This FG candidate in the Dublin Central by-election Ray McAdam is a woeful turnip.
He’s there on The week in politics committing a mortal sin by talking with his hands and arms in absolutely perpetual motion. Lads who go on like this are immediately marked down as bullshitters with the erratic hand movements designed to distract from the waffle they’re talking.
He’s a prick - a bald royston brady
I concur. I’ve never heard of him before but I’m going to describe him as a patronising, superior, entitled, smug cunt. He won’t win the by-election either, it’s a weak field…
Launching himself all over D7 and he’s getting daggers
The FF candidate John (Joxer) Stephens is an absolute simpleton. He was a few years ahead of me in school. He used to put on an English Bobby’s hat and direct the traffic beside his house on Harts Corner in Glasnevin. He would have been 15 or 16 at the time. No one around these parts can believe he is actually on the ballot paper. You wouldn’t put him in charge of a hen house.
Is the Monk running?
He is
He might get more first preference than FG. Pascal had a large personal vote I’d imagine
He got 5k first preference in last election. That won’t get him elected but its a sizeable vote.
I’ve nothing to add to this but I just felt it needed repeating
He didn’t. He got just over 3000 and benefited from Steensons elimination to the tune of 1,200 ending around 5k in total. If he could get close to 5k in 1st preferences this time he’d have a cracking shot at it. Topping the poll is the key here - get out in front and have them scrambling after you.
Fair play. I was wrong on the Internet. Stranger things have happened. There is a strong ant-establisment vote in the constituency the closer you go to the city.
You describe it like a live race but the votes are cast the result is set?
And we wonder why the country’s in the shape it in.I thouht his lad was a joke candidate but hes already a councillor?
The aontu guy running in dublin is an awful half wit
For quite some time. It’s Bertie’s old constituency. If FF put a tin of Lilt up as a candidate in the local elections it would get elected
Indeed it is, once the polls close the race is run. However errors can and do occur. This is where experienced tallymen and party apparatchiks earn their reputations. A missing box from a rural polling station was uncovered at the death in CW/KK many years ago snatching the final seat from the grasp of the late Jim Gibbons being the prime example.
Nothing beats the pulsing atmosphere of a count centre. A by-election is the most toxic of all where everyone, bar your own team, are your enemy and the gloves ore off from the opening bell…
The main parties are up against it here as you correctly noted. I think the main parties haven’t a pups chance really - winner from the non-aligned section.
SD to lose