Hurling Power Rankings

Couldn’t be him. No way he’d have Kilkenny ahead of Wexford and Waterford. He’d tell us Wexford always win v KK and Waterfords extra week will see em hit ground running

Not enough yerrah-ing to be the real @Locke

:joy::clap::clap::clap:

Worse still, the game was on Saturday :joy:

I feel like both moderators have Tipp a bit too high. They’ll soar to first by 2029 but at present they’re 5th. Didn’t win their first home game and still have to travel to PUC and Ennis which doesn’t seem to have been factored in at all.

I’d have Tipp around 4th behind the top 3 dogs in Munster. Waterford 5th, but in a battle for 4th. You couldn’t put a Leinster team top 5.

But only 3 can escape from bearpit of Munster so automatically Kilkenny should go in at No.4. I’d also fancy Kilkenny to beat Tipp or Waterford in championship. I didn’t see them as any great shakes by their own standards but they’ve gone up in my estimation after dismantling Galway at the weekend.

An U12 camogie team would have dismantled us last Saturday in fairness.

They’ll have as good a chance as ever of overturning Cork in Cork this Sunday, particularly if Downey is out. The mental energy must be at a massive low after giving up that 12 point lead against Clare.

I dunno. Cork hung in there, and the sending off was pivotal (and wrong to my eye, it didn’t look like he actually made contact at all). If cork have the character needed to win an aif, they’ll learn and come back stronger and smarter.

Whatever about character, it’s obvious that a number of the Cork players are easily got at and ill-disciplined, and that our full-back struggles with direct ball.

Once Clare get every back fit they are favourites to win another AI, considering their ability to score goals, bench and individual talent.

He’s trying way too hard here, you can’t beat the simplicity of @Locke’s rankings

Limerick are still favourites id say.

Plus you alienate the McDonagh teams at your peril. He was lucky I didn’t go for him the other day outside Dunnes

Sure Cork wiped the floor with Tipp just over a fortnight ago at the same venue. They eased off in the second-half and still won by 10. The cards certainly aren’t in Tipp’s favour still having to go away to Cork and Clare.

Tipp and Clare rope a doped the lads.

We go again lads. The Munster hurling championship didn’t deliver this week, with the Frank and Honest performance in Cork probably the highlight of proceedings. Donol Og calling out Adam Hogan’s bullshit was also very enjoyable.

Leinster happened as well.

1. Cork. Killed off a BACK Tipp in about 5 minutes. The Munster Championship is quickly resembling a bull fight, except one where the matadors cant move and dont have swords and just have to stand there and be gored by an angry Cork bull. The best forward in the country Shane Barrett being missing didn’t matter as they could draft in best striker of a ball in the country Declan Dalton to do wreck instead. Awesome.

2. Kilkenny. Quietly going about their business (very quietly as getting updates on this match was not easy) and already as good as in the All Ireland semi final. Treading water at the moment but they already know they dont need to peak whilst swimming around in the harmless waters in Leinster.

3. Clare. I’m keeping them above Waterford, given that they were missing two all time greats and Conor Cleary Sunday. They are still the All Ireland Champions and they did draw with Cork, but their MARGIN FOR ERROR from here on has evaporated an they need wins. Also, Adam Hogan…

4. Waterford. As per the rankings last week, the genius compiling the rankings did suggest these lads might be good and they are. So SO important that they back this up with another win and finally get out of the round robin. I think they will. Hopefully @Fagan_ODowd didn’t get in too much trouble for breaching the pitch before it was over.

5. Tipp. BACKNESS hit a speed bump on Sunday as potential Cooper helmetted sniper Darragh McCarthy lost the head and struck Sean O’Donoghue in the balls, which had momentarily migrated up to his stomach, getting send off in the process. Tipp then collapsed, then sorta un-collapsed, before a late mini-collapse sealed the deal. Like Clare they are out of road.

6.Limerick. Didn’t play the weekend and the Munster championship’s box office factor was reduced as a result but only drawing to Tipp tells it’s own story. Kiely and Kinnerk out.

1. Dublin. They have a serious record against Wexford. Which is like saying you have a ā€œserious recordā€ of not shitting yourself on a night out. Probably like to be in the Leinster final now, and then a quarter final, and then out.

2. Wexford. Seriously unlucky to lose to Dublin, with a phantom goal being awarded. Played well for most of the game before imploding on the hallowed, eh, dirt and dust of Parnell Park.

3. Galway. Beat Offaly and beat them well. Take THAT Kilkenny.

4. Offaly. Lost to Galway at home despite being a man up. Bit of a reality check. Their home game against Antrim starting to look like a relegation playoff.

5. Antrim. Actually did well against Kilkenny for a bit till Kilkenny shook off the jet lag and started hurling. Look like relegation favourites unless they can pull a rabbit out of a hat.

We have the full round of fixtures done for both Leinster and Munster with all teams having played two (2) games so now is the best time to give a full and educated list of where we are at with the Hurling POWER Rankings…

1. Limerick - Still unbeaten. There was a major trap waiting for them below in Welch Park and they didn’t leave that bother them.
  2. Cork - Just about still in second and I was tempted to put them top but then Limerick do what Limerick do - win games. Hammering seven shades of shite out of Tipp is always a fun thing to witness.
  3. Kilkenny - I know, I know; small county, no industry, nothing but bad land, nothing coming through etc etc, but we have 4 points from 4, most likely 6 from 6 after the weekend, and Leinster is where it’s at lads, let there be no doubt.
  4. Clare - AI champs, got a lesson in Waterford but have Kelly back and Shane on the bench. They’ll mullock their way out of Munster and should beat Tipp.
  5. Wexford - Dark horses! Momentum with them. If they beat Galway it’ll be some craic.
  6. Tipp - big drop for them. The sending off may have been the reason they got opened up by so much but they had their chances too. I just think it’s Cahill who’s the liability for this squad. The game in Ennis makes or breaks this team. Fuck Tipp!
  7. Dublin - Showing great backbone and with four points on the board they are sitting pretty. I would have them higher but I’m nailing my colours to the Wexford post and can’t really go back now. If Galway beat Wexford I’ll drop them and support the Dubs.
  8. Galway - Got back to winning ways but how strong are Offaly really. The game v Wexford could see them dropping down from their cushty eighth or see them rocket up to fifth (probably).
  9. Waterford - unlucky not to climb up after beating Clare and doing okay v the greatest team ever to be funded to much in the history of hurling. I hope they do well in their last two games but winning in PuĆ­C and Thurlas is a tall order.
  10. Antrim - Giving good accounts of themselves. Tough to beat but Davy is still a money grabbing cunt.
  11. Laois - No increase in placings due to being in the McDonagh Cup, for now, but would beat all their neighbours to the north and east tbf.
  12. Offaly - What has gone wrong. Do or die tie v Antrim on the last round of matches. I’d like to see them stay up.

Now that’s what I call proper Power Hurling Rankings.

San Diego Lol GIF by San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance

Proper Senior hurling stuff here