Jack Charlton

He did more for tourism in Mayo than any amount of gombeen politicians from there. He had a house outside of Ballina and always referenced fishing on the Moy there in interviews he did.

Did he still own the Harry Ramsdens in Dublin I wonder?

Ah jaysus. RIP.

Like many on here Jack was a huge part of my childhood,he gave us some of the best days of our young lives.Seemed like a proper gentleman.

Yes. Kennedy O’Briens in Limerick had one

Was thinking that. He was younger than me and @ciarancareyshurlingarmy

A lot less cranky as well, despite being a notoriously cranky man

Jack drank Monaghan Champion Milk.

That’s just my internet persona. Yours is hardly real is it?

That was such a talented Ireland team.

Moran, McGrath, Whelan, Houghton, Staunton, Sheedy, Aldridge, Stapleton, Lawrenson.

Will never have a team like that again.

It would bean me did thing for a middle aged chap like me to be worrying about an ‘internet persona’

Ok guys. No sniping on this thread

RIP Big Jack

Wonder how long before we see a few contrarian hot takes

Good article out there from Miguel about his tactics Jonathan Wilson has a good tweet too

He did the punditry on a Celtic Huns game in the early 90s. Really good analysis of the game

Have a watch

Why did Jack and Bobby not speak? (apart from Bobby just being a general bit of a dick)

Fishing, Football, Fun. No fuss. Few pints. There are worse ways to live a life.

Put em under pressure Big man

Bobby Charlton fell out with jack over his wife. She didn’t pull with their mum. Lads should really get some facts right before posting things.

I thought they had patched it up in recent years?

Sir Bobby always seemed a bit odd and a bit off, which is probably understandable after what he went through at such a young age in the Munich air crash. I can hazily recall Jack once when asked about it, in a newspaper piece saying that he didn’t really know what it was about that Sir Bobby just stopped talking to him.

Italia 90 was the first tournament I really remember. There was parties in our estate for all the kids. Everyone was wearing green.

I remember crying pretty hard when Italy bate us because there’d be no more parties