Poacher in the Observer this week telling the public not to knock the Leitrim players.
I donât plan to Steven - I plan to knock you.
Prick.
Poacher in the Observer this week telling the public not to knock the Leitrim players.
I donât plan to Steven - I plan to knock you.
Prick.
Billy Sheehan used that tactic in Laois when he was criticised, played it like it was a criticism of the players. The refuge of the spoofer
John Morrison did the same at Leitrim before.
He blamed the public.
In terms of great fondness when theyâve gone I suppose you could rank them Johnno, PJC, Dolan with Terry clutching onto 4th.
The present incumbent is level with his predecessorâŚâŚ
Terry couldnât have got out quicker when he did.
But in his defense COVID did derail their progress, 0 wins in 2021 and 12 lads turning up to training some evenings apparently, he had lost the dressing room and any support he had.
Who would lads have at the bottom over the last 20 years? Id have the Breen/Dugdale ticket, that wasnât a bad team but shockingly bad mgmt, we are limited enough without running lads for drinking a few pints a week before a game
The feckinâ Portergate issue was surely 3 weeks out from the semi-final and it proved a costly mistake by B&D. Terryâs decisions going into Croke Park (selecting Suarez and McCrann) signed his release clause.
Benny the Cap has had a less than memorable term at the helm. Him standing with the arms folded 50m away from the rest of the backroom team wasnât a good look. Shane Ward and Seamus Bonnerâs terms are already forgotten and the M&M project is remembered mainly for Morrisonâs outbursts.
In a way I feel we made the most progress with Terry until his extremely negative tactics got up too many lads noses. Whatever his faults he addressed an issue when you asked him out straight but he was a bit regimental in his thinking. Not the worst IMO.
The top 3 are deservedly there I think.
Definitely Mulligan,terrible manager.
Agree 100% and for the reasons you outlined.
Who was the lad from Longford that lasted a season?
Hagan.
He torpedoed Conor Beirne into the starting 15 for Roscommon in the Championship despite him only joining the panel a few weeks earlier.
He bombed in the match.
Thatâs not right either.
Iâd forgotten that stook. Youâre spot on. Next cab off the rank as the rogbee crowd say - there wonât be hordes clamouring at the gatesâŚ.
Think he was in charge of kiltubrid when they won in 05 and lost to Bridgetâs of Roscommon after a replay. Donât think he had what it took for inter county mgmt but he took over from B&D, anyone would have been an improvement there⌠they set Leitrim football back years
Was Cap in charge when we beat Louth in 2018?
Iâll give him that one⌠It was a serious victory.
He was indeed. Twasâ a scorcher of a day. We were promoted the following year only losing to Derry in Celtic Park and putting in a respectable enough showing in the league final against the same opposition. Covid derailed us the next year and weâre in the desert since.
That was one of our best dayâs out ever.I remember being down on the pitch after chatting shite with my former team mates with my young buck downing the warm down with the team ,he was ecstatic
My best day out as a Leitrim man was the win over Roscommon in the Hyde in 2000.
That was peak Roscommon hatred, Dolan, Grehan, OâNeill, Willie Hegarty and we turned them over against the odds. It was the start of John McKeon and Michael McGuinness. My club man was at the helm too - Joe Reynolds.
An almighty shower of rain on the way back to the car was but a minor inconvenience.
Murtaghs was serious craic that night as well. Everyone was in good form.
I was at that too.Im actually behind the goals when Quinn scored the winner.We were getting reamed in the first half but Adian Rooney kept us in it with a nice few frees.
Remaining D4 fixturesâŚ.
Weâll have a small say in who goes up while we clearly wonâtâŚ.
The Longford / Wickla encounter has a certain zing to itâŚ
Antrim
13:00
Venue: Erins Own, Cargin (Toomebridge)
London
Carlow
Venue: Netwatch Cullen Park
Leitrim
Longford
Venue: Glennon Brothers Pearse Park
Wicklow
Tipperary
Venue: FBD Semple Stadium, Thurles
Waterford
A point in Wicklow would have us still in contention, but themâs the breaks, this division is always a dogfight to get out of and we werenât hungry enough for it this year. Next year we target it
We are still second bottom in Division Four.
Getting hammered by Antrim and Tipperary isnât good enough really.