Funeral etiquette

Thanks very much.

Suit family only, but fuck knows how they do it over there theyā€™ll probably stick him in a fridge for two weeks

Suit and tie for a man of your years.

If you yourself are a stalwart of the Manchester Irish community, then you may feel obliged to keep up appearance and wear a suit. If not, smart casual with darkened tones as posted above.

Jaysus, youā€™d never see suits at a funeral these days bar the chief mourners. At this time of year youā€™d be more likely to see shorts and a t shirt

Heā€™s being buried tomorrow back home :frowning:

Iā€™ll only get there if I go on the bike and Iā€™ll be a bit late regardless so Iā€™ll go shirt and jacket.
Thanks everyone

Iā€™d always wear a suit and tie to a funeral.

Above and beyond the call of duty. Fair playā€¦

You can only imagine the distress caused to the grieving family when the sound of the service is drowned out by the roar of a motorbike screeching to a halt and then a chap clip clopping late up the aisle with the thighs of his motorbike leathers making a distinctive whistling sound as they brush off each other.

And there nothing wrong with at all (as long as you donā€™t go black suit and tie when not a family member). Itā€™s a serious sign of respect for the deceased for a fella to put on good clothes and polish his shoes as opposed to turning up in jeans and tackies

the main thing is to be seen

You wouldnā€™t usually have time to get dressed up for a funeral/removal or whatever, I assume most people fit them into their day unless theyā€™re related.
It means a lot to the family that people make the effort to pay their respects, I honestly donā€™t think the attire makes any difference

A classic.

Iā€™d normally fire on a shirt myself for a removal. I think an actual funeral mass is where the suit could come into play. Sure at my grandparents funerals, lads came in in wellies and work pants, and youā€™d be happy to see them. But if you are someone that actually thinks about it in advance, then it is no harm to make an effort

You can tell the well reared lads on here. Your old man might well be a roaster but by Christ his work is done.

Iā€™d wear a shirt and a tie and a pants most days so it would only be a question of throwing on the jacket.

My father would go to a share of funerals but is very hesitant to go back to house/pub afterwards. Heā€™d hate to be seeing as freeloading
(there are professional funeral goers in most rural parts of Ireland) when all he wants to do is pay his respects.

Heā€™d normally wear a good shirt and jumper and pants to a removal (heā€™s retired but does a bit of farming) and would be spotless. For a funeral mass, he would regularly upgrade to full suit. If itā€™s a close neighbour/ex colleague/ distant relation, the suit would also be out for removal.

Heā€™d often help out filling the grave in full suit afterwards (heā€™d have the clean Wellies in the car) if it was a neighbour (itā€™s neighbours/family that dig all graves our area still) as heā€™d be tasty enough at finishing off that job

Black tie is the way to go