Indeed it is incredible to think of all the people in the sort of 20-33 yrs old age gap who have left the country. There was a big group i used to hang around when i was in my late teens/early twenties. Of these the only lads still in Ireland from a group of say 15-20 are maybe 3-4 and they would be mainly teachers. Of the rest, a load are in Oz, some in the Uk, the rest in NZ, Canada, Holland, Spain and myself in France. How many of these people will never return…
I end up riding plenty of them too, to be fair.
Actually hoping to settle down and get a serious girlfriend soon because emigration has destroyed my social life that much. My best buddies for going on the pull with/hanging out with day to day are in the US and London. The majority of the B team are in Denmark, Australia, Berlin etc. It’s fucking shit. I’d actually say I’m lonely. I know plenty of people, I wouldn’t be stuck for someone to have a beer with like Alan Patridge, but it ain’t the same as lads you’ve known 20 years.
I’ll be your friend
a/s/l?
Did you not enjoy your night in The 51 with us for the Ireland-Slovakia game?
Frankly, I’m disgusted.
I’m not familiar with your on-line dating terminology, but I like Pina Colada’s and getting caught in the rain
I did. That was a plea for a return invite. Should’ve known Jugs was the kinda guy who never calls.
I hope Julio and Thrawneen meet up for a few drinks and really hit it off…
I’ve a good feeling about this one anyway
Maybe ye could meet Clarkey as well and make it a threesome.
I’m of a generation where none of my friends have emigrated, we had a few years to get established in shit dead end jobs and we probably have them for life now. As for KIB’s notion that we don’t make the most of our proximity to Europe and how wayfaring the Aussies are I agree with them, people seem to make a big deal about getting into a plane even still. Flying to Paris is little more than an hour and is often the same price as a train to Cork. I’m going to Stockholm before the end of the month, Warsaw in November…bbbrrrr and Brussels/Antwerp/Ghent in December, all very much budget trips. I just don’t think you’re going to look back and say, “geez I wish I hadn’t travelled so much when I was younger”.
Ghent is a shithole
Bollix. Ghent is one of the most beautiful cities in Europe
Shannonsider will love the van Eyck triptych in the Cathedral. . [quote=“chewy louie, post: 285452”]
Ghent is a shithole
My expectations for Ghent are low Puke, meet a friend, see the Adoration of the Mystic Lamb and find a place to have a coffee.
Anyone here been to Bruges, wouldn’t mind going there some day…
[quote=“The Dunph, post: 285455”]
Anyone here been to Bruges, wouldn’t mind going there some day…
[/quote]Another beauty Of a city. A day would do it Dunph.
It’s like a fairytale
That grimm huh?
:unsure: