Gadgets thread

According to some ignorant oafs on here a child shouldnā€™t be let near an electronic device of that nature until heā€™s 21.

Should be the other way round. No self respecting male over the age of 40 should be allowed near anything that involves pushing 2 or more buttons

Sure you donā€™t know yourself since you learned how to post gifs and all that malarkey, :grinning:

I have the instructions taped to the back of the phone.

:stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Got an Alexa echo dot (3rd generation) yesterday. A grand gadget.

Very simple to set up - you download the app to your phone and find the speaker and connect - enter your wifi and off you go.

Obviously, mainly acts as a speaker - so you can sync your spotify. It automatically signs you up to amazon music - so you have to specifically say spotify when asking it to play something but thatā€™s not hard to do ā€¦ will play your saved playlists also by voice command which is all very handy instead of having to search through a device for an artist or play list.

Still have a lot of fiddling around to do, but you can call and send messages through it. And if you had a second one you casn drop in on it if itā€™s in another part of the house and use it like an intercom - i,e - if youā€™re not down in 5 minutes iā€™m fucking your dinner in the bin.

The feature weā€™ve been messing around with is lists and reminders. You can set your shopping list as you go over the week and sheā€™ll read it back to you on request. You can delete / add items as you go - so handy if an ad hoc item comes into your head. Reminders, can be daily/ weekly/ monthly or stand alone. So again, for smaller reminders like John and Nora calling next Sunday, or phone the plumber back or dentitst appointment etcā€¦ you can enter these by voice and youā€™ll get the reminder for whenever you set it - but you can always ask each day what appointments you have ahead today/ this week/ month etc.

The next thing we must get on is the wifi plugs ā€” You can operate / interact through the app on your phone - so you can get it to turn your lights / heating or other devices on while on your way home. Ideal for the mrs if she wants to turn her wax pots on if sheā€™s out.

Also great if you have audible / podcasts or want to ask random trivia.

Thereā€™s loads more I have to discover yet, but itā€™s worth getting one. Itā€™s the future.

Half price currently and youā€™ll get the echo dot 3 rd generation for about 35 notes including delivery.

cc @Copper_pipe @Fagan_ODowd @StoneCold @Smark @Bandage @flattythehurdler

Does it transcribe inane shite or did you have to type that yourself?

Iā€™d never sync my devices to TFK - @Rocko and @Bandage mined a serious bit of info on forumites through the now defunct app.

Have it mate or possibly an earlier version. Only ever use it for Spotify. I really didnā€™t bother with any of the other stuff. We tried the shopping list for a while but the problem is youā€™ve to call out every item individually; when you are compiling a list on a Saturday morning this gets a bit irritating

You knob head ā€¦ you make the list as you go during the week. I presume 80-90% of your weekly shopping list stays the same anyway, so itā€™s really only for ad-hoc items or when bulk items run out.

@StoneCold was making a list of a saturday morning, telling Alexa the full contents of the list, getting Alexa to read it back to him and then heā€™d write it down and head out to do his shop :rofl:

You mad bastard.

Ah yeah but I guess Iā€™m not used to this brave new world yet. Plus often when I was saying something to it the better half would roar from the opposite end of the house ā€œwhat did you say?ā€. I must check out setting up a few sockets with it alright. Would she source an IPTV stream for you?

oooffftttt

Sweet Jesus

Iā€™m here listening to TFK on Alexa. You can set her up to read websites.

I know, 35 euro is practically for nothing.

35 euro to make a fucking eejit of yourself talking to a tin can isnā€™t much alright.

Alexa wonā€™t tell anyone bar the FBI what youā€™re saying to herā€¦ I wouldnā€™t be so self conscious if I were you.

Anybody who got wireless headphones for Christmas have a chance to do a Leonardo DiCaprio yet?

10 hours, go on so, Iā€™ll bite. What?