Irish soccerball nil - That boy Jinky will save us (Part 2)

As Vincent Hogan put it at the time:

It was a tournament that was like a throwback to 1980’s England, with fans running amok in city squares. The Irish though? They chose to sing. It was glorious.

I actually don’t even remember any of that, it was an extremely forgettable tournament

We had Paul Green and St Ledger playing. I wish i could forget it. Spain absolutely slaughtered us. They were magnificent

It was my first experience of an international football tournament with us being involved. I’ll never forget it.

And the night of that game my ceiling caved in to add insult to injury

Moran and sammy on now vs preston. Frantic start

And an injured Shay Given in goals.

I’ll never forget that few minutes in Poznan after we scored a goal. Place went insane

And it’s shoes off for the boys in green, ole ole and a chance to dream, were headin to the euros were takin over France we might get hammered but we’ll take the feckin chance.

Manzducik absolutely done wreck that night

Lads on here walking around Gdansk with underpants on their head sneering at the rugby fans in Paris.

Simon Cox got the nod to start that night too. RTÉ ran a poll just before the Croatia match and I think something like 75-80% of the public thought we’d win. My enjoyment of the only goal we scored at that tournament was ruined somewhat by a phantom whistle in the crowd that made everyone think it was disallowed.

And lads on here get all worked up when the Irish rugby fans get carried away

The highpoint of the 2012 Euros was the TFK Shopping Centre race. Blood sweat and tears shed

2016 was absolutely class.

The few days between the Italian and French games were unbelievable. And for 55 minutes against the French we dared to dream.

Alan Browne is just after scoring an absolute cracker

Last kick of that great Spain team. They’d be a head to head nightmare for any team ever.

He tries very hard, fair play to him. Deserves all he gets.

Touch and finish were out of the top drawer.

Trap with that team 5 or 6 years earlier would’ve been really interesting. Say, the team Kerr had.

If there is one thing to say in defence of Ireland in 2012, we had a bastard of a group.