St Kieran beat Mungret 2-13 to 0-13 tonight in Group 3 of the Junior A.
St Kierans top the group and the winner of Doon and Feenagh/Kilmeedy tomorrow will progress in the other spot.
St Kieran beat Mungret 2-13 to 0-13 tonight in Group 3 of the Junior A.
St Kierans top the group and the winner of Doon and Feenagh/Kilmeedy tomorrow will progress in the other spot.
Why?
I go to a lot of underage rugby games and there is hardly ever a peep at the ref mainly because most of the parents didnāt play and donāt know the rules. In gaa everyone thinks they are an expert
The Causeway man has em hopping
A fair share of them are already must be doing it for the money, because I struggle to see any other reason why theyād bother with refing given they are fuckin useless at it.
TBF people who played still dont know the rules
Unless you are trying to be elite, money must be the only possible motivator
Itās not really about wrong calls though is it? I have been directly involved in maybe 400 rugby games over the years and I donāt ever remember feeling like a ref had really shafted usā¦ Bad decisions ya but never for any malicious reasons just made a mistake. A coach of ours used to always say it you want the international standard ref go way and play international rugby
I think the standard of reffing in GAA is OK. Probably the main issue IMVHO is at club level most of them arenāt fit enough but few and far between they ruin a game
Sure so are most of the players
If fellas were half as critical of their own performances
They arent getting paid though
I just think giving out about the ref is just ingrained in the gaa now. Itās what some fellas like the most abiut going to a match
My old man would be giving out about the ref all the way to the match in the car, regardless of if he even knew who it was going to be or not
Thatās the key thing you need to reconcile yourself with.
āLads ye know this cunt, heās not malicious, heās just shit, so donāt be giving outā
āDonāt open yere fucking mouths to him, the townies wonāt be able to resist and heāll turn on them!ā
It usually only takes 10 or 15 minutes for the townies to start talking back and the rest as they say would be history!
Itās absolutely fucking pointless moaning at the ref. He wonāt change the decision. Itās also counter productive, in that the cunt is only human and if someone or one side are moaning at him, heāll sure as fuck do them the next time
Abbeyfeale are a prime example. Shooting themselves in the foot every time
Lads its Sean Hartnett you know thereās no point talking to him. First free. FFS Sean. Ball moved forward 30m
And about 15 times after that
Mr. Hartnett called a recession ref, as he officiates both soccer and GAA. An absolute genius of a ref.
I was playing in Abbeyfeale years ago for u16/minor game and he gave us two late handy frees to draw it with the natives not impressed. He actually blew full time when the equaliser was still mid flight. Promptly left shouting ādrawā for all to hear.
He is a gas man. Iām not sure if he is a worse soccer ref or GAA ref, but he doesnāt give a fuck.
A referee nearly got me killed out in Ballylanders, Noel Dunphy, well Iāll take partial blame and Ken OāBrien can take partial blame. I walked in to Brownes in Parteen for a few pints one Saturday night with a buddy, he was playing senior with Na Piarsaigh in the hurling and I was playing with the UL/Aisling Annacotty in the u21 LOI. Ken calls us on, well lads, do ye want a pintā¦ go on so Ken. Weāre playing Ballylanders in the morning and weāre short. What division is that Ken, 4b lads, if we win we go up. Iāll collect ye in the morning here at half 9. Fuck off Ken. 10 pints later, weāre both starting midfield. Ken lands on with 2 breakfast rolls at half 9 and we tip out to Ballylandersā¦ he has 13, so weāre both subs. Fucking delighted. 3 nil down at half time, Ken calls us both on. Will you go on midfield and try keep the score down. 10 minutes to go and weāre back 3-3, the Ballylanders crowd are gone septic. Theyāre absolutely abusing the fuck out of Noel and trying to break our legs. I made a late run in to the box and some plug launched a cross over my head, nobody went for it,so i made a run and fisted back across the goalie like in Gaelic Football. The goalie runs in to get the ball out to take a quick free, and Iām running back and I hear a load of roaring, donāt fucking give it Noel, ah jesus Noel, you canāt. He gave it. There was absolute fucking war. Iām talking now, a proper row. 30 or 40 lads bateing the shit out of each other
At least he doesnāt pretend to know what he is doing or why he is doing it. Thereās merit in that. He also doesnāt expect any big games, just will take anything. a few others should follow that mantra and stop thinking theyāre Barry Kelly or someone