Pretty obvious the way for Limerick to beat that Kk team was to either (a) play the corners to Casey/Hegarty or (b) play it short to Hayes or Lynch and get them to run at KK. Obviously easier said then done because the Limerick lads have horrible distribution but that was an eminently winnable match if they didn’t panic on the ball all the time.
Also Limerick’s two best defenders - Casey and Hannon - used the ball horribly.
Kyle Hayes may be the second coming of Austin Gleeson in a couple of years.
Dowling tried his hardest, god bless him.
Peter Casey is a fine stickman.
Cian Lynch should be sat on the bench unless Limerick are actively trying to play the game around him ala Cork/Lehane.
Nash and Ryan looked a couple of years off senior hurling. Lots of standing around waiting for the ball to break to them.
Ffs their only young fellas. And Ronan lynch doesn’t have the pace for it
Yourself and @Julio_Geordio are the only opinions on Limerick hurling that I value.
Kk are fucked unless both Alyward and Hogan hit form out of nowhere. Also it’s noticeable how badly they are missing a Larkin type player to make runs off Walsh and Reid and create goal chances. As of right now it’s hit it into Colin Fennelly and hope he gets a penalty or it ends up in the net. Thats the entire KK goal threat.
Yer man Bolger’s finishing is pure shite.
Michael Fennelly will become a passenger against teams that use the ball intelligently.
You are a pathetic individual., no doubt about it, a complete virus. Do me a favour and do not reply to me again you low life prick.
Like it’s basic management (as you well know) to assess the talent at your disposal and implement a style of play to maximise their strengths and limit their weaknesses. I’ve managed teams of up to 2 (two) people in work so I know this.
It’s much easier said than done to play good ball into the corners from the half back line
Yes but the Limerick half-backs weren’t even under much pressure. They just wanted to hit everything straight and as far down the field as possible. Not a lack of ability at all.
Hannon was very good at providing an option to his full back line for a handpass but, problem was, he often flaked the ball away downfield without looking after receiving it. That was acceptable in the eighties.
It was acceptable at the time.
I think we’re close to reaching consensus so could we please sign off on the minutes if everyone’s happy:
- Using terms like brave and heroic about the game last night is a bit silly;
- Limerick have the base of a pretty good team;
- The talented young players will get stronger, become more imposing and hopefully develop more in-game composure with experience;
- Management could do with smartening up a bit to get the best out of what’s available.
Capiche.
Why was it acceptable at the time? You’d swear he didn’t have time to pick someone out.
Believe that!!! Enjoy the game today pal.
Great reply mate, thanks for that.