Favourite lines from Shakespeare

ā€¦and itā€™s not as if we didnā€™t already have a Shakespeare thread, one started with an eloquence and learnedness so sadly lacking in more recent offerings.

Misery acquaints a man with strange bedfellows.

Shakespeare thinking of @glenshane as he penned the line.

Fucketh Tipp

Still, Iā€™d like to help you out, because thatā€™s the kinda guy I am.

I think this is a fine bit of imagery and personification

ā€œSleep that knits up the ravellā€™d sleave of careā€

The idea of sleep easing or fixing all lifeā€™s little stresses and worries is hardly original, but presenting them as a torn or tattered sleeve in the process of being mended is strangely effectiveā€¦and tender I suppose (Iā€™m sure @carryharry will concur)
I forgive Shakespeare for any ā€˜ravellā€™d/unravelledā€™ disputes that may occur on tfk

thatā€™s mine, good old Hamlet

Hamlet : "oh look at me, what a great lad I am, quoting Shakespeare "

ā€œI would like to thank the owners and board of Leicester City for giving me the opportunity to manage this fantastic clubā€

Some amount of googling going on to find a favourite line :nerd_face:

I have a kind of alacrity in sinking

Itā€™s my field. Itā€™s my child.I nursed it. I nourished it. I dug the rocks out of it with my bare hands and I made a living thing of it.

None of them were . Oxfordian

Drink

Polonius was the original cute hoor. To his son Laertes:

ā€˜Lend many thine ear but few thine mouthā€™.

Fair play to Polonius.

The modern version reads ā€œlend them thine wisdom but never thine drill/chainsaw/angle grinder, for, as verily as there be shite in a goose thou is highly unlikely to see them in working order ever againā€

The first lines of Shakespeare I ever studied.

Theyā€™ve stayed with me.

Itā€™s a tribute both to Shakespeare and the wonderful English teachers up and down the country how much Shakespeare actually stuck with lads. In my case Frank Farrelly and John Crowe.

True. The kids probably only read the summaries these days.

Some phenomenal waste of time though.

ā€œWhether 'tis nobler in the mind to suffer
The slings and arrows of outrageous fortune,
Or to take arms against a sea of troubles,
And by opposing end them?ā€