Irish soccerball nil - That boy Bazunu will save us (Part 1) šŸ

McCarthy has said he sees him as a midfielder, and that he would build a team around him in that position.

Maybe John Delaney should ask Martin Glenn to extend the premiership to 21 teams and let all the Paddies (pretend or otherwise ) start their own club

How is the DISC (Dublin International Sports Council) proposal for Wimbledon FC to move to Lansdowne Road coming along these days? Chairman Jonathan Irwin was most enthusiastic and confident that it would happen, but I still have my doubts.

yes Fitzy things are looking up
we have national leagues now from u-13 upwards and plan is to get lads staying here and playing LOI before then going abroad
the model of 3 or 4 dublin schoolboy clubs plus one in cobh sending lads to the UK at 16 to be honest wasnt really working, you get lucky with a few Stephen Ireland, Robbie Brady, Hendricks but most players born here who have been relatively successful over there of the current era Long, Macclean, coleman, dochety and back to keane, doyle etc played LOI first, now the LOI clubs need to bring these players thru their systems, time will tell of course. I was talking to Stephen Macphail the other night and he was telling me that there are habits lads learn by 16 that they just cannot get rid of and no coaching will coach it out, In ireland we never put any faith in coaching from 17 upwards - it was done by 16 - if you hadnt ā€œmade itā€ by then you went off to play AUL of if you were half decent MSL/LSL, League of Ireland was for failures x- channel and hatchet men from Dublin, Cork and Derry , LOI teams only had a first team , that was it - now we have a developement path and it is time for us to put faith in our coaches to do that
Ruud Dokter is bringing thru that belgian model where their Juliper League is basically a feeder league for Europe - we need to be self sustaining, and that comes from producing from home - we can keep picking up the andy townsends, etc more the merrier but we need to sustain from home,
Stephen kenny wants to take the u-21s to the Toulon Tiournament and wants to get games where he is squad has a large home based presence, noel king preferred to pick Rhys Greco Cox ( cc @Tassotti ) because he was playing with Crawley and in that regard had ā€œmade it over thereā€ - lads this is the language you here in football.
im confident weā€™ll be decent in 10 years- competition in sports is holding us back , KDSL are putting in an u-13 side ( im no longer involved with my north kildare club ) but i was told already there is a ā€œbanā€ - you want to play u-13 KDSL national - then there is no gah allowed, dropped, that cant be right at 13

Rugby is a strange sport, supporters with their head up their holes a lot of the time,old boys club etc etc,lot of plamas, wonā€™t get that shite at a GAA gathering,or at a LOI game/ venue,a lot of pretentious crapšŸ˜and hangers on

this is encouragingā€¦
no place for Rhys Grego Cox from the crawley reservesā€¦ @Big_Dan_Campbell wont like that cc @Tassotti
Faruguia is / will be some player lads

Republic of Ireland Under-21 Manager Stephen Kenny has named his squad for a February training camp.
The majority of the U-21 training camp squad has been selected from the SSE Airtricity League with two players selected from the Northern Irish Premiership in Crusaders striker Ronan Hale and Linfield striker Michael Oā€™Connor.

All of the players are eligible for the upcoming UEFA U-21 European Championships campaign, which starts in March against Luxembourg at Tallaght Stadium.

Shamrock Rovers have had three players called up with nine different SSE Airtricity League clubs represented in the squad. There are call-ups for Sligo Rovers centre-back John Mahon, Cork City defender Conor McCarthy, St. Patrickā€™s Athletic midfielder Jamie Lennon and also included are the UCD trio of Conor Kearns, Liam Scales and Neil Farrugia.

The training squad will take on the Ireland Amateur team in a friendly game at Whitehall Stadium on Wednesday, February 6 at 19:45.

Kenny has also named his backroom team for the upcoming campaign. Keith Andrews, former Ireland international who is part of the current FAI UEFA Pro Licence course, will become assistant coach alongside Jim Crawford, who leaves his role as Ireland Under-18 Head Coach. Former League of Ireland winner Dan Connor will continue his role of goalkeeping coach with the U-21s.

Damien Doyle will join as the Strength and Conditioning Coach, Gary Seery comes in as Performance Analyst with the medical staff being Ronan Kearney, Team Doctor, and Kevin Mulholland, physiotherapist.

Kenny has also announced that the U-21s will take part in the 2019 Toulon Tournament. Ireland have previously competed in the tournament six times and will travel to France in June.

Republic of Ireland U-21 Training squad
Goalkeepers: Conor Kearns (UCD), Ross Treacy (Dundalk)
Defenders: Andy Lyons (Bohemians), Darragh Leahy (Bohemians), Conor McCarthy (Cork City), Trevor Clarke (Shamrock Rovers), Liam Scales (UCD), John Mahon (Sligo Rovers).
Midfielders: Dan Mandriou (Bohemians), Will Fitzgerald (Limerick), Aaron Bolger (Shamrock Rovers), JJ Lunney (Waterford), Jamie Lennon (St. Patrickā€™s Athletic), Brandon Kavanagh (Shamrock Rovers), Robbie McCourt (Bohemians).
Forwards: Ronan Hale (Crusaders), Neil Farrugia (UCD), Michael Oā€™Connor (Linfield), Will Fitzgerald (Limerick), Zach Elbouzedi (Waterford), Karl Oā€™Sullivan (Limerick).

Kennyā€™s first big mistake is getting Keith ā€œDonutā€ Andrews involved. Hopefully, in something akin to Brexit, Kenny getting the senior job will never happen.

Did you read his interview with Paul Kimmage at the weekend?

Utterly tedious

i have no reason to doubt Andrews as of now
he needs to be tried in coaching, his integrity and motivation are sound
most footballers past/present are complete and utter simpletons and thatā€™s accepted so to make a judgement based on his appearances on TV as to how you think he will play out in this roll is probably unfair

Iā€™m mainly basing it on Andrews being very rude to @RaymondCrotty.

the fella with the women in Cambodia?

Call @Tim_Riggins

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/boost-for-ireland-as-bayern-munich-wonderkid-ryan-johansson-pledges-international-future-to-boys-in-green-37752002.html

Fantastic news.

Spock never rated Dylan Connolly and wouldnā€™t pick him preferring mick Duffy.
Connolly is making clean shit of those apes in the West ham defense here and has now switched wings. . Itā€™s like his bray season in 2016.

Good to see 2 Limerick lads in the squad. Karl Oā€™Sullivan is only 18 as well.

Bloody playing great tonight v West ham

Big Mick factor

I see mungretā€™s William Fitzgerald made it on the double and changed name to Will in the process

Oh Franno

This presents a conundrum for the soccer crowd who regularly use Franno as a valued source in debates here