Greatest game of football of all time?

It was for my money. In the modern era at least (since the mid 70s), infinitely better than the 78 semi final which was shown up in its flawed glory by the TG4 re runs.

It had everything, super scoring, great defending, a bit of controversy, a packed stadium and what looked like a great atmosphere. Also the stakes were so high, given that so much has been invested to get that far. Kudos also to the ref who did as good a job as possible given the pace of the game. That said, Whelan should’ve probably walked for his cynical swipe at McGarrity.

Love 'em or hate 'em the Dubs certainly make for a great days entertainment. Mayo were spot on to warm up in the Hill end, noone has any rights on Croker and it seemed to unsettle the Dubs. Whelo in particular appeared to take the bait, sticking the chest out and having to be restrained after the photograph.

Still can’t see past the kingdom for Sam though, Heaney was fantastic today but he fluffed 3 or 4 high balls which are Donaghy’s forte.

PS Credit too to RTE for coming up with a cracker for the outside the stadium role. Almost enough to make me want to go to GAA games again. Think its high time she was given more air time.

Yeah great game. Bad news for the Evening Herald and Bulmers though. At least the new soccer season has started so the Dub supporters can concentrate on Man Utd now.

Cracking game alright. Didn’t see the Whelan incident properly (thanks for the shite tickets bandage :wink: ). Anyone find out what happened to the Mayo official in the end?

Thought Dublin made some odd decisions during the game. Moving Ryan out from midfield (and then taking him off) was a poor call - he was having another good game in the middle and we were cleaned out there for the last 20. Then Bonner was replaced when he seemed to be going well in the middle too. It seemed like it didn’t matter where Dublin lost a man, they were always going to bring Lally on. It seemed ridiculous that Christie or O Shaughnessy didn’t come on for Cahill, instead 4 or 5 guys move positions to facilitate Lally.

Atmosphere was excellent though there was one prick in front that pissed me off no end, turning round to celebrate every Mayo score. “Turn around now ya fucker” I screamed at him after the first Dublin goal but he wasn’t for turning.

On a side note regarding the refereeing they need to open their eyes a bit to the obvious little tricks guys try. The Mort was stealing five or ten yards from every free and there were bits of time wasting and things that went unnoticed.

[quote=steamboatsam ]
Anyone know what happened to the official, from Mayo i think, who was stretched out in the middle of the field during the warm up? presume someone hit him a dig. [/quote]

Could that have been the Mayo physio who was apparently hit hard by a ball from Alan Brogan? I heard a number of people saying that it was accidental.

Some game of ball indeed, the best one I have ever seen in the flesh (not counting Wexford?s 1-09 to 0-11 victory over Carlow in 2003 to seal promotion to Division 1 ? who will ever forget the pitch invasion afterwards?) and it was a privilege to have attended.

It was really fooking gripping, I was still kind of shaking about 30 minutes after the game - such was the intensity and emotion of the occasion that the adrenalin was even pumping in neutrals (it could have been the ridiculous drinking from the day and night before either though). Strange to see a game where both teams in both halves got mad runs on the other one, Mayo starting like a train and then Dublin dominating the last 15 minutes of the first half and first 15 of the second and then Mayo roaring back into the game for the last 20.

I could tell we were in for something special when Mayo broke off down to the Hill after the photo. I didn?t agree with it at the time ? I thought they should just have focused on the task in hand and forget about all these stupid mind games and laying down psychological markers and what have you. But like appendage says, Whelo nearly had to be restrained at the start when he saw they were down there. There was some nice shoulders going on during the warm up. I have no idea what happened that Mayo official, some folk said a football hit him in the head and he suffered a seizure, others said he got a dunt in the head. I presume there was nothing sinister as the referee or officials didn?t get involved at all.

I think it?s pretty amazing that Dublin only got one point in the last 20 odd minutes. Despite the goal chances they missed towards the end of the first half that might have put Mayo away you can?t really say they were unlucky to lose when they were dominated when it counts, towards the end of the game. Watching the game live I didn?t realise how bad the Whelan/McGarrity incident was. I knew he hit him late but I thought he struck him around the shoulder area while in mid air and and an awkward landing put him out of the game. When watching The Sunday Game last night I thought Whelo should have got the line. A shame for McGarrity because he was playing excellently up to then. Whelo went off with a blood injury then so the loss of McGarrity was not really felt until the start of the second half when Whelo returned.

Kudos to Moran and Morrison then though. They used their bench really well. Bringing on O?Neill corner forward was a good move and they they quickly brought off the guy who had initially replaced McGarrity and got Brady on. The guy Kilcoyne, 23, was superb when he came on, driving at them for a few scores and it was a bit of a masterstroke bring on Andy Moran, normally a corner/wing forward, at wing back to track Bonner who had a smashing start to the second half. With Bonner dropping so deep all the time this allowed Moran to follow him back up the field towards his natural habitat, including for the goal.

I disagree with pagey about McDonald also. I thought he was incredibly good. The reason he went out of the game for a while was because of Dublin?s midfield dominance at the start of the second half while he was back in full forward. When they brought the 3 subs on and repositioned McDonald to #11 he just dominated the rest of the game. He was like a quarterback, dropping off and demanding the ball and his passing is exquisite. They?re not simple punts into a lad?s chest, they?re nearly always floated over or around someone into his target?s path to run onto at pace. He?s a fooking joy to watch and his 2 points were classic scores, I thought it was well deserved that he had the final say with the winning point considering how brilliant he was.

It?s too easy to blame management when a team loses by such a tight margin. What about the missed goal chances? Keaney fisting over for a point when bearing down on the keeper, the one that hit the bar etc but I thought Dublin were found wanting yesterday. I thought Ryan was doing well in midfield and they moved him to wing back. Dillon was having the better of Casey and they ended up moving him back to the corner. They could have brought Christie or O?Shaughnessy on. Also, for the last 20 minutes it was through their midfield and McDonald that Mayo were dominating but Dublin sacrificed Cosgrove and Quinn rather than shaking up their midfield or half back lines.

Some enjoyable though ? I just hope they give Kerry a game now and are able to reach that level again because if they do we?ll have another cracker on our hands.

What was the flawed glory?

Cracking game of football yesterday. Delighted for Mayo. They showed right from even before throw in that they meant business. Who the fook do Dublin think they are marching down to hill 16 before throw in? Classic interview with ?the Mort? on the Sunday game last night, ?ah sure that?s Dublin for ya?! Love the guys arrogance. We met him out in Dublin about 18 months ago, and he seems like a decent enough fellow.

Don’t particularly have a problem with Mayo warming up in front of the Hill but I don’t think Dublin should have gone elsewhere just because Mayo were laying down a marker or challenge. You love the Mort’s arrogance but dislike Dublin’s arrogance for reclaiming their half of the pitch! At least be honest with yourself and admit that you’ve a chip on your shoulder about Dublin and that’s why you didn’t like their actions.

Hard to define exactly but I had often heard and read of the 78 semi final but seeing it was a terrible let down. Lots of that annoying open hand passing and high aimless kicking. Just didn’t have the intensity of yesterday’s game. Yesterday’s skill level was higher, fitness greater and the game was alot faster.

Rule changes like the kick from the hand for free kicks gave yesterdays players an advantage but all in all yesterdays game was a better spectacle.

The more I think about Mayo’s pre match stunt the more I think it worked. The Dubs didn’t score for the opening quarter and that was a huge factor. Granted they took over the game for periods but that 4 point start gave Mayo a chance to weather the storm when it did come. Granted also the Dubs could’ve rattled the net a few times but Mayo missed chances too.

Still think Kerry will win Sam though, but if Mayo can produce that intensity again, and be able to combat the avalanche of high ball landing on their full back line(Esp after 04) they have every chance.

?Their half of the pitch?? Show me an article/rule book etc where it states that Dublin?s half of the pitch is the Hill 16 end? While I know each team is given a timetable where it states which team comes out first and the approx time they come out at I?m not aware that they are told which side of the field they have to warm up on? Mayo were well within their rights to warm up at the Hill 16 end and layed down a marker even before throw in.

Why exactly would I have a chip on my shoulder about an over hyped team who have won 3 All Irelands in the last 25 years? True like most culchies I have no great like for the Dubs but to suggest I have a chip on my shoulder about them is wide of the mark to say the least.

Don’t see any chips in any of the above either to be honest. I think there might be instruction from Croke Park as to what end the teams warm up at but I’m not sure. Bandage could be the man to answer that one. They’re over hyped relative to their ability but thats only natural given the population. If editors want to sell papers they focus on the readers and if the majority reside in Dublin then they’re gonna hype up the Dubs.

[quote=tommymoore ]
Why exactly would I have a chip on my shoulder about an over hyped team who have won 3 All Irelands in the last 25 years? [/quote]

Still more than you. Or 28 other counties.
And historically, still easily the 2nd best in All-Ireland wins.
And the only county whose support can fill Croke Park on any day before the final.
It’s not hype, just reality that in terms of support and results, Dublin are one of the big teams. And after a few lean years, the trend over the last 2 seasons just shows the results starting to reflect this again.

As I’ve said above (if you’ve bothered to read my post) Mayo were well within their rights to warm up at the Hill 16 end. I don’t have an issue with that. I don’t think you genuinely believe that Dublin should just accept that they were out second and go and warm up at the Canal End. Mayo put down a deliberate statement of intent and Dublin accepted the challenge. Once Mayo went to the Hill it was inevitable Dublin would follow. It’s not arrogant to adhere to tradition. It would be cowardly to ignore it in the face of provocation.

The reason I say you have a chip on your shoulder about Dublin is because (as you even admit) you don’t like Dublin. You live here, earn your money here, but don’t like them. Again that’s your right and sport would be dull if we were all best plans. Don’t pretend there are other reasons for disliking what they did though. “Who the fook do Dublin think they are marching down to Hill 16…” - was it really the fact that they marched down to Hill 16 that got you annoyed? It was the fact that it was Dublin which riled you.

Have to side with Tommymoore here, The dubs were overrated and overhyped.

Have to feel sory for Paul Caffrey and the players, all the media, most of the fans (except the realistic ones) were all going on about the 1st Kerry-Dublin All-Ireland in 21 years. When Kerry were the only ones guaranteed a place in the final.

The Herald and the other rags hyped it to fook: 3 days to go etc etc. Its a shame as Kerry would have pumped the Dubs after yesterdays performance.

Similarities abound between the Dubs and the english soccer team in the world cup: untested in midfield, a forward line reliant on one player, a media that believed they were one of the top three, beat some poor teams (sweden, ecuador, offaly and westmeath), some dodgy substitution decisions and eventually humbled by a team that could actually play the game.

I’d like to think they’ll learn lessons from it, but come next season, it’ll be the same hype and overrating all over again. The one thing Dublin have on their side is time, Armagh are gone for a while, Galway are gone, Tryone have little time left, Kerry will start to slip after this year when O’Se and Moynihan leave, Mayo will slide after this year, Cork are not title contenders at all so there is a title in the Dubs at some stage.

Wexford also. :wink:

Mattie is still young, so ye’ll be ok…

ps tried to find your initial all-star team on the old board to do an update on it, but couldnt find it, do you have it or know where it is?

[quote=WhyOhWhy ]
… most of the fans (except the realistic ones) were all going on about the 1st Kerry-Dublin All-Ireland in 21 years. [/quote]
Considering the Dubs only got beaten by a point, it wasn’t that unrealistic to hope Dublin might get there.

[quote=WhyOhWhy ]
When Kerry were the only ones guaranteed a place in the final.[/quote]
I presume you mean since they’d won their semi, rather than some sort of general entitlement.

[quote=WhyOhWhy ]
The Herald and the other rags hyped it to fook: 3 days to go etc etc. Its a shame as Kerry would have pumped the Dubs after yesterdays performance.[/quote]
Easy to make claims about something that won’t happen.

[quote=WhyOhWhy ]
Similarities abound between the Dubs and the english soccer team in the world cup: untested in midfield, a forward line reliant on one player, a media that believed they were one of the top three, beat some poor teams (sweden, ecuador, offaly and westmeath), some dodgy substitution decisions and eventually humbled by a team that could actually play the game.[/quote]
Where are the Frances, Italys, Brazils etc that we didn’t play?
We beat the team that beat Tyrone, and beat the team that beat Galway. Just cos they weren’t good enough to qualify to get beaten by us isn’t our fault.
As for our midfield, it was dominant in every game until the semi.
And we made the semis and I’d fancy our chances in a 3rd place playoff, so what’s wrong with the media thinking that we were one of the top 3?

[quote=WhyOhWhy ]
I’d like to think they’ll learn lessons from it, but come next season, it’ll be the same hype and overrating all over again. The one thing Dublin have on their side is time, Armagh are gone for a while, Galway are gone, Tryone have little time left, Kerry will start to slip after this year when O’Se and Moynihan leave, Mayo will slide after this year, Cork are not title contenders at all so there is a title in the Dubs at some stage.[/quote]
So you conclude that Dublin are one of the few title contenders and yet to talk about them as such is just hype and overrating?

The Dubs were certainly overhyped but that’s the Evening Herald for ya. If people are expecting to read a balanced coverage of GAA then they should know by now that the Herald will not provide that. They won’t sell copies by talking about an average Dublin side meeting expectations, they need to sensationalise and they do. I’d never buy the piece of shit rag in the first place so it doesn’t bother me either way. I do find it funny sometimes when the tabloid buying public react to the contents of the tabloids. They’re supposed to be inflammatory.

I don’t think the similarities with England are particularly justified. The midfield was excellent all championship and had an off day yesterday, though it certainly wasn’t helped by moving Ryan out of there. Brogan was excellent yesterday but Keaney certainly had a very good championship as did Sherlock. Cosgrave and Quinn both excelled in individual games. Bonner probably had his best game yesterday I thought, until he too was substituted.

Dublin certainly were in the top 3 teams in the Championship this year, I don’t know what teams you’d pick ahead of them. I do agree that they made poor decisions on the bench yesterday and that they weren’t really tested before but I’d liken them more to Germany in the World Cup than to England.

Anyway, does anyone else agree with tommymoore that Dublin shouldn’t have gone to the Hill when they came out. Not what the rules say or what was agreed or anything… just if you were in charge of that team would you have gone elsewhere?

[quote=therock67 ]
The Dubs were certainly overhyped but that’s the Evening Herald for ya. [/quote]

Incidentally I’ve never read the Herald so in arguing that the Dubs weren’t overhyped I’m just talking about general media coverage.

[quote=iamthelaw ]

[quote=WhyOhWhy ]
… most of the fans (except the realistic ones) were all going on about the 1st Kerry-Dublin All-Ireland in 21 years. [/quote]
Considering the Dubs only got beaten by a point, it wasn’t that unrealistic to hope Dublin might get there.

[quote=WhyOhWhy ]
When Kerry were the only ones guaranteed a place in the final.[/quote]
I presume you mean since they’d won their semi, rather than some sort of general entitlement.

[quote=WhyOhWhy ]
The Herald and the other rags hyped it to fook: 3 days to go etc etc. Its a shame as Kerry would have pumped the Dubs after yesterdays performance.[/quote]
Easy to make claims about something that won’t happen.

[quote=WhyOhWhy ]
Similarities abound between the Dubs and the english soccer team in the world cup: untested in midfield, a forward line reliant on one player, a media that believed they were one of the top three, beat some poor teams (sweden, ecuador, offaly and westmeath), some dodgy substitution decisions and eventually humbled by a team that could actually play the game.[/quote]
Where are the Frances, Italys, Brazils etc that we didn’t play?
We beat the team that beat Tyrone, and beat the team that beat Galway. Just cos they weren’t good enough to qualify to get beaten by us isn’t our fault.
As for our midfield, it was dominant in every game until the semi.
And we made the semis and I’d fancy our chances in a 3rd place playoff, so what’s wrong with the media thinking that we were one of the top 3?

cant figure out this multiple quote thing (how do you do it?)

yes, ye were beaten by a point, but ye were 7 points up at one stage and the general consensus prematch, seemed to have been, Kerry-dublin final, end of story. (i had dubs asking me for final tickets all last week)

On yesterdays performance, the lack of competition previously against the dublin midfield, and the second half falling asleep against westmeath, Kerry would have pumped Dublin.

Not a general entitlement, we are in the final.

Dublin will be title contenders in a few years ( i said at some stage), not this year, talking about them winning the thing this year when they still had to play a semi-final and hadn’t played a decent team yet, is overhyping them.