and sure there was a fuckload of them. I still haven’t got round to listening to episode 1 but will rectify that this week

That’s an old case he’s done?.. I can’t listen to that chap for some reason. He’s done some work tho in fairness to him. I didn’t think the famine series was great but again, he put a lot into it. His shoes are perfect for someone just looking for a good story.

Tipp was basically what people imagine the wild west in the states was. Lawless.