Joe Canning, Unquestionably the GOAT

That’s good analysis but you’re just going to have to accept the fact that Wexford aren’t important enough to be paying serious attention to. I doubt he watched one minute of them outside the galway game. Now win Sunday and that will change.

They really arent of any consideration with the pundits. That penalty decision against kilkenny would have been blown up if it happened one of the big munster teams in a one point game. We’re just happy to plod along and not get embarrassed and sure if we win a game or 2, then great. Theres no doubt joe or anto havent watched a minute of wexford games other than highlights. Why would they sure? As you say, if wexford want to be at the top table, they need to show they belong there by consistently performing and beating higher ranked teams. That they havent done so means we’ll still have the same aul regurgitated nonsense analysis that these spoofers churn out whilst watching munster games

Joe takes it easy on the Limerick love-in this week.

When I started playing for Galway in 2008, inter-county teams didn’t pay much attention to recovery. Some players might have gone to the pool or the beach on the morning after a game, but it wasn’t necessarily the done thing. Nobody was under pressure to do it. On the night of a championship match the chances were we would have gone drinking.

In my first summer on the team we played Antrim in the qualifiers at the end of June. Ger Loughnane was the manager and he insisted that the team be flown from Galway to Belfast for the match. A week later we played Laois, on a Saturday, and the following morning we were called in for training. Not for a recovery session. Training.

Davy Fitzgerald had taken over in Waterford - in mid-season – and they had played a match on the same Saturday. At our session the following day our trainer, Louis Mulqueen, told us he had been talking to Davy and the Waterford players were on the beach in Tramore doing an 8km run. If they were doing that, we couldn’t do anything less, so off we went, doing laps of Pearse Stadium until we had covered 8km.

I was in college at the time in LIT, where Davy was manager of the Fitzgibbon Cup team. I was chatting to him a few days later and I mentioned to him about their long run on the beach. He burst out laughing. They had gone into the sea for a recovery session and had a bit of craic. No running. None.

READ MORE

Johnny Crowley confident Kerry are well prepared for Derry test

Cork hurlers had to battle illness before win over Dublin

Peadar Mogan pictures a brighter future in the new McGuinness era

Joe Canning: We won’t see them, but certain matches this weekend will influence the All-Ireland semi-finals

Last Sunday the Cork and Clare players would have been focusing on recovery straight away. Maybe not collectively but it wouldn’t have been optional either. The emphasis on recovery now is huge: in the sea, in the pool, a spin on an exercise bike, massage, recovery boots, sauna, good food, lots of water, just something to stimulate the process of recovery. You’re trying to get your body in decent shape for the next training session so that you can start again. All the small things add up.

For Cork and Clare, managing a two-week turnaround before the All-Ireland semi-final will be a challenge. Their opponents in Croke Park next weekend have had a month to recover, re-set and ramp it up again. They were able to plan a schedule, which makes a huge difference.

Pause

Unmute

After the Munster final Limerick took a week off. Kilkenny were on a training camp in Fota Island last weekend and were still there on Monday. Meanwhile, Cork and Clare were trying to stay in the championship.

At inter-county level now the wellbeing of players is carefully monitored. Lukasz Kirszenstein is Clare’s strength and conditioning coach now, but he was with us in Galway when we won the All-Ireland in 2017 and for a few years afterwards.

Lukasz asked all of us to download an app called Actimet where he would essentially build up a profile of our wellness. After training every night we would log on to the app and answer a few questions about the session we had just done, and the following morning we would log on again to answer a few more questions: how many hours you had slept, was it a good sleep, we you sore anywhere, how were you feeling.

The questions would only take 30 seconds to answer but the key to the whole thing was honesty. Nobody feels great all the time and there is nothing to be gained from pretending otherwise. If your GPS numbers in training were down, Lukasz needed to understand why.

The length and intensity of our training sessions would have been dictated by the information that Lukasz gathered and how he interpreted it. Micheál Donoghue was the manager, and Franny Forde did a lot of the coaching, but they never overruled Lukasz. If he said we were only going to be on the field for 50 minutes the lads had to plan their session within that time frame. Monitoring the training load was hugely important.

I know the Clare players are using the same app. On a week like this, when you’re coming out of a big game and preparing for another one, teams need to lean on the science and trust in someone like Lukasz. The days of guessing or going on intuition are gone. Everything that matters is finely measured now.

One thing that all four teams will have in common this weekend is an A-vs-B game. Under Brian Cody, Kilkenny put huge store by their in-house games and I’m sure that hasn’t changed under Derek Lyng. We don’t hear much about Limerick’s training sessions but one thing that has been repeated by players over the years is the intensity of their in-house games and the impact it has on team selection.

In my experience, it wasn’t unusual for the B team to win those games and I always thought that was a good thing. You wanted fellas to be pushing hard and putting savage pressure on the lads who had the jersey. You always wanted those games to be tasty enough too, with plenty of hard-hitting. Without that bite there would be something wrong.

I can remember A-vs-B games where the A team won handy and Galway were beaten the following week. I never thought that was a coincidence.

For these teams, the last serious training sessions will be done this weekend. The most important thing after that is feeling good about themselves.

Joe has spoken

Joe Canning: Clare are in the last-chance saloon if this team is to win an All-Ireland

The full-house in Croker for Sunday’s game will play a vital factor - and will ultimately weigh in Limerick’s favour

Expand

Cork’s Seamus Harnedy and Diarmuid Byrnes of Limerick during the Munster championship clash. When Cork were on top they dictated the terms that night at Supervalu Páirc Uí Chaoimh. Photograph: Bryan Keane/Inpho

Joe Canning's face

Joe Canning

Fri Jul 5 2024 - 06:00

When you play a team twice in the same championship the danger is overthinking. Cork caught Limerick cold in the first half in Páirc Uí Chaoimh, hitting them with stuff they weren’t expecting. That approach can’t have the same effect again, but if it suits Cork best they would be foolish to bend themselves out of shape. Cork must be clear about this: what suits them?

We know Limerick don’t change for anybody. They made adjustments in the second half against Cork to reduce the space behind their half-back line, but they don’t compromise their fundamental shape or principles of play for any opponent. Everybody knows what Limerick are going to do and they’re comfortable with that.

The important thing for Cork is to be clear in their own minds about a game plan and have the courage to stick to it. The chances of coming up with a tactical variation that will give them the same dominance they had in the first half a couple of months ago are very slim, but they can’t afford to play the game on Limerick’s terms either. That was the key thing about the Munster championship match; when Cork were on top they dictated the terms.

Cork’s strength is attacking. We didn’t see that against Offaly and Dublin in the last two games when they were strangely flat, but it was clear in their last three Munster championship games. They have pace in their attack and a consistent goal threat but, unlike other Cork forward lines over the years, they also have players who can attack the ball in the air: Brian Hayes, Alan Connolly, Seamus Harnedy and Declan Dalton.

READ MORE

Joe Canning: Clare are in the last-chance saloon if this team is to win an All-Ireland

Darragh Fitzgibbon pleased that Rebel legend Horgan has silenced his critics

Joe Canning: Tough rebuilding job in store for next Galway manager as Henry Shefflin bows out

Shane Kingston and Cork braced for the toughest of Croke Park assignments

Dalton will be on Kyle Hayes’s wing so there won’t be any puck-outs going down that side. In the Páirc, they went after Diarmuid Byrnes and they also tried to fly the ball over Declan Hannon. In the first half that worked, spectacularly. Limerick won’t allow that to happen again so if Cork go long – which is their preference – their forwards will have to come up with possession under serious pressure. This is the stress test for them. Handy ball won’t be available.

Limerick have a lot in their favour. Croke Park has been a home away from home for them in John Kiely’s time. It looks like there will be a full house on Sunday and the noise will be incredible. When there’s a crowd in Croke Park communication on the field becomes a huge issue. I remember games where you’d be shouting at someone five yards away. There wasn’t a hope of hearing anything from the sideline unless you were playing at wing back or wing forward, right in front of them.

Learn more

Controversy arose over Limerick goalkeeper Nickie Quaid getting treatment in the first half against Galway last year. But the champions are so well versed with the demands of big days at Croke Park it’s a huge advantage to them. Photograph: Ryan Byrne/Inpho

In that environment Limerick have a huge advantage. Their system is so drilled and so familiar that everyone knows where they need to be. In the All-Ireland semi-final last year, when Galway had them under pressure in the first 25 minutes, a lot was made of Nickie Quaid throwing off his helmet and looking for treatment. The Limerick management were able to get some messages on to the pitch and they steadied the ship before half-time.

I thought the importance of that was overstated at the time. With this year’s rule change, taking off your helmet to force a stoppage is no longer an option. There are massive restrictions on water carriers or anybody else running on to the field. During the Munster championship Kiely and Pat Ryan both complained about how hard it was to get word into the players.

But for a team with Limerick’s experience, that is less of a problem. It’s so hard to communicate verbally on big days in Croke Park that sometimes you’re depending on body language, or even just a look. If you’ve played with someone for a long time you know their preferences and their tendencies and you don’t need to get an instruction or give an instruction. Limerick are in that place. Under pressure that kind of thing matters.

I can’t see Cork catching them again. The other semi-final, though, is harder to call. For this Clare team, this is their best chance of winning an All-Ireland and probably their last chance. Down the spine of the team they have players coming towards the end of their careers. Put it this way, I don’t think Clare are going to be in a better position next year.

They’ve already lost three Munster finals in a row to Limerick. If they lose three All-Ireland semi-finals in a row to Kilkenny I’m not sure how they could come back from that. They need to stand up now, before it’s too late.

Mikey Butler: If Tony Kelly starts at centre field does Kilkenny’s top man marker follow him out there? Photograph: Bryan Keane/Inpho

The match-ups will be fascinating. If Tony Kelly starts at centrefield, does Mikey Butler follow him out there? If Shane O’Donnell starts at 14, Huw Lawlor will pick him up, but if he pops up in the half-forward line does Lawlor follow him out? Or do Kilkenny decide that O’Donnell is Clare’s key player now and put Butler on him?

At the other end, I imagine Adam Hogan will mark Eoin Cody, and if TJ Reid starts at 14 Conor Cleary will pick him up. But what will they do about Adrian Mullen? Against Dublin in the Leinster final, and in the first half of the league final against Clare, he was virtually unmarkable.

With a player like that you can’t go zonal and trust your half-backs and centre fielders to pass him on. You need somebody who is prepared to sacrifice their own game and follow him everywhere. Conor Leen is still a young player and comparatively inexperienced but he’s having a brilliant season and I think he could be a good fit for that role. But that would take him out of corner-back and maybe Clare wouldn’t want that.

Tactically, this will be a big test for Brian Lohan and his management team. They didn’t get it right in the All-Ireland semi-final last year when they went with a sweeper in the first half, out of the blue. They weren’t sharp on the line either in the Munster final this year. They can’t afford to get this one wrong.

I fancied Clare for this game last year but I’m not convinced about them now. It’s harder to have doubts about Kilkenny.

Would you ever do something useful and post the article about KH please?

That’s a much better article from Joe

I thought you meant Kyle Hayes there for a minute!

Juggling family and work with the Galway job must have been a serious grind at times over the last three years

Expand

Galway manager Henry Shefflin: “He wouldn’t have wanted it to end like this, with Galway further away from an All-Ireland than they were when he took over three years ago.” Photograph: Ben Brady/Inpho

Joe Canning's face

Joe Canning

Thu Jul 4 2024 - 19:11

On the week of the All-Ireland semi-finals Galway hurling people would hope to be thinking about Croke Park but instead we’re thinking about a new manager.

After Galway were eliminated by Dublin I wrote here that I hoped Henry Shefflin would stay for another year and as the weeks went by I thought that possibility was more likely. But it’s over now.

He wouldn’t have wanted it to end like this, with Galway further away from an All-Ireland than they were when he took over three years ago. In all sports it’s easy to blame the manager, but in every dressingroom there must be collective responsibility. Some of the performances this year were unacceptable and the Galway players must look at themselves in the mirror.

Looking back, 2023 was probably the pivotal year, when they should have beaten Kilkenny in the Leinster final. The goal that Cillian Buckley scored in the last minute was a bit of a freak and, for any team, a season can turn on fine margins. As Leinster champions they would have avoided Limerick in the semi-final and they would have arrived in Croke Park with momentum. None of that happened.

READ MORE

For Shefflin, juggling family and work with the Galway job must have been a serious grind at times over the last three years. From Ballyhale in Kilkenny to Loughgeorge where Galway train for a lot of the year is a 400km round journey and not much of it is on motorways. The time and energy that goes into intercounty management is hard to comprehend.

Galway manager Henry Shefflin with coach Eamon O’Shea. Photograph: Ben Brady/Inpho

I don’t know what the Galway County Board are going to do next. The talk is that it will be a local appointment. Micheál Donoghue was approached before Shefflin was appointed and he might be approached again – even if he said after the quarter-finals that he planned to stay with Dublin for another year.

Pause

Unmute

Would Eamon O’Shea do it? He’s better known as a coach, but he managed Tipperary for three years. Maybe a management team could be built around him. Mattie Kenny applied for the job in the past and it wouldn’t surprise me if he threw his hat in the ring again. One way or another, I can’t imagine it will be a quick process. The team is heading into a crucial rebuilding phase now and everyone will need patience.

Hurling Ch

Have a feeling this one could be decent but surely could have come up with a better title.

https://x.com/JoeyCan88/status/1811507309962543131

He’s outdone himself today with the Limerick love-in

The definitive All Ireland preview is here

Joe Canning: Clare are battle-hardened and very hard to beat but my slight fancy is for Cork

The Rebels rode their luck to survive earlier in the championship but the two victories over Limerick have transformed the situation and the team’s self-belief

Expand

Eibhear Quilligan saves a shot from Cork’s Alan Connolly during Clare’s Munster championship win at Páirc Uí Chaoimh in April. Photograph: Ken Sutton/Inpho

Joe Canning

Fri Jul 19 2024 - 06:00

When managers, players or pundits talk about luck nobody takes it seriously. In modern sport everything is measured and explained. Players know the consequences of their actions, whatever they do. But there were three games this season when Cork were out of the championship if the scoreline after 70 minutes didn’t change.

In two of those games Cork weren’t playing. If Tipperary didn’t find 1-1 in stoppage time in Walsh Park, Cork were gone. If Clare didn’t score a disputed 65 with the last puck against Waterford in Ennis, Cork were out. What happened in those games can be explained by the teams involved, but for Cork it amounted to luck.

The other game was against Limerick in Páirc Uí Chaoimh where Cork scored a goal and a point in stoppage time to save their season. They made that happen. The other stuff was out of their hands.

The challenge for Cork was to seize the opportunity when it landed. After the Limerick game in May, the perception of Cork started to change. The most important thing, though, was the shift in how they perceived themselves. They had developed a reputation for being involved in great games but losing most of them narrowly.

READ MORE

Clare name unchanged starting team for All-Ireland final clash with Cork

Joe Canning: Clare are battle-hardened and very hard to beat but my slight fancy is for Cork

David Reidy and Clare expect to face a ‘different animal’ against Cork in All-Ireland final

Final Countdown: How Clare’s 1995 Munster final win had a little ‘magic’ motivation

When they were beaten by Clare in round two it was the fourth time in a row they had lost a championship match by a goal or less. That pattern had no future. Against Limerick in the Munster championship they proved something to themselves and if any doubts had crept in over the summer they banished them a fortnight ago.

The last time these teams met, 12 weeks ago, they were both in a much different state. Cork hadn’t turned up against Waterford in Walsh Park a week earlier and Clare had self-destructed against Limerick. They were both damaged and had huge questions to answer. Even though Clare won, both teams produced a performance. I’d say when Cork look back on their season, that was the day it turned.

You couldn’t say that Clare have improved as much as Cork since then, but Cork were starting from a lower base. Going long with their puck-outs, and keeping three players inside, has transformed Cork.

Would Brian Hayes have got his place earlier in the season if Robbie O’Flynn had been fit? I doubt it. But Hayes has been a revelation and he became the primary target for Patrick Collins’s puck-outs. It would be wrong to say that Cork are just a route one team – Collins’s overall distribution was excellent in the semi-final and after a Limerick wide Cork’s restarts were very sharp and varied. But Hayes has been the key man for winning ball or breaking ball in the scoring zone.

The matchups on both sides will be crucial. Conor Cleary is the obvious man to mark Hayes because of his height and aggression. Alan Connolly is a big man too but he has explosive pace and Adam Hogan is the quickest of Clare’s three inside backs. Hogan has had a great season and did a brilliant job on Eoin Cody in the semi-final.

It will be interesting to see how Johnny Murphy addresses Adam Hogan’s tendency to buy frees. He has taken simulation to a new level this year.

In terms of big-game experience, the gap between Conor Leen and Patrick Horgan is enormous, but Leen has really impressed me in his breakthrough season and I think he’ll have the mentality to take on that challenge.

But what will Clare do about Shane Barrett? Over the course of the championship he has been Cork’s best player. His pace, his ability to get on the ball and his capacity to beat defenders is incredibly hard to manage. John Conlon is a great player and has had an amazing career, but he doesn’t have the pace to live with Barrett in a one-on-one situation.

The other issue for Clare is that Diarmuid Ryan likes to attack from right half back and Barrett will be looking to exploit that space. If Ryan hits a wide or a Clare attack breaks down with Ryan in the Cork half, Barrett will be making a beeline for that area.

Cork, though, have puzzles to solve as well. In Hogan, Leen, Cleary and David McInerney Clare have four players who can do a man-marking job. Cork don’t have many options in that regard.

Shane O’Donnell has been brilliant all summer and nobody has really managed him. He did a lot of damage against Cork in Páirc Uí Chaoimh. Mark Rodgers got a run on Cork that day too. Rob Downey is a great hurler and very good under the dropping ball but I can’t see him running around after Rodgers.

Which one of Cork’s inside defenders would be able to hold O’Donnell? I don’t think any of them will. Sean O’Donoghue’s form is a real worry for Cork. Tim O’Mahony marked Peter Duggan in April and was very aggressive under the dropping ball but Duggan won that battle in the end.

O’Mahony did a marking job on Cian Lynch at centrefield in the semi-final and he might be given the same role on Tony Kelly. That would leave Ciaran Joyce to pick up Peter Duggan and, in fairness to Joyce, he did a brilliant job on Gearóid Hegarty a fortnight ago.

But that still leaves David Fitzgerald on the other wing and Mark Coleman is not a man marker. He’s brilliant on the ball and great going forward but he’s not going to stop Fitzgerald. It will be fascinating to see what solutions Cork come up with.

I think it will be extremely close and the game could be decided by players coming off the bench. In that respect, Cork have an advantage: Shane Kingston, Ethan Twomey, O’Flynn, Luke Meade, Jack O’Connor and Padraig Power are all players that can make a difference. Four of them have blistering pace which can be a lethal weapon late in a game.

Clare are battle-hardened and very hard to beat but my slight fancy is for Cork.

Lads, I have an extra special treat for you today. I was away last week so didn’t get a chance to post Joe’s article from last week. Joe reckons we haven’t gone away yet.

Joe Canning: Cork deserved their win, but this Limerick team is far from finished

Limerick will win more All-Irelands as long as John Kiely and Paul Kinnerk don’t walk away

Expand

Limerick’s Diarmaid Byrnes and Seán Finn were dejected after losing to Cork in a tight game, but defeat doesn’t spell the end for a fine team. Photograph: Ryan Byrne/Inpho

Joe Canning

Fri Jul 12 2024 - 06:00

As soon as Limerick were beaten people wondered if they were finished. Is this the end? Full stop? A week earlier, when the Dublin footballers lost a brilliant game by a point, the same questions were trotted out. Who’s going to retire? How long will Dublin be down?

It amazes me the way people think. Limerick lost a cracking game by two points, having missed scores near the end that they would normally expect to get. Coming from seven points down they had all the momentum in the last quarter. We could easily be here talking about one of their greatest comebacks. The margins were tiny.

It was the end of their bid for five All-Irelands in a row but it wasn’t the end of anything else. John Kiely mentioned afterwards that the dressingroom might not be exactly the same next year, but that would be true whether they had won or lost. No intercounty panel stays the same from one year to the next.

A couple of lads who were subs last Sunday might drift away but looking at the Limerick bench, most of them were young fellas.

READ MORE

Clare name unchanged starting team for All-Ireland final clash with Cork

David Reidy and Clare expect to face a ‘different animal’ against Cork in All-Ireland final

Final Countdown: How Clare’s 1995 Munster final win had a little ‘magic’ motivation

I’m certain that none of the starting team will retire. Nickie Quaid, Dan Morrissey, Declan Hannon, Diarmaid Byrnes and David Reidy are all in their 30s; Gearoid Hegarty and Will O’Donoghue will be 30 before the end of the year. Which one of them will step away? Not one.

Quaid could play for another 10 years. Hegarty has had a huge return to form this summer. Reidy spent a long time as an impact sub and it’s only last season and this season that he has been a regular starter. He’s not going to walk away from that.

Learn more

Limerick’s goalkeeper Nickie Quaid dejected after their GAA All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Semi-Final against Cork, at Croke Park, Dublin. Photograph: ©INPHO/James Crombie

One of Limerick’s strengths over the years has been their stability, in terms of team selection. Their starting 15 for all their big games was picked from a core group of about 18 or 19 players. There was just enough competition for places to ensure that it didn’t get stale, but there was so little flux that the team could tap into a well of experience and understanding. In big games, that is invaluable.

But last Sunday they didn’t have Barry Nash or Peter Casey, both of whom were injured, and Darragh O’Donovan only came on late in the game, having been injured for most of the year. He wasn’t able to just jump back in as if he had never been away. No matter how good Limerick are, they missed those players.

Going down the stretch, the chances that Limerick had to draw the match fell to young fellas exposed to a big championship game in Croke Park for the first time. That was a big pressure on them. For the last few years, they didn’t have to rely on young players.

Cian Lynch had a huge influence on the All-Ireland final last July, especially when Limerick were not going well, but, in keeping with his season, he didn’t bring that kind of performance last Sunday. It must be Lynch’s quietest ever year for Limerick.

Cork’s Robert Downey and Cian Lynch of Limerick during the GAA All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Semi-Final, at Croke Park, Dublin. Photograph: ©INPHO/Bryan Keane

Séamus Flanagan was brilliant against Cork in May, but he went off injured in the next game against Waterford and wasn’t fit for the Munster final. To my eyes he showed the effects of his lay-off last weekend. Should they have started Shane O’Brien instead? None of us know what was going on in training.

What it shows is that, even for great teams, a lot of things have to be right. They missed Nash and Casey and O’Donovan; Lynch and Flanagan were poor. Hannon was under pressure. Cork managed to exclude Kyle Hayes from the play for most of the game. Hegarty and Tom Morrissey only scored three points between them.

Caroline Currid has been their sports psychologist for their five All-Ireland wins. She wasn’t there this year. The only other year she was missing was 2019, the last time Limerick lost an All-Ireland semi-final. How much of a difference did that make?

Add all those things together, and they still only lost to Cork by two points. Clare are in the All-Ireland final, having lost to Limerick in the championship twice. If they do go on to win the All Ireland it will be heavily asterixed down Shannonside way. I have no doubt that there are more All-Irelands to be won with this Limerick team, as long as Kiely and Paul Kinnerk don’t walk away. They’re the key to the whole thing.

Limerick’s Kyle Hayes and Declan Dalton of Cork during their GAA All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Semi-Final, at Croke Park, Dublin. Photograph: ©INPHO/Bryan Keane

When Kilkenny’s bid for five in a row was derailed in 2010, they came back and won the next two All-Irelands. When Kerry missed out on five in a row in 1982, they were beaten again the following year but then they won three in a row. In both cases Brian Cody and Mick O’Dwyer stayed on board.

Cork surprised me. Limerick couldn’t live with Cork’s pace two months ago and the same was true last weekend. They had the courage to go with the same puck-out strategy and basically it worked again. Any strategy that depends on how the ball breaks and where it breaks involves an element of luck, but they took that chance and it paid off.

Cork played with the kind of bite that has often been missing over the years and that made a huge difference too. It was no fluke. Beating this Limerick team twice in the same year is a serious achievement.

For now, though, all it does is get them into an All-Ireland final with a 50-50 chance. No more than that. If Cork do win they will be very deserving champions.

:astonished::astonished:

Someone needs to point out to Joe that the 65 Clare got against Waterford wasn’t “lucky”. It was an absolutely correct call.
Joe really doesn’t like Clare at all at all.
He tried to rouse cork to knock them out of the championship by openly calling corks manliness into question. Now he’s openly trying to influence the match refereeing team.

A new angle of attack on Joe from Flatty today.

A real illustration the money from Limerick has gotten to Joe.

Yes I have picked up on that alright ever since he began his career in punditry

There are a number of lads in the media who are queuing up to knock Adam Hogan in the media. It is fairly bizarre, if forwards stopped diving into tackles from behind his shoulder with terrible technique he wouldn’t win as many frees.

Bit tis easy call it simulation when he bursts out with a ball and a forward puts in a lazy tackle.

Another cut at Clare here

Dja know, I think whoever wrote that probably lurks on here.

Careful attention paid to how the players hold their hurleys?