Thatās where we need to be better⦠we need to figure out ways that we bring our heritage back to life.
So according to David the young people are voting SF in their droves but also they are leaving in their droves because of Sinn Fein who have never been in government.
Thereās been about 160k units built from 2020 on. Not sure where you are getting this 10% āfor the marketplaceā either.
Hear hear
And if you go all the way back to my original point it was that the uk does a better job of protecting and updating older empty buildings than we do⦠but you and @TreatyStones were just too busy looking for easy likes from a few simpletons to grasp what was said.
Dear oh dear
Why so defensive mate
No what Iām actually looking for is someone to turn shitty falling down buildings into modern accomodation to help the housing crisisā¦use it or lose it
You go back to tugging your forelock to maintain what king George landed into ye and ye couldnāt mind
You think king george was an architect?
Himself and King John left a mark on Limerick that you are desperate to maintain
I like that idea. Was doing a bit of work (stripping wallpaper with a steamer) in a house in Barrington Street in Limerick this week. Itās 5 storeys with about 1200 square foot per floor.
It would easily take 3 families and is right next to a park with a long garden and mews behind it.
The cost of doing it up is completely prohibitive though, youād want at least a million and about half of that just to make it safe. Iād say thatās being conservative.
Fair play for throwing up the link for parsimonious oulā lads like me to read.
BĆŗaladh bos for @Raylan ā¦
@Gman has given some great breakdowns on the prohibitive costs for these jobs.
Also lads will renovate a city center house into a block of units, then a housing body with basically unlimited funds will offer to buy or lease it from them for a premium and the houses never make the open market.
In fairness, the failure in Cruiseās Street with modernisation and letting everything out to the Crescent actually killed the City Centre and took nearly all the character out of it. Cruises Hotel was basically the focal point.
This is one of those occasions where they should have left it. Incidentally, I know a lad who got his head caved in walking up near Cruises St a few years ago. Was lucky to come through it.
Retail is gone, needs to all be living space now.
Funny enough, the fella next to that house in Barrington St, his house is the same but done.
He did something like that, borrowed up to the gills around 2013/2014 and did up a load of houses around town, did as you said then. Think he was selling cars before that. Owns a rake of property.
I think the Barrington St house is his false step though. Thereās a major drug problem on the street and the house I was in next door is wrecked. The house on the other side has a 95 year old woman living alone. There is nobody ever going to take on either of those two houses bar maybe the lady from Perry One across the way. I heard she put in a bid of around 500k, they shouldāve taken it.
So youāre a steamer? I knew itā¦
But yeah, we did a study a few years back, in 80% of cases which were based all over the country, it was more viable to build a new unit in suburbs than it was to refurb town centre units. Its not something owners are going to plough money into, which is why the government need to figure out are they going to subsidise town centre housing or just leave them rot. Leaving them rot seems to be the choice so far.
Older buildings a ballache to do given conservation standards.
Given the Architects wonāt allow some Herbert Simms blocks be rebuilt, fat chance of it.
In the case of one of the Simms blocks they are retrofitting it, but itās losing half the number of apartments in the process. And theyāll pay the same cost as to build a brand new one there.
All to keep the architecture tours happy. Ridiculous waste of land.
Another anecdote, Iām on a town centre refurb project for a county council, making 5 units in some existing abandoned houses. A conservation architect was required, and he has stipulated that the floor joists are to be retained, even though they are completely structurally unsound. So we have to brace each existing joist, and then build a completely new frame of steel and timber joists around these existing ones. The plastered ceiling board will then be fixed to the underside of the new joist, and new flooring on top. There is an estimated ā¬30k extra to do this, to preserve floor joists that are going to be completely encased, unseen and serving no structural purpose at all.
I was actually asked not to use the steamer as it would damage the walls! but twasnt coming off so I made an executive decision to go home, drink Tae, ate a toasted sandwich and come back with my kettle and steamer. If I heard someone coming, Iād pull it out and hide it.
Dead right, theres a huge old house off SCR in Limerick wrecked, heard theyād take 460-480 for house plus site in reality, houses of the size there on the road are making 1.2m albeit at the Fennesseys end where itās where itās quieter but houses have gone for big money down where this is as well.
Every tom, dick and harry has been through and no one will touch it. Auctioneer knows the building game as well and reckons youād want a million to be sure of it. I donāt know whatās going to become of these places. Itās going to be a lovely spot as well as the secondary school are putting playing pitches across from it and building on dock road.