Funeral etiquette

Eulogies along with sermons can be very hit and miss as well. My auld lady went to a a couple to a couple of funerals in Tipp town in recent years where eulogies were deliveried by well known offspring (John Delaney and Alan Quinlan). Both went on for about 30 minutes talking about themselves rather than the deceased. She walked out of Quinlans one, which would probably be the only time in her life that she fled a religious cermony

Both Tipperary perrenial coty contenders I know…and grief ain’t an excuse here.

Eulogies are turning into Wedding Speeches in many places. Less is more.

Your first post said its not about religion. Your 2nd said a religious funeral is a big deal to people. Maybe I’m missing something?

Make sure to post the funeral details on here. A lot of lads would like to attend I’d say.

I never knew Willie O’Dea TD posted here.

Delaney used his eulogy to announce that he was to become a father again.

I was at the funeral of an elderly uncle (by marriage) yesterday. He was quite a religious family man with a rake of children now all in late middle age. The thing is he was a complete horndog all his life. He would try to ride any woman that crossed his path including all his sister-in-laws one of whom was my mother. The sisters never had the heart to tell his now deceased wife because it would have broken her pious heart. My aul fella used to refer to him as ā€˜The Whoremaster of Tuam’ which always sounded like a Martin McDonagh play to me.

Anyway, funnily enough none of this was mentioned in the 30 minute eulogy though myself and my brother had some craic laughing about it on the way home.

44 Likes

I found a recent humanist funeral quite underwhelming and it lacked the structure and circumstance of a mass. A personal tribute at start of a mass and a nice song the deceased liked at the end captures the best of the humanist ceremony.

Any lad looking for a new career should look at humanist celebrants for funerals and marriages. A few aul inspirational quotes, Spotify, Celtic mysticism and a bit of rope to bind the hands and you’d turn 500 notes a week for a couple of hours work.

I didn’t say in my first post that it wasn’t about religion. You need to read it in the context of the quoted post.

I was very confused at the suggestion that priests should just toe the line and forget about the religious part of funerals as had been suggested hence the bizarre post comment.

You were talking shite and you know it.

He didn’t look the type.

They get to officiate a whole mass they’re hardly being asked to forget about the religious aspect monsignor.

This is the thing.

The likes of @glasagusban would like to have a situation like the funeral of the scumbags that were killed in the car on the N7.

Maybe you should go say a few decades of the rosary about it?

Spotify and Celtic mysticism me bollix. They’ll be playing the Ace of Spades :spades: for me when the coffin is being incinerated

:joy::clap:

Could be enterprising alright , There’s people dying now that never died before .

That’s the human condition all summed up beautifully.

We are all flawed. We spend life hiding parts of our personality from everyone but when we go none of it really matters.

If only we can appreciate that while alive we’d all be flying.

Glas would have wanted him open the casket and let a ballon rise up as the gender reveal.

I’ve heard the backstory of a few humanist celebrants of ā€œcoupling ceremoniesā€ I’ve been to. The latest version of snake oil salesmen you’re ever likely to find.