Limerick GAA 2026

Id have the below 8 players in the 36- all who were involved previously.

Not saying any of the below would start - and I know youth needs to get its chance - but they are a step ahead of some of the options included from 22 onwards.

But then I imagine kiely knows this and we are bracing for a very tough period when retirements start in bulk in next season or two.

Séamus Flanagan
Barry Murphy
Conor Boylan
Daithi Dempsey
Paddy O’Loughlin
Adrian Breen
Robbie Hanley
Pat Ryan

All of those players are 30 or more.

You are consistently complaining about young talent not being developed, but you want to replace the younger players on the squad with players approaching 30+.

4 or 5 of those listed would be great bench options for this cship.

I’m all for giving youth their chance btw and hope the likes of DOD2, Hurley, POD, Coughlan come good

I’d see a higher ceiling in the two O’Farrells than DOD2 and POD and would like to see them fast tracked.

Two of them would. But then you’d be giving out no younger players are being brought through. I think you’re being a bit ridiculous and hyper critical. We’ve been blessed with our greatest team of all time so obviously there’s a bottleneck behind those players. Coughlan for example is a fine player but Byrnes and Hayes are as good wing backs as there have ever been in the game so it’s easy see why coughlan can’t push past them. Kiely and Kinnerk have made some left field selections down the years and most of the time they are vindicated. They obviously see something in DOD so I hope he comes good. I don’t think there’s any such thing as fast tracking, you have to be good enough. Kiely has often said in the past that it may take lads three years on the panel to come up to the standard.

That’s the standard of a team where most of them have 5 All Ireland medals; you’d be very lucky to have youngsters coming in of the same standard, even after 3 years on the panel

Totally. And we’ve had lads on here saying hegarty would never make an intercounty hurler and there he is the best wing forward of the modern era. I said Nash as a wing back could work but he’d never be able to play corner back and there he is revolutionising the position and being a multiple all star winner.

It’s almost as if Kiely and Kinnerk might know better in some of these selection choices.

He’s what?

@glasagusban is posting like a teenage girl with a parasocial relationship.

Quite amusing to read.

From the lad still following me around like a shadow :smiley:

Ffs :joy:

And you’re being serious too. :flushed:

Release the hounds

Locked and loaded.

Byrnes needs a good game obviously.but if he hasnt played well for the club in 3-4 years how can he be expected to play championship?

Matt Fitzgerald in to help the rest of that back six with smartphones, pedestrian crossings and other newfangled things.

Happy for Matt Fitzgerald to get another go.

Is Hayes going to be back for c’ship?

More starting players in their 30’s than 20’s.

Is this Hugh Flanagan fella better than Sham Flan?

A lot being made about Limerick not having the depth of a few years ago. Sure when they were winning the 4 in a row they were operating off a tight knit panel of about 20 players who played and the team rarely changed.

Young fitzgerald was wronged by lyons last week.it shuda been a free out as waterford player threw himself to the ground.but anyway.hayes has to be back.