Hurling Power Rankings

Egg on my face. I was shown up today and shown up badly. For the third time this decade, the Cork hurlers went to the All Ireland final yet came home with nothing. And to say it was a togshitting would be an understatement. Cork, white hot favourites and 6 points up at half time conspired to put an Ulster football score up in the second and get absolutely obliterated by Tipp.

The rankings:

1. Tipp. They are back. My dad is from Tipp. He was there today. And by Christ I hope he enjoyed it. Hurling isn’t a league. It’s not about accumulating points. It’s about being the last man standing. It’s about staying in it, timing your run and bringing your best when it matters. And it PAINS me to say it but…Tipp are the best at that. I don’t think this is a great team, but they were great when it mattered. They hammered goals past Kilkenny and then Cork. You only ever have to be good enough to beat what’s in front of you and Tipp were that this year. Congrats to all the Tipp posters.

2. Cork. There are bottle jobs, and then there are bottle jobs. This was the latter. Cork had this game in the palm of their hands, they’d weathered the storm with Tipp’s sweeper and were well on top and then…nothing. When it mattered, all these hurlers we hear so much about went missing. They are a team of downhill cyclists, with the backbone of a jellyfish. I genuinely feel sorry for Pat Ryan as he’s had an horrendous year but the lads on the field…fuck them. They’ll build a tower to rival the Burj Khalifa with runners-up medals the way they are going. ELIMINATED

There’s no runners up medals.
And rightly so.

As Galway were the only county to regularly threaten the Tipp goal, you’d have to put them #2.
Like their hurling.

Ahem

He’ll do a lory meagher one if you ask nicely

No one challenged Tipperary more in the All Ireland series than Laois

I think you mean threatened.

Correct, Galway are shite

I don’t know who’s thicker tbh. You or the gimp that liked this :slightly_smiling_face:

I think as the only team that Tipperary didn’t beat this season, Limerick should be second on the power rankings.

They drew with the All Ireland champions in fairness

Fairly on the money

Wexford will be Nicky Rackard before they know it

The moany leprechaun doesn’t like this so he doesn’t….

BOC?

Hurling POWER RANKINGS (kindly sponsored by the IDF)

I hadn’t planned on doing these again this year but I’ve had some angry DMs from a few prominent Tipperary posters (names available on request) who have demanded I throw up an updated list

1. Tipperary: BACK. All Ireland Champions and two from two in the NHL. Everything looks to be going well for the defending champions. Timed their run expertly last year and with their no-risk, catenaccio style of hurling, they’re going to be incredibly hard to beat. Especially now they have fans again. Will be interesting to see how they manage if a ref polices the throw or if their opponents in a big game decide to play BOTH halves of the match.
  2. Cork: Ben O’Conner has seen the fight these lads showed in the dressing room at half time in the All-Ireland final and is wisely trying to get them to channel it towards opponents this year, with EXTREME VIOLENCE. Have the ability to beat anybody on their day, but it’s what happens when it isn’t their day that’s gonna be interesting. No longer carrying a forward but the persistence with Mark Coleman could be their undoing. I think this could be finally be the year.
  3. Kilkenny: Going for 7 (seven) Leinster titles in a row yet still seem somewhat off it. Undone by a freak goal last year but seem to be finding more and more ways to lose All Ireland Semi Finals. And the panel isn’t screaming talent at me right now.
  4. Limerick: Done. Finished. Forget about them. After winning an unprecedented 6 Munster titles in a row they were FOUND OUT last year.
  5. Clare: I have a hunch, a schnake-ing suspicion that these lads could be dangerous this year. I’d go as far as to say I’m WARY on them. Still a seriously powerful first 15 and if they can keep TK and SOD fit and healthy simultaneously, they are a serious problem for anyone. Lohan isn’t a man to half ass things. He very much whole asses everything.
  6. Dublin: Beat the dusty, cobwebbed remains of Limerick last year before being pumped raw by Cork. Hard to access but likely to come out of Leinster again. Have shown an ability to give anyone plenty of it but prone to drop clangers too.
  7. Waterford: I still don’t see it with these lads. I cant see them coming out of Munster. Home games are vital, but they’ll likely have to win both. I just think the other 4 are stronger.
  8. Galway: I see shades of Limerick 2017 off of these lads at present. Creating loads of chances. If it clicks it could click hard but I think it’s a year too soon for them.
  9. Offaly. Stayed up in Leinster and playing division 1A hurling so making progress. At present I think they are better than Wexford.
  10. Wexford: Disaster.
  11. Kildare: Don’t really know. Leinster will be very tough.

DNF: Antrim, Laois

It reminds of a pub in dublin