Ireland politics (Part 1)

True, but conservatism by and large is based on (sometimes harsh) reality, whereas modern liberalism is out of touch with reality.

I’ve forgotten more US history than you will ever know mate.

Since WWII, when the US had to come to Europe’s aid to defeat the internal monster that was devouring it, the US has defended capitalism as the preferred economic system (for all it’s flaws, preferred to the disastrous alternatives). Have a look at the countries that pursue capitalism as their economic system and those that don’t. and ask yourself where you would like to live.

Hint. The welfare pretty much sucks in the alternatives.

Just stop mate ffs. They’ve happily supported dictators with socialist or protectionist policies when it suited. It has absolutely nothing to do with defending capitalism the world over and everything to do with allowing US capitalism to generate the most profit possible at whatever countries expense is nessecary

What socialist dictators has the US supported?

Capitalism benefits all countries who embrace it, what do you think an actually socialist Ireland would be like?

You’re a bad wum.

Varadker is an awful gobshite.

You cant print a bad word about him sure ffs.

At least there’s only one of me, unlike your multiple personality disorders.

Fake news.

Lads have they laid a glove on Leo yet?

The most bizarre thing about it is he was getting an absolute media love in up to that point.

Me neither, but a decent paper should have both. Journalism should be as impartial as reasonable behaviour allows. Opinion pieces are, by definition, not, but they should always be well reasoned, and backed by fact. Well written and reasoned opinion pieces are the main reason to buy a paper. Journalism, well if it’s well written also, but bare news facts can be found everywhere. Here is as good a place as any for a bit of both in truth.
Both should be treated with a sceptical mind.

The IT certainly is an echo chamber. Any dissenting voice is tokenism

A huge issue for journalism is that a lot of people are not willing to pay for it any more .

I agree to an extent.

But it isn’t actually true that the facts can be found everywhere. That trial had newspapers constantly editing and updating pieces after they went out because of lousy reporting/ original editing. The IT pushed certain headlines as well, which is a clear agenda.

There has been a marked decline in the quality of reporting in the IT in recent years. To be fair, that is a problem with newspapers the world over with reporting not paying the bills, but it is supposed to be a quality newspaper.

The New York Times are doing quite well from their subscription model.

Do you think it has declined in standard, or we are getting older and more rigid (and more critical by and large)?

It is the rush to be first and to have a gripping headline.

As so much of their content now goes on the Twitter dump, they need something eye catching. People don’t visit websites directly as much and they don’t just go in to buy the Irish Times (having catching headlines/visuals was always more of a Tabloid game).

I also think the quality of reporting has declined because young students/journalists have the Twitter outlet there for themselves that allows them to become Opinion writers overnight. It isn’t stuff that is going into an editor or a teacher to be corrected, but stuff to appeal to their tribe. Do they get out there and report on stuff, or do they just wait for citizen journalists to post stuff up or the latest academic report they can run stuff off?

Top story on RTÉ.

The Irish media is in a very healthy place.

https://www.broadsheet.ie/tag/unusual-claims/

A judge was shown this photo of Alan Farrell taken in Skerries, County Dublin in August 2015 at a time when the Fine Gael TD claimed he suffered ‘painful neck and shoulder injuries from a car accident caused by a spider’ three months earlier.

Fair play to him, you can see the pain in his face, unreal dedication to public office and the retention there of.