GENOCIDE Motorways driving

all the free potential wasted - it should be a pass/fail component of the road test

It’s insane that with so much of the driving done on motorways now that no component of the driving test involves motorways. No instead they have youngsters reversing around corners in empty housing estates. I doubt if I have ever reversed around a corner since I passed the test.

Traffic this week has been terrible and it’s only Wednesday, I’m getting through some amount of podcasts!

Fella on an electric scooter on the M50 yesterday evening. Sure why not?

Was he wearin Canada Goose?

Probably

Imagine having nothing but radio 1
Back in the day
No motorway
No roundabouts
Stuck in every village from outside Blackpool to Lifford otw north.
Up to 12 hours in ferocious weather,
9 normally.

Only thing kept me sane was Niall Tobin tapes,
Wolfhound ,
Wolfe Tones - hate to admit it ( I was young is my only excuse)

All grand until the cassette tape used get stuck :face_with_peeking_eye::roll_eyes:
Rewind .
Pull it out ,
Get some to straighten it as u rewind it with a biro
F me no wonder my generation were / are half bonkers

And now we just can’t remember all the email addresses, usernames and passwords.

If u saw the several large envelopes in my kitchen drawer with all the feckin passwords etc
:roll_eyes:
Once or twice a year when I have to use my Apple ID there’s murder in my head

Oh, the Apple ID one has to be long and complicated.

Nightmare as I can’t remember what I did yesterday
Not a mind this craic

Their security is fab tho
I’d never viruses
Whereas on android- El Paso

I was headed southbound on the m56 this morning listening to music via my intercom (temple by kings of Leon to be precise) thinking how nice it was that all of the cars in the outside lane were moving over to let me pass. A quick blast of a siren right behind me revealed that in fact there were three (3) fully lit up squad cars which I had failed to notice.
In my defence it was fucking freezing.

https://www.rte.ie/news/primetime/2025/1202/1546829-m50-commuting/

It has been noticeably worse since September

General driving in Dublin is terrible. No one pays heed to yellow boxes anymore.

We need to get more people back into the offices.

Plenty of houses to rent, seamless integrated public transport and an efficient road network. There’s no reason for 1,000s more people not to be back working in Dublin.

Its all coming up Denis O Brien

It’s becoming a real pain and the worrying part is that there is nothing planned to do anything to improve it.

The greens tried to do things about it and it pilloried for it.