Ireland politics (Part 3)

Jesus - the never ending screeching of one Matt Carthy is like a drill bit making its way toward my brain. He’s the most ubiquitous and vocal of them all.

The Cork lads will send POD back quick smart….

It’s actually easier being in a 50/50 coalition as you’ve less front bench spots to fill.

There’s no TD in Cork called O’Donovan :man_shrugging:

What did Senator Noel O Donovan do to you? He’s a former Garda, did you have a run in with him perhaps?

Id say you’re thinkg of that useless cunt from Limerick

splitting hairs mate

Headline is overdoing it a bit but a decent analysis of FF. I reckon they go off a cliff when MM leaves.

Most importantly, the social glue has melted. Fianna FĆ”il’s hegemony was founded on its determination to stick to the Catholic hierarchy. Once it came in from the post-Civil War cold, it learned very quickly that the route to power lay through episcopal palaces. Whatever the bishops wanted – no divorce, no contraception, no abortion, full control of health and education, a blind eye to systemic institutional abuse – the bishops got. This alliance lasted right up to the heyday of Ahern as taoiseach.

The tacit deal gave the party, in return, a rock-solid social and ideological base. The church had immense prestige and overwhelming authority and it lent them to Fianna FƔil as its representatives on Earth.

All of that’s gone: the hierarchy has no spare authority to lend to anyone. What’s left is the ghost of a machine. The system, the organisation, the confraternity of local belonging, still has a vestigial existence. It can get a vote out.

Or can it? Certainly not in Dublin Central where the unfortunate Fianna FĆ”il candidate often seemed to be dancing alone. The Green Party has been on the floor: devastated and almost annihilated in the 2024 general election. On Friday, it got out three times the number of voters that Fianna FĆ”il managed to entice to the polls. That’s grotesque, unbelievable, bizarre and unprecedented.

If the machine is so rusted that it would struggle to be sold for scrap, what’s left? A fear of frightening the multinational geese and their golden eggs. A general sense that MicheĆ”l Martin is a decent sort. A muscle memory of the way power used to work in this State.

their anti people on bikes agenda coming back to haunt them

I wonder how Gary Gannon feels about having a second Soc Dem TD on his patch, they’ll hardly both keep their seats next time out.

Monk would get fourth seat here if by election vote is repeated in a general . Provided Steenson vote holds

Anyone who can capture both the racist vote and the voters who love a criminal, would get elected at the next election.

Free drugs for everybody

They get that already!

Are you getting free drugs?

You often come across like you are?

I pay my taxes and get damn all free…bud.

You’ve contradicted yourself there.

https://www.thetimes.com/article/5142109e-cf48-400d-9318-34e52c11ebcen?shareToken=4d6619c73a028c84d3def77f1f50e1c7

Is there much interesting in that?

2011 was their holy shit moment. I don’t think the Church has been a significant driver of them since the 1980s, which was 40 years ago.

Really Tim?