Good for exposure and to provide support and encouragement for those who drive the game overseas. Limited enough scope for expansion in the GAA that hey wouldn’t do everything thy could to encourage this.
[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 794636, member: 24”]
So yeah - pretty dark.[/quote]
Dark me bollix. What’s clear is the fact that them pair of dumb cunts shouldn’t be let in charge of a pair of
plough-horses. Did you ever play football in Leitrim Farmer* at any level. Drink is a cultural thing as you ought to know. As a player I had to block off the jacks in Carrick minutes before the 1970 senior final to allow
Michael McGuinness Snr. down a naggin of Jameson “in comfort” as Hun Gordon and the PP were patrolling.
Not to take from London’s achievement and wishing them well in Castlebar, but the present Management have proven themselves incapable of the task. The reality lies in the fact that Cody went with Shefflin in 2010 and it didn’t work
and it didn’t work either last Sunday or today.
- Not casting aspersions.
Bring in McGeeney!!!
Fuck that anyway.
Shocking that nobody took the responsibility to shoot for the equaliser prior to Glancy’s effort. 30 yards out and nobody near them and it was hand pass after hand pass before Glancy’s attempt from 40 yards under pressure.
It’s been a bit of a disaster on and off the pitch since New York.
Who do we want in the qualifiers ?
[quote=“thedancingbaby, post: 794678, member: 48”]Fuck that anyway.
Shocking that nobody took the responsibility to shoot for the equaliser prior to Glancy’s effort. 30 yards out and nobody near them and it was hand pass after hand pass before Glancy’s attempt from 40 yards under pressure.
Who do we want in the qualifiers ?[/quote]
Tyrone. Get it over with quickly.
[quote=“thedancingbaby, post: 794678, member: 48”]Fuck that anyway.
Who do we want in the qualifiers ?[/quote]
Forget about the quailifers, Barney and George made a right balls of things this year I don’t know if they can take us forward after whats happened cause I doubt the 4 lads will ever play for them again and we need them more than we need Barney or george
100% agreement Massey. We may forget about the Q/F’s try and move the club c/ship onwards and appoint a respected figure from within the county to mastermind affairs.
It’s hardly University stuff , but a committed guy with a feel for issues on the ground, allied to a bitéén of Managerial nous should bring us back up…He has that enviable streak of “bouldness” attaching to him…
Gerry Flanagan…
What’s Flanagan up to these days
He’s done a term with Bawnboy, brought them up but didn’t last…
Repping for Killeshandria Co-op the last I heard…
A lot of the lads on hoganstand calling for Barney & George’s heads also.
Alot of things have transpired against Leitrim since New York. No team in the country could survive with the amount of players we lost through indiscipline and injuries.
It was a sickening defeat today but you had to be proud of the 2nd half efforts.
I’d let Barney and George make up their own mind as to whether they want to go again next year.
[quote=“thedancingbaby, post: 794742, member: 48”]A lot of the lads on hoganstand calling for Barney & George’s heads also.
Alot of things have transpired against Leitrim since New York. No team in the country could survive with the amount of players we lost through indiscipline and injuries.
It was a sickening defeat today but you had to be proud of the 2nd half efforts.
I’d let Barney and George make up their own mind as to whether they want to go again next year.[/quote]
Fuck hogan stand its full of tards,we lost half a team since NY not many squads could cope with that if we were full strength we’d have bet London by 10 pts last week,as I see it the four lads won’t play for barney and George again and we need them more than management,simples
[quote=“massey ferguson, post: 794748, member: 189”]Fuck hogan stand its full of tards
Apologise to Boxty this instant
I stand by my statement,tards tards tards
The pain of losing a Connacht semi-final and the manner of the first half performance were evidently hurting Leitrim joint manager Brian Breen when he spoke to the Leitrim Observer shortly after this afternoon’s defeat at the hands of London.
Having seen his side leave the pitch trailing by 14 points at half-time, whatever Brian and George Dugdale said to the players during the interval certainly did the trick as the second half will long in the memory of all who were in Dr Hyde Park this afternoon.
“It was a matter of calling for pride in the jersey,” said Brian when recalling the half-time team talk. “There were so many instances where you could single out where things went wrong but you’d be there for half an hour. There were so many things going wrong and it was impossible to deal with them.
“At half time we just called for pride in the jersey and if we had any pride at all in ourselves we’d come out and do it. The wind was a huge factor, no doubt about it but it is still no excuse for the first half performance, there is no excuse for it. You could not write that script for the first half, you couldn’t plan it, you couldn’t think it could happen.”
If the first half was traumatic for Leitrim supporters, what followed in the second half was gripping as Leitrim brought the game to the exiles and came agonisingly close to clinching a place in the Connacht final.
“We tried to get a grip of it and we did. In fairness we talked about the good start, we had to be tagging on points from the word go. If we were eight or nine points down at half time instead of 14 we would have won the game easily,” said Brian.
Leitrim were dealt a cruel blow with injuries to Emlyn Mulligan, Darren Sweeney and Ciaran Egan but Brian was certainly not looking to make excuses for the first half display.
“Our performance in our defence was absolutely terrible, we were all over the shop,” he said frankly. “It is very hard to pinpoint any particular thing that was going wrong, it was just a collective and that was it, the story of the game.”
While understandably frustrated with aspects of the game, Brian was quick to pay tribute to his panel of players saying, “They’re a great bunch of lads in there. The dressing room is like a morgue at the moment but we will pick ourselves up and dust ourselves off and have a rattle at it, I have no doubt about that.
“We’ll probably take it easy for a good bit of the week but it’s back to business with the qualifier draw in the morning. We’re looking forward to another match but having said that I’d rather be preparing for a Connacht final.”
Armagh in Carrick
Just thinking back over the 2 games.
How many 1 on 1s did London have…i recall 7 and might be missing a few. Don’t recall Leitrim having 1 over the 140+ minutes.
Fuck.
I was out in Carrick last night. A few of the lads were out. I saw Mulligan, McCrann, BB Brennan, Ronan Gallagher and Gavin Reynolds. Probably more around as well. Had a bit of a chat with McCrann - he was sound in fairness. Nothing controversial to say though. Approached Brennan as well - he asked me to leave him alone. Useless cunt.
The lads were on the beer a week before the qualifiers. The 4 lads were kicked off the panel for drinking a month before the London game. I don’t fucking know.
[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 794835, member: 24”]I was out in Carrick last night. A few of the lads were out. I saw Mulligan, McCrann, BB Brennan, Ronan Gallagher and Gavin Reynolds. Probably more around as well. Had a bit of a chat with McCrann - he was sound in fairness. Nothing controversial to say though. Approached Brennan as well - he asked me to leave him alone. Useless cunt.
The lads were on the beer a week before the qualifiers. The 4 lads were kicked off the panel for drinking a month before the London game. I don’t fucking know.[/quote]
The objective would have been to get to the Connacht Final though. Getting to the next final open to them is hardly a realistic aim so it makes sense to be a bit more accommodating.