John Pilger is an absolute legend.
I remember reading that around about the time I was coming here. Canāt believe Iām still here.
John Pilger is an absolute legend.
I remember reading that around about the time I was coming here. Canāt believe Iām still here.
[quote=ācaoimhaoin, post: 829557, member: 273ā]John Pilger is an absolute legend.
I remember reading that around about the time I was coming here. Canāt believe Iām still here.[/quote]
why are you still here Kev?
you seem to hate the place now?
[quote=āThe Wild Colonial Bhoy, post: 830089, member: 80ā]why are you still here Kev?
you seem to hate the place now?[/quote]
Want to go home with plenty money. Itās that simple. My ability to make money was severely reduced by the football gig. But I knew that and took the hit for a years experience, would have done a 2nd year but itās an awfully shit club.
So head down now, work and study.
[quote=ācaoimhaoin, post: 830172, member: 273ā]Want to go home with plenty money. Itās that simple. My ability to make money was severely reduced by the football gig. But I knew that and took the hit for a years experience, would have done a 2nd year but itās an awfully shit club.
So head down now, work and study.[/quote]
good stuff, Im out of here in December.
Would have liked another 12 months but that wont be happening.
I could see how more than a few years here would piss you off
will you be able to get a job in something similar at home
Dp
Tp
[quote=āThe Wild Colonial Bhoy, post: 830174, member: 80ā]good stuff, Im out of here in December.
will you be able to get a job in something similar at home[/quote]
Experience is king in S&C. This one year and a good reference and referees I have picked up in pro sports here gives me a great shot. My quals are to Higher Cert level 7 though, I started back studying last week to finish degree which could take up to 2 years (Distance learning) but I want to fast track it as I will fly thru most of it. Projects etc would take a bit of time. Iām negotiating this now. The degree with everything else and Iād have no issue. Itās the only recognized S&C degree in the world.
I may still get one though thru my experience and maturity (most graduates struggle with working world, I know itās something sports organizations look at).
I also have a very serious option of going to a private clinic in Edmunton, Canada. The Physio here is moving home and we get on great, he is going to open his own Sports Physio clinic within 12 months. He said I have a job there, and before that he may get me other work there
Itās not easy, but I jumped the que a bit getting semi-pro and some pro experience.
I have to thank Australia for that. Oh ya and for my lovely future wife too. I just canāt take the male population.
I would live in other parts of Oz. and I will be back. Adelaide (the Cork i Australia) is a viable option, and there are parts of Queensland with the right job in right location I would go to as well.
But if you struggle with Queenlanders, holy fuck they are a diddle compared to Westerners.
Alot of Irish actually manage to avoid them a they are so in grosses in the Irish community. But I have lived outside that world and it has been very instructive. Itās a pity, cos Aussie women are great. And the country itself is fantastic. South West WA is just a magical place.
[quote=āThe Wild Colonial Bhoy, post: 830174, member: 80ā]good stuff, Im out of here in December.
Experience is king in S&C. This one year and a good reference and referees I have picked up in pro sports here gives me a great shot. My quals are to Higher Cert level 7 though, I started back studying last week to finish degree which could take up to 2 years (Distance learning) but I want to fast track it as I will fly thru most of it. Projects etc would take a bit of time. Iām negotiating this now. The degree with everything else and Iād have no issue. Itās the only recognized S&C degree in the world.
I may still get one though thru my experience and maturity (most graduates struggle with working world, I know itās something sports organizations look at).
I also have a very serious option of going to a private clinic in Edmunton, Canada. The Physio here is moving home and we get on great, he is going to open his own Sports Physio clinic within 12 months. He said I have a job there, and before that he may get me other work there
Itās not easy, but I jumped the que a bit getting semi-pro and some pro experience.
I have to thank Australia for that. Oh ya and for my lovely future wife too. I just canāt take the male population.
I would live in other parts of Oz. and I will be back. Adelaide (the Cork i Australia) is a viable option, and there are parts of Queensland with the right job in right location I would go to as well.
But if you struggle with Queenlanders, holy fuck they are a diddle compared to Westerners.
Alot of Irish actually manage to avoid them a they are so in grosses in the Irish community. But I have lived outside that world and it has been very instructive. Itās a pity, cos Aussie women are great. And the country itself is fantastic. South West WA is just a magical place.
great stuff Kev
im glad there are opportunities that your time here has presented you
Also good news about your future wife
Has she been back in Ireland yet, would she move there?
Fair play to you @caoimhaoin you certainly seem to have a plan and thats half the battle and its something you love. I understand what youāre saying about dumb aussie males and the levels of xenophobia and general cuntishness here. I come across it all the time, but tend to ignore it and my aussie mates in general are not like this at all. Good to see youāve found a nice aussie girl. When do you think youāll be leaving this Fatal Shore?
I donāt know any Irish lads living out here (as opposed to the working holiday shite) who havenāt been successful in work and life.
But after December, Iām on my own here KIB Man doesnāt want to play. GMan will go back to Wexford. Gerrardno1 is mute. TWCB - we have to go for hints next time Iām in Brisvegas bud.
Maybe that mbb lad I keep hearing about will move out here and we can be bessiers.
[quote=āFitzy, post: 830195, member: 236ā]Fair play to you @caoimhaoin you certainly seem to have a plan and thats half the battle and its something you love. I understand what youāre saying about dumb aussie males and the levels of xenophobia and general cuntishness here. I come across it all the time, but tend to ignore it and my aussie mates in general are not like this at all. Good to see youāve found a nice aussie girl. When do you think youāll be leaving this Fatal Shore?
I donāt know any Irish lads living out here (as opposed to the working holiday shite) who havenāt been successful in work and life.
But after December, Iām on my own here KIB Man doesnāt want to play. GMan will go back to Wexford. Gerrardno1 is mute. TWCB - we have to go for hints next time Iām in Brisvegas bud.
Maybe that mbb lad I keep hearing about will move out here and we can be bessiers.[/quote]
most aussies Ive met are sound, the bogans do look like scum of the earth and there is that a lotl wannabe alpha male bullshit but out in the burbs you dont really see that.
when are you up here again fisty, would love to go for scoops with you before I go
get KIB back posting, for all his faults & arrogance he was a 1000 time better than the likes of carryharry
is Gman still here?
[quote=āThe Wild Colonial Bhoy, post: 830196, member: 80ā]most aussies Ive met are sound, the bogans do look like scum of the earth and there is that a lotl wannabe alpha male bullshit but out in the burbs you dont really see that.
when are you up here again fisty, would love to go for scoops with you before I go
get KIB back posting, for all his faults & arrogance he was a 1000 time better than the likes of carryharry
is Gman still here?[/quote]
Dunno yet, Iāll give you a shout next time.
KIB Manās actually quite a sound bloke, nothing like his internet persona
[quote=āFitzy, post: 830197, member: 236ā]Dunno yet, Iāll give you a shout next time.
KIB Manās actually quite a sound bloke, nothing like his internet persona ;)[/quote]
will he post again?
if I smashed horsebox like i did Fooley would he come back?
[quote=āThe Wild Colonial Bhoy, post: 830194, member: 80ā]great stuff Kev
im glad there are opportunities that your time here has presented you
Also good news about your future wife
Has she been back in Ireland yet, would she move there?[/quote]
No she hasnāt, but I would consider her quite irish in nature. She is the one who made the final call on staying in the football for another year, on the basis she really wants to go to Ireland to meet my friends Nd family and she also wants me to be happier which she is convinced I will be at home or at least near it. I would think Iāll have a 30-40% chance of getting something in Ireland, better in UK. But Iām not snobby in what I do to pay the bills. Obviously I can do any amount of building work but thatās limited clearly. The thing about sports though is even volunteering keeps the eye in. And lets say I got some run of the mill job in Dublin, I can always pick up private clients/teams, have extra cash, study away and also look for the job I really want. Iām not putting any limits in myself, just rough targets and try and enjoy life as I go too.
I would like to tear thru the degree, but they may not let me.
[quote=āThe Wild Colonial Bhoy, post: 830198, member: 80ā]will he post again?
if I smashed horsebox like i did Fooley would he come back?[/quote]
No, he will not. Not sure what it has to do with @Horsebox but sure, work away anyway, should be entertaining, though I believe oul horseybox to be a fairly sound skin.
Congrats on the engagement Kev.
Great stuff. Unemigrating is going to be the new buzzword.
[quote=āFitzy, post: 830197, member: 236ā]Dunno yet, Iāll give you a shout next time.
KIB Manās actually quite a sound bloke, nothing like his internet persona ;)[/quote]
Thatās at least the 2nd time Iāve seen Fitzy turn you down for pints @The Wild Colonial Bhoy -get the hint, bro.
[quote=āThe Wild Colonial Bhoy, post: 830196, member: 80ā]most aussies Ive met are sound, the bogans do look like scum of the earth and there is that a lotl wannabe alpha male bullshit but out in the burbs you dont really see that.
is Gman still here?[/quote]
Iām not no, was only a passing visit.
can see where Kev is coming from alright. Luckily enough I didnt really associate or have much dealings with the bogan type assholes that are rife. The work I was in generally meant I dealt with decent guys and there were few and far between the steroptypical Aussie bogan.
but the whole xenophobia and as I see it, casual racism there is unreal. āBoat peopeā, ābungsā, āwogsā, ātowel headā, as if there is nothing wrong with how they treat or see other people living there. The massive 457 signs up in Perth, and the adverts on radio and TV, āKeep Australia Australianā.
I was watching a footy game and at half time they have the Oz Kick thing for kidsand usually the sideline reporter picks out the best kid and gives them a medal and they have a bit of a chat. This game any, and a black kid is picked, his name was African based, and the person watching it with me just goes, āfuck sake, that kid isnt even Australian, why is he playing our gameā. I genuinely couldnt believe it. Nevermind the fact this 8 year old spoke with the same Aussie accent they did, but because he was black and had a foreign sounding name, he isnt considered Australian straight off the bat. Kev mentioned before in 3 generations time it will be a great place, but Iām still not convinced. Kids are still being churned out with an automatic dislike of anyone who isnt white or isnt Christian, despite religion not being that important there.
there are a lot of great people there, and some lovely places, but the whole mistrust of anyone outside of their ācultureā (which that is, I still dont know) would annoy me.