Good Books

Long time since I read it but I thought Vernon God Little was a grand book.

I didnt finish it either

Some bits are more interesting than others. Thomas Cromwell is a fascinating character.

Might give it another go

I enjoyed Amsterdam

Disgrace and Paddy Clarke ha ha were two other decent and relatively accessible winners. I really tried to enjoy a brief history of seven killings but it was hard going

I made it to the end of that one but it was a chore.

Paddy Clarke was great.
Disgrace was depressing. I finished it but didn’t enjoy it.

A brief history was challenging but it was pretty class. His follow up fantasy book was pure shite.

Life of Pi was a classic winner

Enjoyed (if that’s the right word) Disgrace

A brief history of seven killings ended up been a slog, maybe long books aren’t for me

The new Irvine Welsh Trainspotting sequel has lost a lot of the complexity and shock value and authenticity of the three previous books with the Trainspotting lads. I don’t think his heart was really in it, it seemed a little bit by the numbers, Porno had a lot more depth and cut to it. In saying that it was still enjoyable to revisit the characters and it was ridiculously funny at certain points.

cc @Mark_Renton

I’ll leave it for the winter months.

I am in the middle of Agassi’s autobiography at the minute :clap::clap:

Not a bad read. He hated tennis.

Was it more he hated his father’s obsession with the game ?? Ironic that he married Steffi Graf who had a similar father .

A lot of high achieving sports people have a difficult relationship with their parents, at least when young, who see it as their role for the kid to maximise their talent by practising/training and also the parent sacrifices by bringing the child to events /training etc.

I can sort of understand it where a big professional career awaits but I’ve seen crazy behaviour from parents over playing underage for fucking Dublin. Something lacking in them.

I finished this TFK classic a few weeks ago. I am commencing a political, cultural and economic boycott of the USA.

Just finished this there now. Very good read. A rare case of a book I slowed down reading towards the end because I didn’t want to finish it and put it down for the last time.

Poverty Safari by Darren McGarvey is an excellent read/listen. A rant against the class system in the UK where he grew up. I listened on audible and he narrated himself, interesting stuff

For sure. We were briefly part the Irish dancing scene about 2 years ago and got a glimpse at some of these lunatics before sneaking away. Obsessed parents getting kids out of bed at 6am to do 90 minute practice before school :eyes:. Getting up at all hours at weekends to make a feish in Cork or Belfast, crazy crazy cunts.