Myself and herself did a night in the Skellig in Dingle last weekend.
A giant meh from me.
Basic generic hotel bar, dated room (I believe they are older ones and some are newer) shower was inside in the bath ffs, very very average breakfast (reckon the sausage was gone off, twas inedible anyway whatever was going on).
Pool was grand, but again very old.
Bar was a rob as well. €18.50 for a pint (IPA tbf) and a wine.
4 star me bollix. If it wasn’t in Dingle you’d have never heard of it. €260 for the night with breakfast, the way it’s gone these days that’s not bad I suppose, but you’d get a vastly superior B&B for a lot less
Dingle remains a special place, we had an unreal meal in fish box which was up there with any restaurant you could eat in.
It’s a captive market as the only standard hotel in the town (the rest are mostly bars/restaurants with rooms upstairs). But agree with your comments. Found it fairly basic. We used it as a handy spot to let the kids play in the big lounge areas while having a quiet drink and paid to use the pool on a rainy day. Guinness was decent though from what I recall and food was standard pub fare.
Keith Barry is a big fan and stays there very summer but even he would decline to say it’s absolutely magic.