this has been called out here before
Arter is a cunt, as is Keane by the way- the former is no loss anyhow
given the situation with long im assuming Graham Burke will start up front even tho he is not a striker
failing that call any of Curtis (if not decalred for NI) / Rooney / Graham Cummins or Hoban into the squad.
is mike duffy finally on board lads?
ah yeah - we’ve been thru that
Maclean/ Wilson/Duffy, etc had no problem standing for GSTQ all the way up the age groups
i guess when you play senior football you want to play for your actual country- Rice is english and wants to play for them
at any level of sport you see rows in training - if this annoyed him its not a good sign anyway and we’re probably better off w/o him
w.r.t. Keane - he is completly out of his depth and shouldnt be involved
we have no one else tho
long - crocked
seani - crocked
burke - will play up front but he is not a striker - he is an attacking midfielder who cuts in off the RHS and has a pop with his left
walters - FFS hasnt played in an age and is on some loan deal to ipswich
there is some lad Robinson in the squad who i have never seen play and played for england to u-21- he’s with preston so the usual standard of shite
so we are going in here with just one striker Walters who dosent play regualar football
Cummins and Hoban are way off it yes but if we are bringing in lads at preston there is not much difference, Curtis was an ok ish LOI striker , i always liked Patterson more at DCFC and now this lad is burning up that lofty league 1…
Curtis, Cummins, Hoban know where the goal is - the welsh back 4 will be plodders also, get one of them in there to fuck,
also- id dump Coleman and start that lad from Bohs Doherty who is at Wolves, see the attacking positions he gets into? way too adventourous for MON tho,
updated 25 man @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy - Burke listed as a striker, is there any hope for these people?
Republic of Ireland squad to face Wales and Poland:
Goalkeepers: Colin Doyle (Hearts), Sean McDermott (Kristiansund BK), Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough)
Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Kevin Long, Stephen Ward (Burnley), John Egan, Enda Stevens (Sheffield United)
Midfielders: Alan Judge (Brentford), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Shaun Williams (Millwall), David Meyler (Reading), Daryl Horgan (Hibernian), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City)
Forwards: Jonathan Walters (Ipswich Town*), Graham Burke, Callum Robinson (Preston North End), Aiden O’Brien (Millwall)
im awaiting the call up of U-21 stalwart and Hammersmith’s finest Reece Grego Cox who has “made it” at Crawley Town…
a load of young lads playing LOI are deemed not good enough to play for the 21s but a lad with an english accent who plays “accross the water” is a shoe in
That must be the weakest set of “forwards” we’ve ever named. None of them are actually even really a striker. Is Walters back playing upfront for Ipswich?
Might be something to be said for starting Doherty and pushing Coleman up or vice versa and sticking McClean up top for the inevitable endless stream of high ball @mickee321?
doherty is excellent
the attacking positions he gets himself into are unreal at wolves … ok ok i know Joao Moutinho is a different operator to myler as well
i dont know could we push Coleman up really- id push him into the bench tbh
kevin Long is genuinely one of the poorest players we have ever had in a squad also
Ward is bang average but gets it done and aside from euro 2012 has rarely been made a show of
Hendricks is in terminal decline since sweden in 2016
that whole useless shower of mullockers are going to be relegated anyway