Ireland-England, Friday 2.30pm

Arrogant quotes from Ed Joyce. Hope we get him early and celebrate in his face. Belittling lads he was playing with only 18 months ago:

‘All the minnows can create a lot of problems if they get on top of you, but if you get on top of them they have not got a lot to come back with,’ he said.

‘We’ve shown that against Canada and Kenya and hopefully we’ll also show that against Ireland as well.’

Id give the coont a cricket bat accross the face after that comment.

Yeah he’s some prick isn’t he. Irish cricket is far better off without him.

Its not the first time that fucker has come out with such shite. I hope they smash his face with a few nasty bouncers. What a piece of wank.

Bandage I demand you burn the geansai, or at least take the name off.

I’m getting more and more annoyed by English attitudes in the run-up to this match. This is from today’s Guardian:

Big debate: do cricket minnows deserve to play in the World Cup?
Ireland captain Trent Johnston and former England bowler Jonathan Agnew argue the toss on the issue.
Guardian Unlimited
March 28, 2007 12:55 AM

Trent Johnston
Captain, Ireland’s World Cup team

Before we came out to the Caribbean people were saying that we didn’t deserve to be here and we would be an embarrassment. Now we’ve reached this stage of the competition, they’re saying we’re going to be humiliated in the Super Eights.

I am not going to argue that we will cause more upsets in the vein of our victory over Pakistan; we know that we’re playing the best guys in the world now but we have to be given some recognition for what we have achieved.

People are overlooking our performances in the tournament as a whole if we are being criticised for a lack of consistency. I don’t think you can argue the win over Pakistan was a freak, one-off result. We had a hard-fought battle with Zimbabwe that ultimately ended in a tie and we beat Inzamam-ul-Haq’s side fair and square. We actually put in a good performance against West Indies even though we lost. Admittedly we came up against Shivnarine Chanderpaul and we couldn’t find an answer to him but we learnt from that. We also beat Canada in the warm-up games and lost by 35 runs to South Africa. I’m extremely proud of our guys.

Pakistan are undoubtedly a world power in cricket but they lost two of their group games - the other to West Indies - so they are out of the tournament. We deserve our spot in the Super Eights on merit. Sport is about competition - winning and losing. How can you justify taking that away?

We feel that the worst thing we can do now is go and perform badly and lose the momentum in these six games, starting against England. I’m 32 years old and I have learnt so much at this tournament, so it is obviously even more beneficial for some of our players who are only 20 or 21. To stop non-Test-playing nations such as ourselves competing at the World Cup would deny them the opportunity to improve. You have to play against the best.

Making our debut in the World Cup has given us a chance that we might not otherwise have had to show that we are competitive. We can play Scotland and Holland as often as we like but we are not going to maximise our potential that way. Those two countries would say the same. Scotland may have gone out but they learnt a huge amount from their experience of playing Australia and you cannot put a value on that.

We know that we’re not suddenly going to be able to go and play Test series against Australia and South Africa but we need to get ourselves into a position - the political situation notwithstanding - where we can play teams like Zimbabwe and Bangladesh.

I’m not saying that will happen any time soon but our performances here have shown that we are competitive enough to do so, which is why it is so important to maintain our momentum in the Super Eights.

Surely part of the aim of the cricket World Cup is to encourage people to play the game - whichever country they are from. Cricket does not have a high profile in Ireland but, because of our success in reaching the latter stages, people who live in strongholds of Gaelic sport will be watching us take on England come Friday. That is fantastic in terms of promoting the game in Ireland and getting more people involved in cricket.

Jonathan Agnew
BBC cricket correspondent and former England bowler

I am simply being honest and reflecting what most people who come to a tournament with an impartial view want in saying that the World Cup should be a really memorable event. That means you need a standard of cricket that encourages people to take up the sport - the best teams should be competing against each other at this second stage. When it is beamed around the world into someone’s living room, it should make them say, yes, that’s a great sport, let’s go out and play it, as happened after the Ashes 18 months ago. I don’t want to see international cricket where games are tedious one-sided affairs played in empty grounds.

In one-day cricket with a white ball, dodgy pitches and unpredictable conditions out here, every dog will have its day. In a foreign clime some teams take longer to get into their stride and they are inevitably going to be embarrassed once in a while and that is what has happened.

India v Pakistan is one of the highlights of any cricket tournament. People who have bought tickets for the Super Eights match in Barbados will now see Bangladesh play Ireland. We have already seen three or four games with directors trying not to show swaths of empty seats. Four years ago, when Kenya got through to the Super Sixes, largely because of political issues, I went to the matches and there was almost no one there. India and Pakistan are the powerbases of the Asian game and it is not good for the promotion of cricket that they are out of the competition at such an early stage.

The smaller teams, the associate countries, are not good enough, consistently enough to make it worthwhile for them to be involved at this point. The presence of Bangladesh and Ireland means that it will take an outstanding set of results to prevent the four teams who took two points from the group stage from trundling through to the semi-finals. I certainly do not think Ireland will win another game, while Bangladesh will probably beat only the Irish. This means there are fewer teams who are capable of taking points off the likes of Australia and New Zealand. India and Pakistan would have presented a far more difficult task and provided a more open, compelling competition.

I am not trying to insult Ireland and Bangladesh. In fact, I hesitate before calling Bangladesh a minnow because they are better than that. I want everyone to be able to play cricket but they can do that in tournaments such as the Champions Trophy or Twenty20 competitions. The World Cup is the pinnacle of cricket and it should be the best possible shop window for the game.

That has not been the case at the past three World Cups. I really believe we should revert to a version of the 1992 format - a brilliant tournament - where every team simply played each other and the best four teams went through to the semi-finals. A good compromise, which would also reduce the time the World Cup takes, would be for the 10 Test-playing nations - provided Zimbabwe’s political situation is resolved - and two qualifiers to all play each other to try to reach the last four.

What a first class prick Agnews shows himself to be with those comments:

Ireland didn’t just finish ahead of Pakistan because of a freak result. If that was the case they’d have finished behind Zimbabwe. Ireland produced two results from their three games which proves how worthy they are of a place in the Super 8s. Comparisons with Kenya last time around are unfair because there were political reasons for Kenya qualifying for the latter stages.

Agnew is effectively arguing for a closed shop to be maintained at the top level in cricket. If India and Pakistan want to play eachother in the world cup then they need to produce the results to get themselves into that position. Agnew wants revenue streams to be the overriding factor while the competitiveness of sport takes a back seat.

I certainly do not think Ireland will win another game, while Bangladesh will probably beat only the Irish. This means there are fewer teams who are capable of taking points off the likes of Australia and New Zealand. India and Pakistan would have presented a far more difficult task and provided a more open, compelling competition.

I forgot to highlight this bit of Agnew’s article earlier.

1. I hope we do win another game and I hope it’s against England. That would be sweet.
  2. It seems Agnew is afraid that England won’t qualify for the semi-finals because India and Pakistan aren’t around to beat Australia and New Zeland. No pity for them. They were as bad as Pakistan in the group stages and deserve to start with no points.

Joyce full of praise for Irish squad
Wednesday, 28 March 2007 17:30
Wicklowman, Irishman and now England’s opening batsman. Ed Joyce, born and raised in Bray, says that all the talk of him declaring for England and now playing against Ireland, is getting a little bit frustrating.

Joyce, who has scored recent half centuries in Group Stage wins over Kenya and Canada, met the Irish and English press ahead of playing against and facing many of his friends in the World Cup Super Eight at the Providence Stadium in Georgetown, Guyana, on Friday.

Speaking exclusively to RT Sport’s John Kenny, Joyce said: 'All the talk is inevitable about an Irishman playing for England and now facing Ireland. It’s a little bit annoying as there are others who are in the same situation as me.

‘But I didn’t expect to play against Ireland as I didn’t expect to see them getting through to the Super Eight.’

Joyce, though, is full of praise for his former team mates. He said: ‘They have done brilliantly. If you looked at the group beforehand you would have said that the West Indies and Pakistan would have been the favourites to go through, so it’s a massive credit to everyone involved with Ireland that they have progressed.’

Ireland have surprised many by tying with Zimbabwe and beating Pakistan and the three points Ireland took from the group was enough to send them through to the Super Eight.

Joyce, although surprised that Ireland qualified, credits a fine team spirit in the Irish camp.

He revealed: 'Ireland at times are really confident. They knew that they had a good team ethic and that they were going to do the simple things really well.

‘I know Adi Birrell really well and he is big on fielding and doing the basics really well. They would look to not giving away runs cheaply, fielding well, taking their chances and that’s exactly what they did against both Pakistan and Zimbabwe.’

The 15-man Irish squad continued with their preparations today ahead of Friday’s game in Georgetown. Captain Trent Johnston’s shoulder injury is improving all the time and he should be fit to face England, as will fast bowler Boyd Rankin.

However, there is a concern about David Langford Smith, who had a back spasm on Monday night. He continues to receive treatment and the Irish management say they are very hopeful that he will be fit

Patronising whanker. do the basics well… great team spirit… blah blah blah.

If you’re sick of the talk then stop being a rent-a-quote on the topic ya fool. I think even the pro-Joyceans like Bandage and The Bhoy are coming round on this one.

I hope Joyce fooks off into oblivion after his quotes over the last few days.

The stupid, patronising, arrogant prick.

Fooking cunt.

Cracking stuff Bandage - I knew you’d see the light.

I’d just like to clarify that I still agree with his decision to leave to try to make it as a test cricketer. That doesn’t hide from the fact that he’s showing himself to be a right dickhead over the last few days.

I’ll take that. In the fullness of time I hope you’ll see the real truth. In the meantime an acknowledgement of his prickishness will do.

I hope we turn these pricks over tomorrow. Just saw Vaughan being really condescending on Sky Sports News there too.

I don’t know what’ll be better. Bowling first and putting them under pressure like we did against Pakistan or batting and trying to set them a competitive target that may see them wobble.

Conditions have been poor over the last few days and when it’s overcast it’s always better to bowl first as the ball tends to swing around - see the toss NZ won today that helped them beat the Windies comfortably. Sri Lanka - South Africa was played in Guyana the other day and both teams made over 200 so it must be a decent enough pitch.

Anyway, best of luck to the Irish bhoys.

I’ve an appointment with an emminent eye specialist in Ardkeen, Waterford tomorrow afternoon that will hopefully see (get it?) me getting the all clear to resume contact sports so I’ll unfortunately miss the first innings. Shame.

Fook I fail to see any credence in your stance in support of Joyce Bandage. Even to play test cricket. Maybe if he fooked off to Australia I’d let him away with it(at a push mind), but declaring for England is just unacceptable. Representing one’s country is an honour, not something to be tossed a side for selfish reasons.

Ireland will never, ever succeed at cricket if their best players decide to join a stronger country to further their own careers.

Surely they can play with English counties and still help the Irish national team develop. Afterall it is a pish easy game to play.

It’s old ground but to stay playing for Ireland means a player can never play test cricket.

It’s akin to Shay Given staying at Newcastle. He’ll never play Champions League football.

That’s not true. Staying to play for Ireland means you can’t play test cricket as the archaic situation currently stands.

If everyone continues to switch allegiances we will never have a test team.

If anything is to change then we need all our players committed to Ireland.

It’s like if Declan Browne was offered a job in Killarney and transferred to Kerry. After all he’s done for Tipperary football I don’t think anybody there would begrudge him his move to a better side, where he can play in the latter stages of championships. Joyce’s move is a bit like that except Ed would never have had an opportunity to play test match cricket whereas Browne actually gets to take part in the premier football competition, albeit with a weaker team. If Ed stayed playing with Ireland it would be akin to the likes of Henry Shefflin playing league games only and not taking part in the championship. Of course therefore, considering his ability, I was delighted for Joyce that he’ll probably get to play test cricket this summer and be given the opportunity to establish a career for himself at the highest level. His quotes the other day have pi$$ed me off no end though.

1. Declan Browne has given Tipp years of service, including his best years
  2. Ed Joyce jumped ship at the earliest possible opportunity. He learned his game in Ireland but he’ll give the benefit of that to England.
  3. The more people that make the same decision as Ed Joyce the less chances there are for Ireland to ever play test cricket.
  4. Joyce’s decision is akin to the promising Laois hurlers of a couple of years ago realising they aren’t in the Liam McCarthy so defecting to Kilkenny at 21. If all the Dublin hurlers thought they’d no chance of playing top level hurling (which was very nearly the case) would you hope they all left for Kilkenny or Wexford and hurling died a death here. We’d still be in the league of course but never at the Big Dance - to use one of your expressions.

The Big Dance is to be used for Wrestlemania only. Nothing else.

You use the example of Laois and Dublin hurlers. Say they fall down to the Christy Ring Cup. Even then they know if they win that then they’re back competing in the main All Ireland championship the next year. There is a natural progression back to the elite level.

There is no way an Irish cricketer, who decides to remain representing Ireland, can play top level, test match cricket. If Joyce decided to do that then I’d accuse him of a blatant lack of ambition and a fear of failing at the highest level. I applauded him for having the guts to pursue his dream of playing test match cricket.

And though the World Cup adventure has been great, the fact is at the end of it Joyce will be getting set for a summer of intense test match cricket in England. Had he stayed with Ireland he never would have had that chance. Instead he’d be playing in the Intercontinental Cup Final in Chelmsford against Canada in June.

Every 5-10 days we have the same argument and I don’t see either of us changing our stance. You did well to get me to admit that I thought Joyce was a prick for the comments he made the other day.