Funeral etiquette

[QUOTE=“Julio Geordio, post: 1126859, member: 332”]Has she still got “it”*?
*Assuming she had “it” in the first place[/QUOTE]

She looked lovely given the circumstances.

There was something in the paper today about a young lad getting caught up in a boulder in the Burren who was over visiting relations in Kinvara. Any relation, bud?

Link?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/little-boy-gets-stuck-on-top-of-massive-boulder-he-climbed-up-on-in-the-burren-31158474.html

FFS

@flattythehurdler why didn’t you call in for tae when ye were that close?

The lads with the ropes and safety harness! :smiley:

@flattythehurdler why didn’t you call in for tae when ye were that close?[/QUOTE]
I couldn’t get off the fucking rock in time. I thought that was obvious.

I love how the Scottish climber “cheated death” as , by freakish coincidence, he was wearing a safety harness whilst rock climbing.

Afraid to rip your lycra probably.

Up your bollox.

I was at a funeral today of a respected and outstanding Gael, a man who kicked and hurled with distinction and ranked with the best of his era.
His club (one and only club) mustered a “Guard of Honour” that consisted the club chairman, their chief portershark and 4/5 minors to wear the jersies. Fucking disgraceful.

[QUOTE=“Boxtyeater, post: 1127223, member: 246”]I was at a funeral today of a respected and outstanding Gael, a man who kicked and hurled with distinction and ranked with the best of his era.
His club (one and only club) mustered a “Guard of Honour” that consisted the club chairman, their chief portershark and 4/5 minors to wear the jersies. Fucking disgraceful.[/QUOTE]
Ah here, thats a thundering disgrace. Name and shame.

O’Hanrahans (the Blues). :mad:

Townie cunts

[QUOTE=“Boxtyeater, post: 1127223, member: 246”]I was at a funeral today of a respected and outstanding Gael, a man who kicked and hurled with distinction and ranked with the best of his era.
His club (one and only club) mustered a “Guard of Honour” that consisted the club chairman, their chief portershark and 4/5 minors to wear the jersies. Fucking disgraceful.[/QUOTE]
That sounds fucking terrible. They’d have been better off not bothering. My club at home is junior and I’d say we’d have a minimum of 30 at any guard of honour we’d do.

Advice badly needed. As alluded to on the equine thread, I’ve to attend the funeral of a close family friend this weekend. She was 88 when she passed so in my mind it should be a celebration of her life.

Anyway, I’ve been tasked with doing the awkward speech after communion on a reflection of her life. Has anyone done this before? What’s the optimum amount of time for something like this? I would have said 2-3 mins max.

Keep it short otherwise it will be embarrassing. Don’t make a cunt of yourself. Protect the Mac brand.

The priest should guide you here. He’d have done this a 1000 times and would have a few tips on keeping the audience happy.

Sure pick out one story maybe, that typified her attitude to life with some form of humour in it. You’ll be grand. A sentimental verse from a poem can be a great for ending things too.

Just be careful not to refer to her as damefirth by mistake