Kilkenny v Limerick 2019

We were poor against limerick

The main problem with Limerick is we make everything harder than it needs to be. The full back line were excellent. Dan Morrissey played well to give him his dues. Hannon played well even though his man had four points, most of it was due to Hickey getting cleaned and possession getting laid off. Midfield were a joke, Browne is done and O’Donovan lacked any composure. it is the forwards where it gets bad, we had an 18 and 19 year old showing the cojones to the rest of the line. Dempsey is soft as fcuk. Dowling should never see a Limerick jersey again. Nash was terrible when he came in as was Morrissey. Hegarty played well seeing he was nowhere near fit enough to be playing. The main issue is Cian Lynch, he was absolutely horrendous. The constipated style of hurling we are at he just keeps making the wrong calls. Two options with him. Put him midfield or corner forward which would be my preferred option as he can cause less trouble to us and hopefully isolate a man one on one. Colin Ryan has to come in to midfield and Ronan Lynch to the forwards, Dempsey did nothing for 60 minutes, even if Lynch did that I am sure he would get a few loose balls for a score or two. It is what it is and we are not where we need to be but we also make it harder on ourselves. I would give Kiely the required time to see it he can change it for us, big improvement is needed though as this year we looked clueless in all our games.

About 60 posts of people slagging off Dowling and finally I see someone point to the real issue on the Limerick team. Cian Lynch is a fucking fraud of a hurler. Dowling was awful but the stick he takes on here is scandalous and some like lynch gets away Scott free. If I see him doing that tapping the ball of the ground into his hand thing again I’ll pull the fucking rats tail off him. I said a few weeks ago that he needed a kick up the hole. He needs a kick in the hole, the balls and the head. Prancing around out there last night. He will probably lord it for the 21s for the rest of the year now. Sick of looking at him

They were goalless in 4 out of 6 matches in the league

We are over complicating it, plain and simple… A team caught between to styles… The Kinnerk hot potato passing it around and hippy whippy. Either way, we just have to be patient. Some of the senior lads didn’t perform this year and the younger lads need time. It was never about this year but it is frustrating losing to two bad teams alright.

Hannon is back. Hayes is a gem in the making as is P Casey. M Casey and Finn will have learned a lot as will Dempsey. It’s after taking Cork a couple of years to get right, likewise Wexford as the likes of Chin and McDonald have filled out- so will our lads.

@gilgamboa nothing overly impressive about Limerick last night. Main thing is we weren’t hammered, which was a big fear… I think for some of the reasons I pointed out above, lads can see that there’s some very good potential there and that’s what we are clinging to.

@ChocolateMice said as far back as February that Cian Lynch needs to be dropped for his own good. All the talent in the world but he’s more interested in the sublime rather than the basics… he gave two or three v bad hand passes last night when he could of played the ball in or shot… Yes still u21 tho but he needs to be coached pronto or left on the bench until he learns himself.

No surer sign of their decline. I was talking about championship games obviously but if you’d said Limerick would have kept them goalless last night you would have given lk a right chance

Would you prefer to meet KK next week now?

Lynch is over rated 100 Percent. It seam that no one can make changes. Kk were there for the taking as were clare. Kiely gets a big F this year. Cc @ChocolateMice

Lads, calm down in the criticism of some of the players, especially the younger lads.

A few quick points: fuck what anyone says, Dowling had a very good game. McCarthy was superb, shoved it back down everyone’s throats. Aboy Richie. Hannon was born again, brilliant to see, absolutely outstanding. Hegarty had some game for a lad with no hurling done coming off an injury. I actually thought O’Donovan did well too. The rats tail is long gone too ye fuckin apes.

Richie is brill

Dowling did well second half… he’s still a ff for me.

Cian Lynch played midfield last night, did he not? O’Donovan was centre forward in the first half anyway.

Stop digging

That was frustrating stuff, was it O’Donovan who drove that wide?
KK put a few bad wides as well but they also had a few Hail Marys come off, Limerick won most of the matchups and in my opinion were the better team on display let down by shooting, Browne had a very rare off day, Lynch was hopeless, Nash was very disappointing when he came in.
It was a poor game but a good contest,
TJ Reid was very good, my favourite recent day hurler Richie Hogan is gone to the dogs.
Events on the pitch overshadowed by the TFK meet up and the strange stalking behaviour from so called confident guy @Breaking_my_balls,
@iron_mike the man of the match

John Kiely: 4

Instead of player match ratings I’m giving a john kiely match rating. I think the changes he made were poor.

James Ryan is not an impact sub and was the wrong player to bring in to a game like this. He has to be a starter or not used IMO. Kiely looked at cian lynch have no success all day and neither moved him and took too long to sub him. Could at least try switch him with Dempsey who was well shackled, although you have to have sympathy for him when all he got was high balls between him and Murphy. I said Nash should have started and boy was I wrong, but Morrissey for the second introduction in a row was even more anonymous. Colin Ryan would have been better than either of these two surely? Ronan Lynch would have done more than Cian, Nash and Morrissey combined. He would have gotten on ball and delivered it or scored, that’s what we needed. How can he not get aook in even as a sub. Likewise O’Mahony. If others edge him in hurling which I doubt, his leadership and composure was needed. He would have settled the team IMO had he come on at half forward, but I think he should have started at wing back and I absolutely can’t understand why he has been pushed aside so fast, I think this is a major mistake on kiely’s behalf.

I wouldn’t mind playing Kk in a QF if we have to

Agree

Is it time for a “curious hurling phrases” thread?

Paragraphs or Bullet Points you fucking drip of a man.

The lad who thought TJ Reid didn’t hurl much ball last night comes flying back in swinging :rofl:
read it, you might learn something mate.