[QUOTE=“dodgy-keeper, post: 974288, member: 1552”]Fucking hell, Loughnane has absolutely slaughtered Canning again today in that rag tabloid he writes for.
“Most knowledgeable hurling people now agree that Joe Canning has been destroyed by the media, who constantly over-emphasise his contribution to games.”
“They are well on the way to making Joe Canning the Billy Beane of hurling. Plenty of talent, but not a real player.”
“As of yet Canning does not bear comparison with his contemporaries TJ Reid and Richie Hogan, never mind true great Henry Shefflin, JJ Delaney and Tommy Walsh.”
"He has none of the work-rate, heart or mental toughness of any of the Kilkenny greats. But the media are fascinated by him, constantly proclaiming his genius."[/QUOTE]
From watching Galway v KK over last few years I reckon ye should play the following team
Callinan
Moore
Burke
Coen
Burke
Cooney
Collins
Tannion with shooting banned and orders to sit back
Brehony
Cooney
Joe
Smith under threat of withdrawal if concedes more than 2 frees
D Burke
Glynn
Kerril Wade/Cummins/An other useful corner forward ye dispose way too early.
I haven’t given up hope on jason flynn just yet. Im not gone on cooney at 6, his striking can be slow at times he tends to turn into trouble too. Maybe in time. Daithi burke is the long term option there, tannian and collins the wings, smith midfield and niall burke wing forward. Id start glennon ahead of david burke now until he regains some form.
Absolutely, for a fella who was only minor 2 years ago and this his first year in the squad he’s done very well.
Is there a tendency in Galway to throw good young hurlers on the scrap heap before the are given a proper opportunity?
It takes a few years for some hurlers to develop into consistent inter-county players. A lot of promising Galway players, especially forwards seem to disappear very quickly off the scene if they’re not an instant hit.
[QUOTE=“Fran, post: 975031, member: 110”]Absolutely, for a fella who was only minor 2 years ago and this his first year in the squad he’s done very well.
Is there a tendency in Galway to throw good young hurlers on the scrap heap before the are given a proper opportunity?
It takes a few years for some hurlers to develop into consistent inter-county players. A lot of promising Galway players, especially forwards seem to disappear very quickly off the scene if they’re not an instant hit.[/QUOTE]
Big time, there’s unreal expectation for some reason and over the top criticism when they don’t perform. Like you say it takes years for players to get used to the pace of inter county but if someone doesn’t go well in one game for us, he’s branded as useless and thrown on the scrap heap. He goes back to his club where his neighbours and club men tell him not to worry the county team is a useless as a whole and a waste of time compared to club hurling and all the enthusiasm and belief he had after winning that minor all ireland is gone. The problem with producing so many minor teams is that there’s an opinion that there’s willing and able replacements if some one is seen to not have ‘it’ when what’s really needed is a few years to develope. Look at the Waterford teams who got hammered in the all ireland and Munster finals, they just got back on the horse and put it behind them and in the case of the Munster final thrashing they got from tipp, gathered themselves and beat us easily a few weeks later. There was no panic or public abuse of players. But it’s all club hurling in Galway. I’ve witnessed plenty of times inter county players being told by lads from their clubs, sure ye never had a chance with x from club y there, bone useless, flaky like all of them from that club etc. lads on the panel seem to get on ok in the main even if there is cliques as there is everywhere, but it’s hard not to think the general disdain the county team gets held in doesn’t permeate into their thinking. For most people in Galway it’s club and that’s it, up to coppers on the lash if they get to a semi or final, if they lose earlier, an opportunity to slag a certain player from a certain club presents itself, which is all a lot of them want anyway.
The club rules the roost in Galway, don’t think there’s any doubt about that but in fairness to Cunningham I think he fostered a decent spirit in the county camp this year, perhaps as good as could have been expected under the circumstances. Whatever about form there’s not one of them I would fault for effort at any rate, in fact trying a bit too hard led to a rash of indiscipline in the replay I thought. That said I’m struggling to make a case for us against Tipp. Lets face it, if Tipp are any way good at all they’ll surely be able for a side who are coming in battered and bruised and off the back of a dis-heartening defeat. Then again my enthusiasm usually perk up a bit the day of or the day before a game so here’s to hoping yet
Galway hammered Dublin in the 2007 and 2011 u21 finals yet those teams back bone the Dublin side today and only Canning, J Coen and Niall Burke start for Galway…
An old spell cast on Galway hurling in 1988… It all kicked off when Hopper McGrath refused to bless himself passing Clonmacnoise monastery as we brought home the cup. He was to be the last ‘light’ forward to ever win an AI medal in the Galway jersey.
[QUOTE=“Mac, post: 979845, member: 109”]I said they don’t matter on the choking scale mate. You’re trying to imply something I didn’t say.
Hope all those club championship final appearances soften the blow of the likes of last Saturday.[/QUOTE]
Take your beating like a man. I’d say the vast majority of lads on here would definitely take a club all ireland over an all ireland, they are all that matter in Galway as we have to keep on telling ye, so yes they more than soften the blow, they are what the GAA is all about. But you clearly don’t think so.