A poisoned chalice if there ever was one. Stink of post-Ferguson UTD off the Dubs.
Darcy wouldnât strike me as a particularly charismatic type.
Hardly. Dublin have a number of taxis coming off the rank.
Charisma wasnât exactly dropping off Jim Gavin now.
Didnât someone come out batting for Darcy on live TV just after Dessie Farrell announced he was stepping aside?
It may have been Paul Flynn.
I know little about him. He seems to have played second or third fiddle to any success heâs been involved in, which to me would sound total alarm bells when it comes to managing a team of Dublin seniors current stature in the game. Hasnât even managed a senior club to a county championship, or managed an underage county team. Selector, yes. Backroom team, yes. Management, no. Iâm intrigued by Gavinâs personality. In my opinion, the best whoâs managed in the sport. Better than Micko. His ability to organise and delegate I presume were second to none. Unless Gavin was asked who he thought was most capable, and he pointed him out having worked with him. I donât know, seems an odd appointment.
If all fails, they can start signing Emlyn Mulligan category players from the boonies and pretend theyâre the Chinese Super League in itâs short-lived heyday.
It wouldnât be a family trait to be fair. Soldiering with the Willies in his formative years wouldnât mark you out as UN special envoy material.
Mayo top job down to two candidates. McEntee and Moran allegedly. This is a beacon to the wider world that nobody in their right mind that is worth their salt wishes to be AOSâs backroom team. It must be up there with the most undesirable jobs in the country, along with the Kilkenny footballers.
Thatâs a pile of ill informed shite. AOS has been an outstanding servant to Mayo football. The idea he is some sort of malevolent influence plotting against team management is nonsense.
I have it from a very good source that the team was effectively being run by himself and the brother, as well as COC, Alan Dillon and Andy Fucking Moran
Its an absolute insult to the dedication AOS has given to Mayo that a pisshead drunk like that fucking arsehole lads go on about whose name escapes me, gets as much airtime as he does. Iâd imagine he doesnât get half as much inside Mayo.
Read your history
Andy Moran would be the latest in a long line of former Mayo managers to get a second crack at the job.
Yeah Flynn was pushing for him. Philly McMahon too.
Darcy was probably Gavinâs second in command and was generally well regarded and respected. Cooper the same. Sherlock would be a more controversial character but seemed to be a good coach.
To be honest i donât think the players are there to win an all ireland regardless of who is in charge
Iâm hearing now that it will not be Darcy. St Gerard of Dorset st may be anointed today.
Here we go!
Ger Brennan to the Coddlers. Official.
In one
When it came down to it, a Vincentâs man was always going to get it over a Leitrim man.