Leitrim Football 2017

Iā€™m giving Benny a green light on this one. I think the selection of Wayne Mac at 11 is a brave and inventive decision as his direct attitude is likely to create inroads and possible off-loads that the previous incumbent failed miserably to achieve.

Weā€™re big, strong and smart around the diamond. Both Plunketts are top class by our lowly standards and Ryan Oā€™Rourke will give his all. Iā€™d have concerns about both wing-backs however and would certainly have gone with Barry Prior at 5 where his club know-how with Gary Plunkett on the same wing would have been beneficial.

Itā€™s a shit or bust meeting all the same. A win would be a massive shot in the arm (cue ripostes) but would give us impetus going forward. A defeat would be a serious negative dart to the progression of this squad.

Shane Moran * to dictate/dominate the encounterā€¦

• I remember the 1st. day Micko was over Kildare and we beat them in Newbridge (1992?)ā€¦Micko had never heard of Leitrim never mind Mickey Quinnā€¦ By 3.45pm he "could assure you heā€™s an All-Star"ā€¦

Winner all right.

Herself has gone to bed mate and Iā€™m watching the 94 connacht final on chromecast with a bottle of sauvignon to keep me company. Great time of year. You have to be optimistic

Lolz

I think we should post all league news and views in the Division 4 thread guys. What say ye ?

Atmosphere building nicely. Oā€™Mahony has taken his place at the back of the stand. Liatroim AbĆŗ

Goal for LM

Half Time

Leitrim 1-8 Wicklow 0-4

Ryan Oā€™Rourke 1-3
Emlyn Mulligan 0-2
Brendan Gallagher 0-1
Mark Plunkett 0-1
Keith Beirne 0-1

Lovely stuff leading by 9 points now

Great

Youā€™re a man of few words @upleitrim

Did I mention Ryan Oā€™Rourke in my previewā€¦
Great resultā€¦

Full Time. Leitrim 1-17 Wicklow 0-10

Scorers

Ryan Oā€™Rourke 1-4
Emlyn Mulligan 0-3
Damien Moran 0-3
Mark Plunkett 0-2
Brendan Gallagher 0-2
Keith Beirne 0-2
Dean McGovern 0-1

There was one change prior to throw in. Dean McGovern came in in place of Wayne McKeon.

It was a terrific victory for us. Utterly dominant from start to finish. A goal inside a minute and we never looked back.

Some of the point taking was sublime. Damien Moran kicked 3 absolute crackers in the second half.

There was a structure to our play which is not something youā€™d normally associate with Leitrim. Worked the ball well out of defence and got the ball quickly into the inside forwards. I have to say the movement of the forwards at times was excellent, Brendan Gallagher in particular.

Great to have 2 points on the board and I see Westmeath dropped a point.

My optimism is through the roof. I was supposed to be going to Leopardstown next Sunday. I think Iā€™ll head for Carrick instead. Bring on Wexford

Liatroim AbĆŗ

Massive game next week,if we were to win that it would set us up nicely.Good to see the young lads getting a chance today.

My IQ is 70

Our very own @Joe_Player

Leitrim start League with impressive away win in Wicklow https://t.co/loS9usN8IU

The Mulligan red card is news to me.

There was a schemozzle near the end and Mulligan and the Wicklow centre forward were spoken to and given yellows. It was the Wicklow manā€™s second of the day and he was given a red.

Who @Joe_Player when he at home

Leitrim scoring 1-17.

Iā€™m shocked.

A good win though. How did the Plunketts from Aughawillian play?