Iād say Mark Fanning is loving that
Davy Fitzgerald has revealed in the local press that Lee Chin (hamstring), Aidan Nolan (back) and Damien Reck (leg) are being left out on Sunday, but could have started if our quarter final status wasnāt already confirmed.
He also said Conor OāLeary would start in goal, and Paul Morris and David Dunne were being rested too.
Finally, he reported that Shane Tomkins has had ankle surgery and wonāt play any part in the league. He hasnāt been able to get that ankle right since last summer and joins Eoin Moore (ankle), Simon Donohoe (broken hand) and Jack Guiney (knee) as the more medium term absentees.
Davy seems to have a great relationship with Brendan Furlong.
I must say Davy sounds very relaxed and positive in that Irish Times interview, no criticism of league formats, seems comfortable with county games in April, seems to have a very positive relationship with the players. Complete lack of drama.
Itās quite unnerving.
Shane Bennett has ruled himself out for the year.
What has that got to do with Galway v Limerick? please stay on topic.
Has he explained why? Personally I think heās made a good call. Heās an unbelievable talent and was in fear of burning himself out I reckon. He needs a year out from hurling to compose himself. We havenāt heard the last from this guy.
A blow for Waterford. Strange timing considering itās likely Derekās last year and their all out assault for the AI. Failure this year would mean next year will be a transitional one youād imagine.
Huge loss to us. Fantastic pace and a great hurling brain. But Iād applaud any chap with the cop on to see a bit of life before the harsh realities set in.
A feast of stick-stick activity sandwiched between bogball obscenities
The bog ball boys must be seethingā¦ Theyāll be at mass for the first game and the last game is too late, theyāll know the result.
I think wexford have kk 's number. Interesting that heās fielded a possibly significantly weaker team. Iām not sure Cody would have done the same. The most successful hurling manager of his era has always had a stamp on them early and often mentality. I wonder what ye would make of it on either side.
FAO of limerick posters. Pearse stadium can be a pain in the hole to get to. Iād leave plenty of time. Donāt be tempted to park anywhere around the ground unless you are sure it is legal. The residents donāt like it and seem to have traffic wardens on standby.
Thereās loads of parking not far away (within a mile).
I suspect thereāll be a big crowd, a lot of galway supporters will also be travelling from east of the river. Donāt get caught out.
If the traffic is brutal, once over the bridge you could consider turning left and going to salthill that way, but Iād just aim to get there early and have a breakfast roll down the prom.
Iād also look at the prom anywhere near leisureland at all as a possible parking spot.
May as well make use of the break for a couple of players, get other ones used to first team action too. Beating them would mean fuck all, better beat them in championship when this game has no consequences.
All games can have consequences though.
Iām all up for resting lads as much as possible having said that.
My preference would have been to play a close to full strength team, as they had an enforced rest last week anyway with the weather.
Maybe a 12+3 type thing rather than the 9+6 heās hinting at. Better to see how the first few back ups get on within the usual team structure than fucking 6 or 7 in together when thereās a less stable platform for them to perform in.
Win with a stronger team and Wexford would finish 1st and could chance resting a few more in the quarter final against 4th in 1B. Lose and we could drop to 3rd or 4th and face a much tougher quarter final against one of the powerhouses, but maybe heās not too pushed about the league. I think we should be going ALL OUT to win it.
Never been to Pearse Stadium before.
Will try and head down early for the roaster carvery, a pint and watch a bit of the Old Firm.
Would, say, The Galway Bay Hotel be within walking distance of the ground if one was to park up there for a bite to eat?
Also Iāve been told there is no bar near the ground - is that correct?
Galway bay or salthill Hotel are both an easy walk, or anywhere on the prom. Just head down the road beside leisureland,between leisureland and the park away from the sea and its ten mins walk tops. Basically any pub in salthill village will be an easy walk. Thereās loads of cut throughs you can walk along. Thereāll be heaps of places to have a pint if youāre happy to stroll ten or 15 mins.
The mrs has the car Sunday ā¦ Train from Cork to Galway - 4 hrs + each way. Bus 3.45 hours each way ā¦ Thatās some doseā¦ The chairman of Munster Toyota RFC was correct - We need a motorway to join Cork-Limerick-Galway.
Or a pair of balls.
When you moving to Limerick?