Irish soccerball nil - Troy Parrott to the rescue (Part 2)

In theory yes, but Fabregas is a Pep disciple. Positional play, possession orientated, extremely demanding. A lot of players hate it.

Troy’s underage pedigree is fantastic, he is well entitled to be doing what he’s doing. I doubt Dixon was as good tbh.

I don’t like saying it but big ev is a more valid (if exaggerated for humourous effect) terry comparison. He has genuinely done relatively fuck all… YET :pray:

Italy hasn’t been good for Evan Ferguson, James Abankwah, Festy, Rob Heffernan’s young lad or Kevin Zefi in recent times so I’d be wary of going there. Portugal, France or Germany would be better.

Maybe going ā€˜abroad’ isn’t the magic bullet we’ve always thought and our lads are better off in digs with Mrs Shaftsbury eating egg and chips for tea

Utter shite. Like someone else said, his agent must be shit. Lads tearing up the dogshit dutch league should be moving to good european sides or at least midtable premier league sides.

Will you calm down with this ā€˜utter shit’ bit and be some way civil. It’s always the same with you.

If the goal of his career is to play in the best league and maximise his earnings, West Ham is a good move.

Unless you’re playing for one of the super clubs, playing on the continent is no way near as lucrative as playing in the Premier League.

They are managing his career by increments. If he is doing this, the goal is top score in the championship, hit 10-15 the following year in the Premier League and then get a move to a top side, in England or in Europe - when he is ready

I’m reassured.

That’s good pal, in truth I have no clue what will happen to him. The best move was probably Dortmund or that Red Bull team in Germany. I suspect two things maybe held him back from getting those moves…

All the top forwards the data lads come up with look like the hulk with loads of pace and power, Troy isn’t that, he is probably most likely Harry Kanyof the top lads.

Secondly, the background checks would be pretty rigorous and hanging around those Kartel lads would have hurt him. They’re not going to spend 30 or 40 mill on that.

Hopefully West Ham works out for him. I’d still maintain Ferguson has the higher ceiling if he can ever get himself right.

Italian football looks finished, thank God he’s not going in under that terrorist Amorim at Milan.

What’s happening with big Ev? When is he back fit, and is he still with Brighton?

With respect mate, none of us care about his club career. We want him right for Ireland.

It isn’t surprising at all.

The premier league is ridiculously physical. That isn’t his game.

I’d be hoping for a move to a bigger Dutch club or else Germany.

He would struggle in any epl team.

A different sort of player but that Chiesa for Liverpool is a beautiful footballer and lit up euro 2020 but is like a moth banging against a window in the epl.

West Ham is a back door into the epl. He’ll get bigger wages and a huge increase for promotion so it’ll make sense for him.

I doubt the World Cup qualifiers count for much in a
Top clubs scouts. Even this year there’s a lack of lads getting big transfers from their World Cup performances.

Niether has England

Manzambi to Vila and potentially Bouaddi to City probably the best examples this year.

Ah we do though. Lads are always bemoaning the lack of Irish players in the EPL compared to yesteryear. So called ā€œgolden generationā€ tags are generally bandied about based on club form. We need our lads in good, respectable form at club level.

Weirdos who like the epl and follow teams in it are I suppose.

I worry he’ll be flogged in the championship

You’d rather we had lads plying their trade for Dortmund, Newcastle or Marseille than Scunthorpe, MK Dons and Doncaster so club career matters alright.

Chiesa had a load of injuries and lost all his pace shortly after the Euros. He was struggling as much in Serie A as he has in England, hence Liverpool getting him so cheap

Sure. . The facts are that lads who score a few goals in the dutch league routinely move to premier league clubs or big european sides. He has done pretty well there and a better agent would have him a much better move. I wont be surprised if someone else nabs him ahead of west ham.

That insider West Ham twitter account us footixers will be familiar with (@ex WHU employee or something) says the Parrott deal is nowhere near close so he could wind up elsewhere.

I can see why West Ham in the Championship is an attractive move for a still young & developing player. The newly relegated sides still benefit from those parachute payments & have vast financial advantages over the other sides. I could see him playing well there in a dominant side & he’d be full of confidence & well settled heading into the 27/28 EPL season. Living in London probably a nice carrot for Parrott too.

Arne Engels currently of Celtic seems to have the same idea re West Ham, better there at a rung below than going to Hull or someone that’ll be down near the foot of the EPL this season. Of course, there’s @Juhniallio ’s argument Parrott could/should be able to get a better class of club so as not to be in a relegation dog fight to begin with. We’ll keep this one under review & reassess during next week’s stand up meeting.

Capped for the north but does not rule out a switch here.