Holiday destinations for the accompanied traveller

Most countries are these days!

It’s great for affluent Galwegians to be able to swan off to exotic locations as the beleaguered footballers exit the championship.

Back at home the natives are being battered and bombarded with questions as to what went wrong or why wasn’t XXX introduced. Lads responding through gritted teeth as the Marquis of Didsbury discusses champagne cellars and assorted matters….

Fair play to @flattythehurdler all the same, he’s well fit to pull it off.

He is some tulip tbf to him

Coming to the end of this trip that I planned out late last year and it’s been a hectic one but worth it all. More a holiday for the little wan than myself. Flew over to Paris last Friday and then onto Disney for the few days. Heatwave hit big time on Monday and that night we noticed an allergic infection on daughter’s ear from her earring. We decided to bring her to a doctor on Tuesday (38 degrees) who sorted it out and gave her her first ever dose of antibiotics. Because of the heat we relocated to a nearby shopping centre that was nicely air conditioned and had a Sea Life aquarium. The first day in a few days that I wasn’t soaked in sweat.

Yesterday we took Eurostar to London, did half a day there and took the train to Windsor yesterday evening. Little wan wrecked and lack of appetite from the meds fell asleep en route. When she walked in the door of Legoland, everything changed. Like a new woman.

Put down a savage day at Legoland today. It’s a bit dated I suppose but we thought it was great craic and would be quite manageable for a day trip on a red eye I’d imagine. We did notice a rash developing on her hands and elsewhere so kicked the antibiotics (had asked for ones without penicillin because of a family allergy but they gave us one with). She seems fine without them but will check with our GP on return home tomorrow anyway.

Probably tried to pack way too much in for one week, but that’s all the time we had. There might be no holidays next year as we’ve to change house and money will be tight but the next one is definitely a sitting by the pool sipping drinks type of one.

Jaysus you took a lot on there. Sorry to hear about the hiccup with the illness. Hopefully she bounces quickly. Remember, these are kids who are happy on a jungle gym, don’t try pack it all into one go. Anyway, all happy memories when thought back on.

Lot to be said for the all inclusive in a few years.

We did an all inclusive last year in Lanzarote and it was fantastic. Most relaxing holiday of my life. That’ll be the next holiday. We’re then planning LA for 2028 for Olympics :see_no_evil:

Had a very enjoyable few days in La Rive. Tough going in the heat as was over 30 for the last few days. Campsite was very good and suited our two aged 7 and 5. Defo good to have a car as nearest town (Biscarrosse) was 10 mins drive away. The site itself was beside one of the lakes so could hire pedal boats etc on that and water was very shallow. Was about 20 mins drive to Biscarrosse-Plage which has a savage beach and various activities and restaurants around. There is an adventure park there for zip wire etc. We spent a day visiting Dune de Pilat which was a huge sand dune that was pretty cool and then onto a really nice town called Arcachon. Lots of cycle lanes around as you mentioned but would seem long enough distances to cycle between any areas of note.

Was here last night. Had a superb dinner and walked the promenade after. As good as France gets. A spotless beautiful traditional french town

Heading off to Argeles sur Mer tmrw - staying in campsite very close to town for 10 days and then over to a villa outside Girona for another 5 sharing with two other families. Pit stop in Figueres for lunch and the DalĆ­ museum.
Gonna try chance a stage of the Tour de France on 20 July in Carcasonne but imagine it will be mental?

@Declan_Moffat did you venture down that way for your jollies?

Carcassone is a beautiful little spot. Toulouse, without doubt is my favorite French city. The meaty slab of foie gras in Trevor Brennan’s pub in the city De Danu, is surprisingly of a ridiculous standard.

I’m good pals with Trevor’s cousin but yet to visit said establishment. Trevor’s young fella starts for France v the All Blacks on Saturday morning.

Go for it, it passed through Argeles in 2009 when we were there, some carnival of a procession firing out free merch to the crowd before the peloton passed in a blink of an eye.

I saw it when it passed through Waterford in the watershed year of 1998. Stood on a perch on the quay for two hours waiting for it and then it went past in a blinding flash in about two seconds.

We were in Argeles last year, and heading back again the middle of August.

Make sure you get to Collioure. If you have a hire car it’s only 15 minutes away and absolutely breathtaking. Fire me a PM if you need any specific info on things.

We’re not going until August so I’ll be picking your brain when you get back. From having a look online and using Chat GPT, there are some great little villages for day trips south of Argeles.

We’re there from the 8th- 24th. I’ll be the one wearing O’Neills shorts, a wide brimmed hat and sweating like mad chasing after two kids in Tipp jerseys with English accents.

I’m deeply offended…

You already fixed me up with other info mon ami

Great stuff, we’re going the 16th

Are jerseys not uncomfortable to wear in the heat?