He was sub first day out against Clare in 2017. I think Kiely lost the head over him getting sent off one day
Didnāt he walk away from under teeje?
He missed a bit alright but it was under Kiely
Nash had a tendency to run down blind alleys a lot in his early games as a back. His use of the ball was much improved when he went back to the corner
Barry Nash was for me, one of the best if not the best prospect from his 21s team.
He didnāt give the commitment at the start required by Kiely, he was a young fella and enjoyed himself a bit and fair play to him for it, but heās really buckled down now and the lad has always had tons of hurling. To go from a corner forward to a corner back is some going though.
He has a lovely dash about him.
I think heās wasted at corner back (but sure what do I know), but heās so comfortable on the ball and with teams playing a sweeper on us heās the perfect out ball. Be interesting to see where he ends up if weāve a full hand. We are unlikely to ever have a full hand for too long though. Hayes is the man in waiting for CB but looking at him the last few days youād take an awful lot away from us if you played him there and had him just protecting the full back line. Maybe Nash might make more sense. But thereās a few years left in Hannon yet hopefully.
Nash at half back gives you the option to push Hayes back up centre forward. But maybe he might go up there himself altogether
Ye have an embarrassment of riches when you put it like that.
We might have fellas to come in, but even though theyād all do a job, thereād be a big drop off behind a lot of the first 15. Thereās only one Quaid, Lynch, Hegarty, Hayes etc
Wait til you see young OāNeill
Hayes is staying at 7 now. Heās a fuckin weapon there and gets to attack just as much.
Lynch stays at 11 and switches out to midfield after 50 or 60 when DOD goes off. Weāre thin on HF line cover, Iād love to see Nash as the impact sub centre forward.
Dave Dempsey is as good a sub for the half forward line as could be
We could do with two. The shifts they put in are unreal. Also, maintaining that level of performance with the size of the them and distance they cover is gonna hard youād think.
David Reidy is a fine player. Conor Boylan has shown flashes. Cathal ONeill isnt far off
Reckon Nash has a higher ceiling than both of them to say the least. Heās probably sixth choice in the full back line if everyoneās fit and if fourth or fifth choice at half back. Youād get more use and impact out of him as a half forward sub.
Not than OāNeill
Aw stop. Heās rarely made any impact from the bench. Any number of lads could leap frog him.
Itāll be very difficult to dislodge Nash from corner back. His pace alone is vital. Casey and English will struggle to get back into barring injuries I reckon. Iād be shocked if Hayes ever plays in the forwards again being honest.
Iād say David Reidy got a tongue lashing after the semi. He was a completely different player last Sunday
Brian Ryan is a good hurler as well. Himself and Kyle Hayes double-handedly got the Limerick minor hurling team to an All Ireland final in 2016. I know he played in the half back line for DCU in the Fitzgibbon cup this year but he plays in the half forward line for South Liberties. David Woulfe should be on the panel next year. He gave an exhibition against Doon in the County U21 hurling final in 2018 and forced his way into the starting 15 for Kilmallock at senior level this year and began to rediscover the form he showed when he was one of two standout forwards on the Limerick minor hurling team in 2017 along with Paul OāBrien. He can win his own ball and more importantly he can score as well. Josh Ryan was outstanding for Doon in the championship this year. He was the best hurler on the field in the County final against Na Piarsaigh in the first half but was moved into the full forward line in the second half which was a tactical switch that backfired badly. Heād be a huge addition to the panel as well next year.