Irish Olympian Alert Thread

The Dubs will bate the flour bags and we will be grand

This is arguably the biggest story in the history of Irish sports.

Rhys is the pommel horse champion of the British Empire. BELIEVE.

I’m blaming those RTÉ cunts last night with their “super Sunday” talk putting a jinx on it

Paddy doesn’t do overconfidence. See rugby team in World Cup.

Which world cup?!! :wink:

Rhys needs to get back on the horse

Tom Barr up in the next few mins I think

I hope Ciara does justice to herself for Jerry

Sarah is one for the future

What’s the story with Padraig’s cousin Kellie ?

Don’t think he has a cousin called kellie. He has a cousin called Joey, the nfl player.

He has a cousin who was once a world series of poker winner.

And the Eurovision

She was arrested for kicking young wans in the fanny in Limerick

She might go onto score a length of field wonder goal in a Munster final yet so

Andrew Coscoran running in his 1500 metres semi-final NOW.

A game run by Coscoran but he was run out of it on the home straight.

Rob heffernan opined that we as a nation should be looking to develop technical sports like walking.

What child ever said to their parents “I want to join a walking club and be like those odd looking shufflers on tv”. Not joking, but what would make someone choose to take this up. Do they move from other athletic sports to it. As in, a coach would spot potential. How the hell you’d spot the potential I have no idea.
I don’t see the point of it at all.

From my mate - Kenny was doing cross country and 5km races in his teens, and was doing very well. An older coach at club got him to do a few race walks and he excelled very quickly. Once he started training properly, he went up another level.

There are only a handful of lads here who can run the 20km faster than these guys can walk it in severe humidity. Most average runners would be 20-40 minutes behind them over that distance.