Let's All Laugh At Sevco Thread

Did anyone point out to him that they have never been in the SPL?
Wanker.

[QUOTE=“dodgy-keeper, post: 1156004, member: 1552”]Lessons about the importance of financial prudence have clearly been learned by all concerned at Ibrox.

Chairman Dave King - we will spend “whatever it takes” to get back into the SPL.[/QUOTE]

They get a PR company to feed this guff to the Scottish media and both the broadsheets and tabloids report it almost verbatim.

“Rangers ready to open transfer war chest!”

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11788/9879050/police-issue-warrant-for-arrest-of-lee-mcculloch

Great to see the old firm rivalry as vibrant as ever .

As an aside to all the csc gang, is/are there any players currently at sevco who you would take at Celtic?
Kenny miller just doesn’t look like his heart is in it at all.

[QUOTE=“dodgy-keeper, post: 1156004, member: 1552”]Lessons about the importance of financial prudence have clearly been learned by all concerned at Ibrox.

Chairman Dave King - we will spend “whatever it takes” to get back into the SPL.[/QUOTE]

what does it take to win the Scottish 1st division? a few hundred grand

Mike Ashley would prefer to keep the few hundred grand instead.

Fuck off, kibman.

Mark Warburton (ex Brentford) set to be appointed as new manager with Davie Weir assisting him.

The Sevco fans talking about a return to the glory days. Lunatics.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KirkconnelBear View Post
There was many great quotes yesterday and to be honest i think i’m getting a little carried away with it all.

Something that MW said yesterday though:-

“There are no earphones or mobile phones. Their appearance is important and they win matches before they step on the pitch.”

This is Rangers.

This is one of the simple yet immensely valuable traditions of our club.

These guys seem to have taken this on board and are looking to do things our way (with their own modern twist) and i for one cannot wait.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tazzabear View Post
Hopefully, this means no beards like that worn by Boyd last season.
A “No facial hair at all” rule would cheer me up.
Not the most important item in our world, but a return to that standard would be the bees knees to me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by garymack2.0 View Post
No beards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by suramericaranger View Post
No headphones, no mobiles, No Surrender.

That is a banner in the making surely.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GREG_RFC View Post
This is taken from the Barcelona academy where the kids act with total class and even clean the away dressing room before the leave.

Warburton seen this at the NextGen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exiled_Bluenose View Post
Must admit I do hate the modern trend of footballers walking into changing rooms with headphones on or on their mobile phone.

Have our players in suits, walking in with none of this shite and because it’s different you’ll appear more professional, that’s bound to have an effect on the opposition.

I’d also bring back the rule of wearing shirt and tie to training.

Quote:
Originally Posted by david__001 View Post
Have to love that.

One thing that drives me mad with modern players is when they swan around with earphones – or over-sized cans – with their hands in their pockets, aloof and apart from the world like little children.

I’ve noticed recently that some clubs don’t do it (i.e., you never see a player from one of those clubs doing that). I’m happy that Rangers is one of those clubs.

PS:

By the way, I don’t have a problem with players listening to music on their headphones on the bus or a plane (and so on). However, when they get off the bus, they should pack them away, because, in my opinion, it’s time to “mean business” after that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry the duck View Post
Players should be turning up in suits with club ties clean shaven show a bit of pride in themselves and the club they represent. Our greates ever manager would insist you walked back up the street for simply having your hands in your pockets, a bit of humility wouldn’t go amiss with some of the modern day players

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWhiteHackle View Post
Every person turns up with collar and club tie for games.
Mark wears a suit and club tie through out the day.
Davie with a track suit on during the match

Training should be two sessions daily. One light and one high tensity.

Quote:
Originally Posted by siberia1 View Post
We are Rangers! We set the standard!

Watching that press conference yesterday and seeing those four men sitting there with sharp suits and the club tie on talking with passion and class filled me with pride. It’s been 4 years of hell but we have people befitting of the club tie again!

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdtwin View Post
We used to ban beards a long time ago ( and quite rightly so!).

IIRC Bobby Williamson was forced to ditch his when he signed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by d505 View Post
I think beards are dirty looking

My opinion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyberniv View Post
At times, and we have recent examples of this, designer stubble and beards have been used to conceal multiple chins, one of the main reasons they are grown in the general population.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gorams_glayva View Post
NY Yankees have had a no facial hair policy for years.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thetoptier View Post
he’s going to go those workshy ****ers like a dose of salts

i can’t wait to see the result on the pitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by STEVO1702 View Post
I think the idea of everyone in shirt and tie should be a given but headphones etc bit of a difficult one as everyone had different ways of preparing themselves look at Andy Murray he goes on to court a lot of times with headphones to get in the zone, can hardly call him unprofessional.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fifey View Post
Find it extremely embarassing when people come on here and say Warburton/McCall/McCoist/McDowall should do… In regards to training/preparation.

Surely if you were qualified enough to tell us all how our team should train/play etc then you would be a f***** football manager!! I get people have different opinions and i’d encourage people to express their opinions but to constantly come on here and say we SHOULD do this and that just makes me cringe.

Take a back seat Mr Mourinho.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rangerstillidie View Post
Nothing wrong with this rule - we’ve been far to slack with people for years. Always remember Chris Burke doing an interview and his tie was all over the place and he looked like he’d been dragged through a hedge backwards.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gscswift View Post
No one seemed to mind John Grieg’s beard!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cody View Post
John McClelland had to shave his off. Cant remember theexact details but as far as i remember John Greig was the only player given permission by the club to keep his and he shaved it off as soon as we won a trophy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ontheline View Post
It was a golden rule of the Club until Souness arrived.

Greig had to get permission in 1972 because he had a skin condition.

Clean shaved tie knotted correctly

Quote:
Originally Posted by lothiantrueblue View Post
Was it not in his autobiography that he claimed he couldn’t shave due to an injury and scar and although the club were happy to rełax their own rule Mrs G said it tickled her “fufu”.

Just keeping in the spirit of the thread that has gone off at a tangent.

:+1::joy::uk:

Quote:
Originally Posted by dj_blitze View Post
Yep this for me is a good start. When you play for Rangers you respresent everything about the club and all it stands for. Turning up glued to a phone texting yer pals or swanning about with headphones on looking like you just don’t give a feck is not what our club is about. This is definitely a rule i welcome.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluenose1979 View Post
Things like this seem draconian when viewed in isolation, but understanding the real reasons behind it, it makes sense to me.

It’s about instilling a properly disciplined and respectful mentality in the squad. Increases the sense of importance and professionalism that comes with being at a club like ours.

While beards and headphones don’t actually concern me, tp know that players come in and respect those rules and abide by them tells you something about how seriously they take things at Rangers.

Those who take the huff and complain don’t have that same respect. I can see the thinking behind it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GodBlessNachoNovo View Post
This stood out to me as well, Warburton has the right idea with this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1972 bear View Post
Tattoos should be covered on the pitch with long sleeved tops.Looks much smarter as tattoos look f****n terrible on a player.

And I say that as someone with loads of tattoos.

Quote:
Originally Posted by S English View Post
No earphones, no mobile phones, shirt and tie required, no beards, no piercings, no untucked shirts, and a short back and sides haircut maintained weekly.

This is what we should aspire to

Quote:
Originally Posted by kclarkhall View Post
Welcome this rule.

Suits and ties should also be mandatory on match days.

Would love to see a bit of class restored in our magnificent club.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mac8156 View Post
the important thing is if warburton and weir tell them no beards or whatever that they do it its called disipline! i,d hazard a guess that there will be no target shooting the ball off the gaffers erse!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by smoggybear View Post
A bit extreme mate, detesting fellow Bears and comparing them to IRA supporting tims for daring to have an opinion that many on this board will agree with.

I don’t know how long you’ve been supporting Rangers but that was the standard when I first started going to games. When the Rangers coach pulled up it was a pleasure to see the players file off suited and booted, club ties and well groomed.

We set the standard, the rest didn’t come close. It wouldn’t be such a bad thing if we got back to something resembling these days.

Quote:
Originally Posted by calderbear View Post
Mr Struth would also demand the return of the bowler hats.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xavi Hernandez View Post
**** working for some of you lot on this thread

It appears we have some aspiring Hitlers among us.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rustledust View Post
I think not maintaining a beard shows a lack of respect. It’s far too easy and simple to shave each day, more thought and effort needed. :stuck_out_tongue:

The beard thing is funny. Aside from it being utterly absurd, it also basically rules out the club employing any Sikhs or Muslims. Might be unlikely anyway, but it’s hardly something you want hanging over the main door.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pre1950 View Post
If the first team are smartly turned out even with a beard. You can wear a beard and keep it trimmed and look good, I’ve had a beard since I was seventeen, and not one person has ever asked or told me to get rid of it, not that I would have anyway, my wife of 45 years has never complained neither did my parents. As long as you keep yourself presentable have good manners, then that is all that matters. In my opinion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by android View Post
Beards should not be banned for footballing reasons, they should simply be banned because they are fooking honking hygienic wise and that only *****o’s sport them!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by tazzabear View Post
Just a standard we used to have, pre Souness.
Funny how some standards from by gone eras are demanded but others “draconian”.
Struth’s values were “draconian”?
What will be next?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mason Boyne View Post
Since when was no earphones or no mobile phones a tradition at the club?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rowley Birkin View Post
this when the opposition see this as opposed to them being more casual they will notice the difference and that will have an effect on them
like when we had players who said the team was won in the tunnel when playing against that lot

well woopy fuukin doo

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Big Cheese View Post
My thoughts exactly.

We’re not just any club,we’re Rangers.

These standards did us no harm in the past and indeed promote a feeling “belonging”,of being part of something out of the ordinary and that’s no bad thing to instill in a footballer.

Standards should be set and set as high as possible.

Quote:
Had George Best signed for Rangers there would’ve been no beard.
Anyway,he was a much better player without the beard than he was with it,and that’s a fact!

Quote:
Originally Posted by manfromdelmonte View Post
if you want to be a Rangers you should look like one!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rowley Birkin View Post
the 'no beard; thing will never happen yes it might be an unspoken rule again but as soon as we sign a muslim player who wont shave his beard then thats that out the window and of course the mhedia will want him to sue us and call us all sorts

Quote:
Calm yourself.

The standards set should apply to all without out fear nor favour.

Therefore to answer your hypothetical question Messrs Pirlo,Best and Socrates would be told,“sign and shave or don’t sign”. In much the same manner as Jim Baxter and Willie Henderson were advised to shave in October 1969.

Standards dear boy,standards.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbo.b View Post
I read this quote this morning andd thought. How sad it is that the new manager has to look to imbed values that Mr Struth, Mr Symon and Mr Waddell would have expected to see as normal practice from the Club that sets standards, not follows them.
Good manners and good grooming is the least we should expect from a Rangers Player, we should have no room for Burberry wearing or the big issue seller look, if you wear a beard keep it trimmed.
A Team that looks superior and invincible to their opponents comes to learn and expect it must be superior and invincible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EssexBear View Post
Mr Weir has bent Mr Warburton’s ear about Rangers for a while I guess and I give credit to the fact he wants professional approach at all times !

Sir Alex once said famously ’ Fail to prepare, Prepare to fail ’

This adage and good habits will be the basis of this new regime !

I am as happy now as I have been since we beat the Scum at Ibrox to delay their winning their first tainted league ! Even with us not there they cannae win a treble ! ( Just thought I would add that !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by LTB View Post
Bring back the suit and tie for all players!

Quote:
Originally Posted by G_C View Post
Phones, beards, suits and Nandos have all been covered but no mention on the use of Twitter? Maybe that needs a thread on its own!
Quote:
Originally Posted by andymor View Post
Socks folded to just below the knee. I hate the guys who wear their socks up their thighs, it’s horrid. How’s about the old Rangers way of wearing the shirt inside the shorts? It was great in the day to see Rangers players look like footballers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xavi Hernandez View Post
I can’t stop laughing at some of the comments on this thread.

“We are Rangers, we should expect a certain standard”.

Jesus Christ, did you not watch the Champions League Final? Players tattooed from head to toe, shady hair cuts and facial hair.

But none of this nonsense at Rangers - we are in the 2nd tier of one of the shitest leagues in Europe - standards need to be maintained

No headphones, no mobiles, no surrender!

That should be a banner, don’t forget, @ bandage.

All sorts of Sevco shenanigans happening today. Former CEO Charles Green is in police custody in relation to the fraudulent purchase of OldCo and is going to be charged. One of the administrators appointed by OldCo is also being questioned, as is the great Craig Whyte himself.

Anyone see Jeff Winter, former premier league ref, and his dubious posts on Twitter. A bigot.

Link?

Just look up WinterJeff on twitter

Wtf is going on?

http://m.stv.tv/news/west-central/1327979-paul-clark-charged-with-serious-organised-crime-over-rangers-probe/

Craig Whyte, Charles Green and the two co-administrators from Duff and Phelps have been charged with serious organised crime.

All the Scottish football journalists who wrote puff pieces about Whyte and Green back in 2012/13 are ignoring everyone retweeting their tweets from back then.