Ireland's Greatest

So wonderful to put O’Donnell, O’Driscoll and O’Leary side by side. Three smug heads deserving a slap.

Brian O’Driscoll is a legend and a gentleman.

Sir Anthony Joseph Francis O’Reilly’s omission is the biggest shock here

I would imagine the fact he insists on being called “Sir” would mean he is a British citizen 1st and foremost?

ah no he’s not , that was just a clever ruse by a few cute hoor business men from ennis trying to generate a bit of business.

Great coup though…

if i were you i wouldn’t engage with wtb in discussions about nationality! as said earlier he probably disputes heaney etc being on the list.

hmmm

what a disgusting list

suppose it’s small consolation that the uber cunt ahern isn’t on the list

I’m making it bearable by seeing which three I’d like most to suffer connolly’s fate

Ger Loughnane…lock this thread

The top 10 (in alphabetical order)

Bono
Dr Noel Browne
Michael Collins
James Connolly
Stephen Gately
John Hume
Phil Lynott
Padraig Pearse
Mary Robinson
Adi Roche

Incredible. No Dev, Wolfe Tone, Parnell, Daniel O’Connell, Yeats, Wilde or Joyce

but

Stephen Gately and Adi Roche

and to a lesser extent

Noel Browne and Bono/Lynott (should only be one of these if any).

some of the names been proposed by the sans cullotes on here are as laughable as the list itself - luke kelly can hold a tune- big fuckin deal- that doesnt make him the greatest Irish person ever- patrick kavanagh is seen as a decent poet in an Irish context but he wouldnt be well read worldwide & rightly so-daniel o’connell ffs - a sectarian bigot* & a unionist

names i would go for would be Tone, Emmett, the leaders of 1916, bobby sands

apart from our patriot dead who deserve to be there for ridding some of Ireland of colonialism there have been very few Irishmen of note on the world stage - robert boyle & arthur wellessey

*according to connolly

Can’t agree with you there mate.

fair enough- maybe i was a bit ott in a bid to strengthen my point

Twouldnt be like you. :blink:

Mary Robinson - what the fook?

Walk around nodding your head for 7 years and you can become one of the greatest Irish people ever.

Fair play to Gately - I hope his new book for children is a cracker.

Like a tuc? Yeah a tuc would be good.

In fairness to Robinson she was standing up for minorities for years and did good work in her limited capacity as President.

She is the token female of course but how Adi Roche makes it alongside her is anyone’s guess.

She should have sat the fook down.

I have it on good authority * that Roche arranged a voting circle for herself, akin to Irelands got Talent or something of that ilk.

Gately being there is a fucking joke and further proof that the pink vote is becoming far too strong in this country.

*This may be completely made up.

Mary Robinson got condoms legalised so she’s had a direct and practical influence on members of this forum’s sex lives (or lack of them). She also had a candle in the wind(ow) of Aras an Uachtarain when she was President to “remember the diaspora”. I always thought that it was a potential fire hazard due to the presence of net curtains around it, but there you go, people just do not think sometimes.

Still overall, an alright sort for a woman.

Bandage NCC and Flano in two fingers to the diaspora shocker :o