Irish youths soccer

Ireland u-15s beat Juventus u-15 3-0 today. Goals from Zachary Elbouzedi and Jean Yves Poame.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/1219/1224327997546.html

Cote D’Ivoire and Ireland…can we get a smiley with the lad holding the flag except in the reverse colours?

Plenty of Irish on show at the final of the Next Gen tournament as Aston Villa take on Chelsea. Live on Eurosport.

Dubliner Graham Burke put Villa up 1-0 with a penalty. Around 20mins left. Carruthers and Grealish both look very good.

Burke with another peno after some good skill from Grealish, who looks a real player. Ireland win the NextGen series and are champions of Europe. I’d expect to see Carruthers in the Irish squad in the next couple of years. If Burke makes it we have a penalty taker anyway. Two superb penos from him.

[QUOTE=“Bandage, post: 448098, member: 9”]
On the moan, moan, moan point…that was a feature of Ray Houghton’s co-commentary that used to really irritate me but I think he’s improved beyond all recognition in the past while. .[/QUOTE]

[QUOTE=“Bandage, post: 458039, member: 9”]Thankfully missed most of the pre-match nut now we have hyper-critical Ray ‘he didn’t get his head up’ Houghton.

Another arsehole.[/QUOTE]

Ah, the fickleness of @Bandage.

Anyway, was at the U-19 game yesterday. Doolin should be given the bullet. Turkey were technically better but we could have beaten them if our tactics had been right. Dylan Connolly on the right wing is a James McClean style winger who had the beating of his man all day but only ever had an outnumbered Sam Byrne in the box to aim for and Turkey dealt with his crosses handily. Alan Browne in midfield is decent but as we were set up as 4-4-1-1 we tended to leave gaps in front of the defence where Turkey enjoyed pouring forward and Grimes in goal made a number of good saves from 20/25 yard efforts. He could do nothing about either goal, one a free kick, the other a total lapse of concentration by the defence from a corner. A shame Noe Baba was suspended. O’Hanlon from Liverpool was brought on and certainly looked the part but Turkey had grown in confidence by that stage and he struggled to do much. That said, we did have chances including a glorious opportunity at 1-1 which was squandered by (the otherwise impressive) Sam Byrne and Connolly. I liked Bobby Moseley from Birmingham at left back, though I don remember either full-back passing the half way line. All in all a very frustrating experience, the low point being the 15 or so Turkish supporters breaking into a mocking “Come on you boys in red” near the end as their skillful players ran the clock down and their left back roaring at a bunch of kids in the crowd. Turks are horrible cunts. (Except you @Rocko )

Everyday over the summer I’ve been awoken around 8am by the sound of the young lad across the way doing keepie-uppies. Himself and his older sister (who is probably about 11 and has superb skill) are at it all day. The young lad is probably about 7 or 8, though he’s a little thrawneen of a yoke. My da asked him how many he could do and he said 150 or so is his record. When it pissses rain, they have to be dragged inside unwillingly.

Later on in the day a few other kids join them and they play on the patch of grass until it’s pitch dark and they’re all called in for the night.
It’s a joy to behold. I thought this sort of thing was gone altogether.

That’s all.

Ireland just kicking off in their Uefa European U17 Championship opener against Serbia. It’s live on Eurosport 1.

Still 0-0 with 60 mins gone, we had a stonewall peno turned down about 10 mins ago.

We lost 1-0, soft enough goal from a corner, we hit the bar 10 mins before that.

It’s a game we could have won.

When’s their next game?

The lads are 2-1 up on Bosnia with about 15 mins left. Germany beat Serbia 3-1 earlier on.

0-3 down to Germany after 20 minutes.

5-0 after 50.

We progress to next stage (after 7-0 trashing,but we advance)

Well done to the boys. Safely through to the next round after finishing second in the group following today’s 7-0 reversal. :clap:

Was never in doubt.

Thats good group management.

We play England or Holland on Saturday in the 1/4 final. Win that and we qualify for the U-17 world cup held in October in India.