Isn’t there 500k unemployed in Ireland?
I’d say ex construction workers would be a big part of that. They are hardly going to retrain as software engineers.
Isn’t there 500k unemployed in Ireland?
I’d say ex construction workers would be a big part of that. They are hardly going to retrain as software engineers.
Couldn’t believe the amount of unemployed people in the Masterchef auditions last week. Don’t think any of them were construction workers either. As you say though, everyone I know who needed a job has re-located and got one. My social life has taken a massive hit as a result.
What’s happening with this bird in your office?
There’s a work do coming up on Friday week. I’ve decided she’s fairly ugly but has a cracking figure and wears nice outfits so I’m going to try and get stuck in. I even chanced a slightly risque comment last week when I across her in the corridor. It went down splendidly.
Ah lovely. We are simple creatures really us men.
Friday week is a long way off, Thraw, I’d expect you to have coaxed her into the surprisingly roamy disabled jacks long before then.
I expected better from you SS… This is foreplay, and the longer It’s played out the better the result. Your suggestion, basically A quick finger and subsequent dart, will not suffice here.
A pale shadow of what it once was due to severe lack of options. I’d a better social life when I was poor. I have way more friends abroad now than I do at home. 10+ in Oz, 3 in NZ, 5+ in the UK, 3 or so in UAE, 1 in Holland, Spain, Germany, France and bizarrely enough 2 in South Korea. A lost generation, with another 3 talking about heading in the new year.
On the plus side the first of my weekend breaks in Europe is in October to Holland to crash with your man. I’ve my eyes on a Holland, France, Spain road trip in the new year which would be a cheap way to see a bit of Europe.
your playing a blinder Thrawneen. Is there any other decent bird in the office? Chat her up first at work party and then the butterface will pounce on you when she gets a chance to get one over on the other one. Women are a strange species but very predictable.
There’s one hot one alright but she’s from Cavan and is too much of a sqwuaky country type so I don’t find her attractive whatsoever as soon as she opens her mouth. Friday week should hopefully be a tap-in.
mate you have plenty of friends on the internet. Are the ones in South Korea teaching English? I know a few out there doing it, seems to be an extension of college out there partying like rockstars.
I thought the social life when I was back in Ireland on holidays this year was shocking. Granted there was family stuff and weddings etc to go to but general saturday nights were fairly poor. Was out in Ennis one Saturday night, back 5 years ago a Saturday in Ennis was a great night. Now its shite. Town was empty til around eleven and even then there is a generation gap - teenager and those in their 30’s. Serious lack of talent around too. A small pool if you are single it seemed. I cant understand some people at home though, living at home or near home so they can call by for dinners and getting the washing done a couple of time a week. Hoping to be kept on permanent in some crap job, fuck that shit. These are single people too, in fairness those with families prob feel the need to stay more. On that note, congrats to the TFKer with a baby on the way.
Galway has still great pubs but I definitely know more abroad now than I would at home. I’m gone nearly the bones of pushing on 5 years now I suppose but thought in Galway anyway Id bump into a few I knew. There is the odd lad still doing a masters or phd but those that are working seem to have settled down ridiculously so. Getting a lad out for a round of golf or something was a battle. From teams I played underage with, maybe 2 or 3 still playing for the club. The majority are in Aus though. Think there was 5 of us from an underage hurling team who bumped into each other fairly randomly in a pub in Bondi recently. One thing I would take from the Aussies though is that they will travel anywhere at the drop of a hat. A five hour flight to Perth for a long weekend is nothing for them. If I ever moved back to Ireland, Id be heading off to Munich to see Bayern play or Milan etc just for weekends. The Aussies always say it must be great to live in Ireland or particularly London as you can fly to loads of places within a 5 hour radius. I never really thought like that when I was in London but think its definitely worth considering.
Village mentality, all too prevalent in rural Ireland unfortunately.
mate you have plenty of friends on the internet.
:lol: cheers KIB, might have a few beers with the internet next weekend.
Are the ones in South Korea teaching English? I know a few out there doing it, seems to be an extension of college out there partying like rockstars.
Ya SK is supposed to be unreal craic altogether a shitload of Irish out there. It’s something different anyway.
I thought the social life when I was back in Ireland on holidays this year was shocking. Granted there was family stuff and weddings etc to go to but general saturday nights were fairly poor. Was out in Ennis one Saturday night, back 5 years ago a Saturday in Ennis was a great night. Now its shite. Town was empty til around eleven and even then there is a generation gap - teenager and those in their 30’s. Serious lack of talent around too. A small pool if you are single it seemed.
Ya the local towns are gone to fuck. Going home is completely depressing now. Sweet fuck all going on around the place.
I cant understand some people at home though, living at home or near home so they can call by for dinners and getting the washing done a couple of time a week. Hoping to be kept on permanent in some crap job, fuck that shit. These are single people too, in fairness those with families prob feel the need to stay more. On that note, congrats to the TFKer with a baby on the way.
It seems to me that lads that never got away for college or whatever can’t see any life outside their little square. I suppose going to college or moving away from home for work or whatever is a real eye opener to what life could really be like.
what shits me is the way some lads go on about how shit Ireland is, noone goes out anymore, going to leave as soon as x,y,z happens etc etc,
fuck sake life is passing them by. get out and start living it.
The good thing about Aus is that for a load of lads that used work in construction and are now here, this is their first time away from home pretty much. They wouldnt have gone to college probably or anything like that. Much as I think its crazy that they want to hang together and stick to Irish themed dumps, they love it. Meet people from all over Ireland, throw a dart in some biddy (Irish women seem as gamey as fuck here for some reason), loads of cash to blow, rub and tug shops on every second street - its like the recession never happened. As much as people will criticise them, fair play to them for making the move at the same time.
get on those internet dating sites as thrawneen as said. couchsurfing.com is another one. the yanks use it like crazy. supposed to be a great one for getting your hole.
again there is far more of a pick in sydney but there is lads i know going on 2 or 3 dates a weekend out of it. You might get one ride out of it, every 2nd weekend anyway.
So it’s basically like breaking in a pair of new shoes every other week. How bad. [quote=“KIB man, post: 285435”]
get on those internet dating sites as thrawneen as said. couchsurfing.com is another one. the yanks use it like crazy. supposed to be a great one for getting your hole.
again there is far more of a pick in sydney but there is lads i know going on 2 or 3 dates a weekend out of it. You might get one ride out of it, every 2nd weekend anyway.
I’m living with the bird KIB so I’m not actually that stuck. Have a good few mates in Dublin, I just long for the Haylcon days when twenty or thirty of us would be out together.
is thrawneen the only one riding women on this forum. ffs
my last college house 2006/7 - locations of the 5 - sydney, perth, san fran, london, darwin (I think). We had another 2 stay with us for a lot of it, kind of vagrants at the time - NYC, Dublin (but moving to London)
It would seem that way. I think Bandage rides fat birds ever now and again.