Hurling - The Hand Pass Rule - a thread

I’d be worried it’s further splintering of the game from intercounty to club though at the same time

More trotting up of the lad who can cut a ball though then. And what about at underage, you’ll just have a heap of lads standing in front of me man cutting it

Why?

It shouldn’t be a free shot at all IMO. As @Aristotle said a sideline from the 21/45 would be a lot fairer

If it’s not a shot at goal you’ll have defenders scrambling balls over the end line ad hoc.

Treating it as an indirect free would work fine, I reckon. You could try a choreographed routine, like Cork at the end game on Sunday, play a targeted ball down the flank or just old style lob it in around the square. Introduce a bit of variety to proceedings.

Going to need a hooter to appease BOC

Hopefully they get rid of all passes to the goalie.

Teams will be more inclined to push up on full back lines at puckout time then. It’s too easy to turn back and “handpass” it to the goalie when they run into trouble at present.

Goalies already get 30-50 posessions a game. That’s more than enough.

And he will have to be the one holding it

I’m just wondering what the retention rate is on deliveries by the keeper after it’s been handpassed back to them?

I’d guess it’s low enough- potentially lower than just going direct on the puckout.

Absolutely shite I’d say, a pure sign of a team with no ideas

Goalies on poorer teams typically langer the ball down the other end where the stronger backs out muscle the smaller, quicker forwards.

I’d be wary of an outright ban on passing the ball to the keeper. But maybe this craic of keeper running out towards the sideline to take a pass could be removed.

Something like keeper can only receive a pass in the large parallelogram and cannot receive a back pass straight from a puckout.

Overhead like a tennis serve

I think shinty has a similar way of restarting play

The Pa Collins flea flicker must be outlawed

I’m curious as to why you would be wary of fully outlawing passes to the goalie.

I’d prefer to keep any new rule changes as simple as possible.

Would it not encourage teams to double down on letting the bad corner back have the ball and drop off him?

This would seem to be the key.

Start there and make the other alterations as required.

Exactly. If a fella is being fouled give him the free not a heap of extra steps. A free is pretty much a guaranteed point anywhere within 70m

Teams would be more inclined to press the bad corner back once he gets the ball if he can’t go back to the goalie.