Kilkenny will be in the AIF this year⌠You could see it in his eyes there. Theyâre back.
He was very good against Wexford too. King Henry seems to be getting the best out of the key men from that minor team of 2015.
I thought Darren Morrissey had a fine game, set down a marker for himself. There was an incident near the end of the first half where he was driven back on his hole by a Kk attacker - it really should have been a free out for Galway for barging and if them things were picked up by referees it would greatly help in ridding the game of the scourge of the short handpass style and be to the benefit of proper hurlers.
Cody is generally a very good loser. An admirable trait.
Iâd say he is embarrassed today. I wouldnât be surprised if he rang Shefflin about it.
Elsie will you get the phone. Iâm in the Jacks. Itâs Henry, Brian. Tell him to fuck off.
Bizarre lack of warmth.
Obviously Cody is sour after losing with the last puck of the game but all it needed was a rueful smile, quick handshake and off you go.
The optics of Cody holding on to his hand as Shefflin turned away wasnât great. I think Shefflin was stunned more than anything, Cody looked demented and beyond even the normal disappointment of losing a tight championship game.
Lads analysing a handshake now
Is it the same lads who were up in the middle of the night watching two wans grappling with each other?
See how Cody tilts his head there, thatâs his attempting dominance over Shefflin. Shefflin turning his hand counter clockwise to escape the grip is symbolic of a cuckold attempting to reassert hitherto unrealised dominance.
Tis fascinating
Itâs all about possession. If he could make us a hit more clinical we might actually trouble one of the big 2.
I do be doing that with the U7s, a great drill.
I was impressed by Galway. I think the scoreline flattered Kilkenny somewhat but they were unlucky with that free in the end. Eoin Cody is one of the best corner forwards in the game. A joy to watch. Low centre of gravity and makes the ball stick. I thought something was a little off with TJ Reid when he got a pass and opted to point off his right instead of trying to work the goal. Maybe still feeling effects of a long club campaign and a couple of lingering knocks. Still though I would have kept him on in the second half where point scoring opportunities from range would present themselves and no better man to take advantage.
Galway took a big step forward from Wexford game. I doubt there is a county ground anywhere in Ireland that represents quite a home advantage as Salthill. They were more agile and mobile than they have been for some time. They always had physicality but there was an agility and quickness that had not being obvious for quite some time. One obvious highlight was Joe Cooney winning a ball he had no right to win against Carey who himself is a bullet and had a few yards headstart on him. Cooney was immense. Monahan is a perfect foil at midfield. He always seems to find huge pockets of space and can take a score. He has been one of the players of the championship to date. Concannon is showing more maturity and lead the line well. The old guard all stood up. Hard to believe Padraig Mannion and Daithi Burke are still only 29 so hardly that old but they have been on the go a while.
Galway look to be playing for their manager and more importantly themselves. They could be a dangerous animal later in the summer and not to be discounted. They might be best placed to give Limerick a game for many of reasons highlighted above. The only caveat is that they will need to learn to score goals. Kilkenny will be in the shake up too. I think they performed well at times in a tough environment. I expect Galway and kilkenny to take care of Dublin. Could all boil down to Nowlan Park between Wexford and Kilkenny to see who gets third spot. Dublins points differential could come against them in the final shakeup.
Laois will decide Leinster placings⌠if youâre not beating them by at least 5 goals youâre at nothing âŚdubs are fcuked because of it âŚ
Yeah it felt Galway were 5 or 6 points better but somehow almost conspired to fuck it away. Had 4 good goal chances and only took one of them. While coughing up a couple of soft ones to Kilkenny. As ever though Kilkenny are never beaten even when not going well. Even coming down the stretch with us maintaining a 3 point gap you half expected them to find a goal out of somewhere. Which they did.
Down through the years you always had to be 5 or 6 points better than Kilkenny in general play to win by 1. They can always conjure up a goal out of nothing against the run of play and when they go looking for one to keep game alive they can create those chances and generally take them. The goal at the death and quick resultant puckout were eerily similar to Kilkenny Cork AI semi final last year. Kilkenny had a last minute goal to send game to ET. Cork goalkeeper hit a quick one out and Kilkenny were unlucky not to get a free or chance of a point with last play.
Been saying it a while now, Galway best placed to challenge Limerick.
Kilkenny against Limerick in Croke Park would be interesting too. Limerick have big hang ups facing Kilkenny in Croke Park, the 2019 semi final implosion a case in point. The asterisk 1973 final win when Kilkenny were missing half a team is the only Limerick win over Kilkenny in Croke Park in 80+ years.
Thats an excellent summation. I found myself nodding in agreement with it.
Disgraceful carryon from Cody. He would be nothing without King Henry. What a miserable cunt he is
Morning laz. Howâs the head?
Kk are a better side than people are giving them credit for. A very decent team who will trouble anyone. That was a great game yesterday. Had it all.